5/8 Johnny PMPS 83 +3 (33) - 1 yr since dx

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
One year ago today, our vet called to say that Johnny had diabetes. Brian called me with the news while I was out doing errands. I held it together until I got in my car and then I lost it and started bawling. I was so angry, sad and SCARED about what this meant for Johnny. Our vet had offered to call in a prescription for insulin and syringes to get us started until we could schedule a curve and Brian said "but we don't know what to do with them." The response: "Oh, I guess you're right. I wasn't thinking about that." That sums up the vet support pretty well.

I spent the next couple of days playing Dr. Google and overwhelming myself with information that was so hard to absorb...until I found this board and posted. Kathy & Kitty (you never forget your first, lol) was the first to respond and the support and guidance poured in from there. I was still terrified about the prospects of giving a shot and home testing, but I knew I could do it for Johnny. And seeing so many others calmly managing their cat's diabetes put my world back on its axis. I hunkered down and hoped to be 'one of them' really soon. It was the people here who gave us the courage to reject the prescribed 2 units and start over at one, per protocol. I can't imagine if we'd stayed at 2 units much longer! It was disappointing when our move to the Falls turned out to be a visit, but I'm confident we're doing all we can to get there again and hopefully become permanent residents.

We're so grateful for the support we've had this past year. Thank yous all around, especially to Jill, Libby and Sienne for helping us along the wild dosing trail. Just by being here, you ALL are among the best people in the world in my opinion--- the ones who are fortunate to realize that cats aren't just pets, they're family. Happy to know you!

Fist and paw bumps all around, FDMB!

(It wouldn't be a Janice post if I didn't ask a question, right? Let me know if you have any thoughts on when to step Johnny down from the 0.10f...do we need to stick to the 40s three times? Tonight's PMPS makes me wonder.)
 
Re: 5/8 Johnny AMPS 114 PMPS 83 - 1 yr since dx

33 @ +3. It's been a while since we've seen that. We're on the case and feeding. Perhaps a Mother's Day gift of spending more time together? :smile:

I'm thinking decrease to 0.1 tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/8 Johnny AMPS 114 PMPS 83 - 1 yr since dx

Congrats on yur first year. Awesome! Mannie comes upon his 3 year anniversary this week too. I cannot support enough all that you have said about this place. I wish I had been as smart as you, and found it from day one. we floundered for a year and a half before fdmb entered our lives. . I think Johnny is well on his way to a permanent residence at the falls. Congrats!
 
Johnny must have wondered why you went on the net to ask a question bout him. He showed you what to do by hitting 33! Happy Mother's Day! Nice tribute to FDMB, I found myself relating to nearly every word.
 
happy one year a day late!!!

johnny is blessed to have you...and we are blessed to share the forum with you!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top