5/8 Help with tonights pmps shot maybe

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
OK the time may have arrived - at amps +11 Robbie is under 200 - I think my husband said 183 (I was in a meeting and couldn't really talk to him) history tells me he could go up quite a ways by 5:30/6pm (the pmps time frame) BUT than again he might not. He slept pretty much all day - didn't wake up for his noon snack +6 (ate it at more like +8 time frame) so if he's UNDER 200 I am NOT thinking I can shoot 5.5 - not without me home (hubby is home alone) - just looking or thoughts.
 
Waited towards the 6pm time frame of his pmps and he's 219 - I realize there's not much difference between 219 and 183 but I feel better seeing what appears to be the drop off of the insulin and he's getting dinner now too. What does concern me is he's not been real hungry today at all - it's been a long time since his numbers have been this low -
 
Wish I had seen this earlier. I would, if you shoot low 200s, reduce to 4, maybe? It might stop him from going too low and/or too long. Tough spot to be in....

Carl
 
If he is not really eating I would definatley reduce
I am sorry but I am not up to date on your dosage
but the rule of thumb is not eating much, reduce dose
and 219 is pretty low for 5.5 units
 
Not really eating and not eating at all are two different things, Robbie may just be feeling less hungry now that he's not 300-500 all the time. My cat would scream for food, eat anything and everything she could while in high numbers. Once she got regulated she only ate 4 oz a day and never begged for more.
 
Thanks guys he was starting to climb I waited till almost 12.5 hours from his morning shot, nobody was around here (how dare you all have lives? :lol: ) and so I had David give him the 5.5 and his full dinner when he was at about 224/219 (he tested twice) - I just want to see where this dose takes us if we can keep getting lower numbers and maybe longer duration of those low numbers.

Catannc said:
Not really eating and not eating at all are two different things
Yes and he was simply not eating like he HAS been- not screaming for food at noon, pacing around whenever David went into the kitchen. He jumped on the table and tried to eat some of David's dinner (a common bad practice around our house with him esp. when it's any kind of Pork) so he's not "off" his food - just not acting famished. I'm hoping to get out of work a bit earlier tonight than usual for a Tuesday - and David is checking him at 7pm (a little over pmps +1)
 
Well, that's my boy... never wants me to worry too long - unless it's worrying about how HIGH he can go. Just had my husband check him at pmps +1 and he's 259 - we'll see 300+ I bet before 10pm - that's dinner and a small bite of porkchop AND the insulin dropping off - so it seems to me the 5.5 is getting us around a full 12 hours and now it dives off at +1 ? or something like that. I work for a weekly newspaper/magazine and today was a KICK ASS day so I'm truly not thinking straight - plus I was up at 4am pondering all the work I had to do and than at 5:15am with the Robbie alarm... So forgive me if I sound wacky.
 
Looks like the juice is tapped out by +12, so after that you're getting a food bump until the current dose kicks in. He seems to not kick in until after +3 which might be why he's running long. Like it is absorbing really slowly. Where do you shoot the shots?

Carl
 
I shoot him mid back used to shoot up by his "withers" but he hated that first time around with this issue so now I shoot him about a third of the way down his back pull up the skin make the tent and shoot. Is there a better spot?
 
Hi Ellen -

My vet told me I could shoot Grayson anywhere I could tent the skin. I've done his hip (not too fond of there), his scruff and his back. Mostly scruff.
 
There are alternate locations and some people see better results from some than others...more later....I am "working"! Lol
 
Now he's just F'ing around with me... 275 @ PMPS +3

he never liked his scruff and the couple of times I've tried it this time around he's moved around - but if I can get better results I'll give other locations a shot - ha ha
 
The only place I ever shot sub-q injections with Bob was in the scruff. For 95% of his shots, he got intermuscular shots, but that's another story... There are alternate locations that seem to make a difference in terms of better numbers and absorption rates. Sometimes when the numbers get stagnant they switch sites in hopes of seeing better numbers. Scruff, sides of the belly or sides of the abdomen, I think the rear flanks...basically any where you can tent skin.
 
hummm..... I can try elsewhere - he might not be happy about it. AT 5.5 he seems to feel it a bit - first time I shot 5.5 he turned around and nipped at me! Totally not him.
pmps +5 218 - ???
 
OK, so at +5 he's back where he started the cycle? Dropped about 40 points from the +3? Hmmm... might be going lower later, but not too terrible right now. All these yellows are certainly a welcome sight.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top