5/8 Ella pm 466 bounce +5=371

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70440

Good morning everyone,

I got three different readings in a matter of 5 minutes this morning. 319 was the first wich made me wonder if the .25 had finally begun to do something but then I retested and she was 349 and then again at 380. It's kinda makes me wonder if I can trust the meter!

Anyways, I had the intentions of shooting the .50 but then remembered I was running art club at school which I didn't want to cancel as we will be creating Mother's Day treasures. I will shoot her the increased dose tonight and will be able to come home for lunch tomorrow.

Have a great day everyone:)
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380

Good morning.

I think 61 points is within the 20% meter variance, but still. What kind of meter are you using?
Just in case the 318 was closest to the correct reading, I would get a +1 and an out the door test.

Have a good day. :cool:
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380

Hi Dyana,

I'm using the contour. I will get a +1 and and out the door test.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380

+1=333...i only took one test and not sure which test to believe from the first round. will take a +2 with the contour and the AT.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 (what # to believe)

+2= 292 Eek...the numbers have been strange this morning. Not sure what to believe but regardless she's dropping and i have to go. Should I give her mc and leave out food?
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 mc? (what # to believe)

You will sometimes get a weird reading if there is too much blood on the strip. The other thing you can do is practice on yourself and see what kind of numbers you are getting. I always advice people to have a back-up meter. Better to have a meter stuck away somewhere if it's 2 AM and your batteries die. I have 2 extra Contour meters.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 mc? (what # to believe)

+2:30 254...she's dropping quick..stalling for work...may have to call in sick...geesh how did this happen?
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 mc? (what # to believe)

Hi Sienne,

I did a test with the AT and it was nearly the same. I also have a back up contour too:) To my surprise, she's still dropping! Stalling for work and may have to get a sub if she keeps falling.

Sienne and Gabby said:
You will sometimes get a weird reading if there is too much blood on the strip. The other thing you can do is practice on yourself and see what kind of numbers you are getting. I always advice people to have a back-up meter. Better to have a meter stuck away somewhere if it's 2 AM and your batteries die. I have 2 extra Contour meters.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 mc? (what # to believe)

Sorry not to get here on time before you left for school. It's always a good idea to leave out food; today looks like just an lc food day, butElla may have her own ideas!
You might comsider getting a different meter? Your Contour looks a bit whacky. Can you get the Walmart Relion in Canada?

Hope Ella will come down nice and gradually today.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 mc? (what # to believe)

I haven't left yet Ella!
When I was on my way out the door I gave her some mc...and then I remembered I had a prep ohmygod_smile so I have some time to see where the numbers go. Probably shouldn't of given her mc..oh well.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 mc? (what # to believe)

+3= 245 may be due from the mc
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 mc? (what # to believe)

Hi guys .. no advice from me but ella sure likes to keep you guessing doesn't she? I hope she finds a nice number to surf at while you are out .. have a great day!
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 mc? (what # to believe)

Ok so I'm totally embarrassed to admit this but I stayed home due to her dropping numbers :oops:
She's been in the pinks for so long that when I saw those dropping yellows it got me worried and I had to make the call quickly in regards to going to work. Before I decided to make that call, I gave her a tspn of mc thinking it would slow the drop. Anyways, huge ball drop for me but I'm home so I can test and I do have lot's of paper work to catch up on:)

Question: If she's in the yellows today, do I still increase to .50?

Also, can you measure micro doses in a pen or is it easier from a vial?
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 +3=245 +4=232 (dosecrea

Measuring from a vial or pen makes no difference since you're still using the same syringes. You do not use the needle tips that are available to use with the pen. The pens will not dispense in 0.25u dose increments -- you can only do that with a syringe.

Personally, I think Ella would have been fine if you'd left food out and gone to work. This looks like a very good cycle -- there's a lovely slow drop. I think the +1 and +2 may have thrown you a bit but feeding the MC seems to have slowed things down. That's good information. I might have suggested trying LC first to see if it was going to slow things.

If this were my cat, I would increase tonight. Numbers in the 200s and above generally mean more insulin is needed.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 +3=245 +4=232 (dosecrea

Yeah, but we're talking about ELLA here.
Assume nothing :roll:, and proceed with caution.

Very happy to see her visit the yellows again after being such a Pink girl. Gently please, Ella.

MJ
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 +3=245 +4=232 (dosecrea

Hi Sienne,

I was definitely thrown by the +1 and 2. Since I wan't sure which ps number was true, I thought a drop from 380 to 333 was quite quick (assuming the ps was really that high).
Knowing that she's not a reliable eater made me worried to leave her. I wonder if the mc helped to slow the drop?! If it did, then you're right, that is good information:)

Thanks for the info on the pens. I will probably get one next...if it's cheaper:)

Sienne and Gabby said:
Personally, I think Ella would have been fine if you'd left food out and gone to work. This looks like a very good cycle -- there's a lovely slow drop. I think the +1 and +2 may have thrown you a bit but feeding the MC seems to have slowed things down. That's good information. I might have suggested trying LC first to see if it was going to slow things.

If this were my cat, I would increase tonight. Numbers in the 200s and above generally mean more insulin is needed.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 +3=245 +4=232 (dosecrea

Hi Tamara - I know how you feel!

The one good thing about those higher numbers is that we can actually leave the house or sleep and not worry!

I sure haven't figured out yet when its safe to leave Orange, and with Ella's history I don't blame you for being cautious.

Anyway, I'm sure those more experienced will say that this gets better with time (and data).

I'm glad to see Ella's coming back down!!!! :-D
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 +3=245 +4=232 (dosecrea

Thanks MJ! It is very nice to see her in the yellows again:) She is the master of confusion..well at least to me anyways:)

MJ+Donovan said:
Yeah, but we're talking about ELLA here.
Assume nothing :roll:, and proceed with caution.

Very happy to see her visit the yellows again after being such a Pink girl. Gently please, Ella.

MJ
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 +3=245 +4=232 (dosecrea

Way to go Ella!!!
yahooapplause.gif


Maybe you can go in late? You got to feeling better ;-)

Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 +3=245 +4=232 (dosecrea

+6=304 Hmmm..Could this be the effects of the mc (12%) I gave her or a possible bounce?
I should have taken a +5 to see if she fell into the blues. I'm falling apart today ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 +3=245 +4=232+6=304 boun

301 @8.5

So this is very interesting...when I took Ella's urine test just now it showed neg glucose. She may have gone down into the blues during +5 but nevertheless isn't it strange that it would be negative seeing as she was in the yellows? This has happened many times before. Perhaps Ella's renal threshhold is much different than other kitties?

Do I still increase her dose tonight or play it safe with the .25? I'm eyeing out the dose so perhaps I might have given her a f.25 and that's why we're seeing a change in the numbers OR perhaps it just took her shed a LONG time to fill.

Advice please:)
 
Re: 5/8 Ella amps 380 +1=333+2 =292 +3=245 +4=232 (dosecrea

PS. I already got some advice from Sienne but wanted to add the tid bit about the glucose just to confuse things:) I highly doubt the strip was defective as it showed me neg ketones and they have been working just fine since I've purchased them:)

Sienne and Gabby said:
If this were my cat, I would increase tonight. Numbers in the 200s and above generally mean more insulin is needed.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella +4=232+6=304 +8.5=301 (advice please:)

Actually, it's not necessarily strange. It can take several hours to see changes in urine glucose (or urinary ketones, for that matter). Blood tests tell you what's going on now. Urine tests don't give you up to the minute information since it takes hours for the body to process materials into waste products, for the urine to collect, and then be excreted. It tells you where things were several hours ago. I would never want to rely on a urine glucose test to determine if a cat was hypoglycemic, for example. Renal threshold varies for each cat. You will need to have multiple tests to know where that may be.

I already told you what I thought about dose a few posts above.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella +4=232+6=304 +8.5=301 (advice please:)

We must have posted at the same time as I just mentioned your advice below:)
I realize that the urine glucose tests tell us info from previous hours but why it is showing neg glucose at all if she hasn't given us any normal numbers?

edited to add: and does neg glucose tell us that they were hypoglycemic?
 
Re: 5/8 Ella +4=232+6=304 +8.5=301 (advice please:)

negative glucose on the strips just tells you that her kidneys were able to handle the amount of glucose in her system at the time the urine was being developed in her kidneys/bladder.

i trust sienne's dosing recommendation.

i also would stop taking multiple checks, or using multiple meters, because it's then like you're standing on quicksand and don't know what is "true." i never compare to another meter, even though i have a back-up. it's data overload to me, so i just pick one & use it.

the only time i retest is if a get a number that makes me scratch my head cuz it's so out of character - like one time i expected a number in the 200's and i got a 32. i retested and got a number in the 200's. what it tells us is that strips are only so accurate - which we know since we know there's a 20% variance.

seems like one thing to be picked up from this past week and today's numbers is that now that ella is going UP the dosing scale, she seems to have stopped diving. restarting her at a small dose appears to have been a smart move in many ways - and today is an example that should reassure you that you can probably safely leave her at home with food when you have a similar morning in the future. does that make any sense?

just add all of today's experience into your "next time" file. and it does get easier!
 
Re: 5/8 Ella +4=232+6=304 +8.5=301 (advice please:)

Thanks for your response Julie:)

I used the same meter for all those tests this morning with the exception of the AT which was just to confirm the contour was within 20%.
If I hadn't done multiple tests and just got the 380 and then she dived down to 333 @ +1....wouldn't that be cause for concern? It has been in the past for Ms. Ella.

She is slowly dropping (or could be meter variance) which tells me that the MC 12% really had an effect on her system. That's good to know for future reference.
I'm not sure if I feel comfortable raising her to .5 u tonight. I might just stick out the .25 to see what it does tonight. Perhaps the dropping numbers this am was because the insulin does last longer in her system. Ella doesn't quite eat on her own during the day so I still need to be careful:) I will ponder on the dose.
 
Re: 5/8 Ella +4=232+6=304 +8.5=301 (advice please:)

Looking at her data today...if I hadn't given her the mc to slow her down, couldn't she have dived?

julie & punkin said:
seems like one thing to be picked up from this past week and today's numbers is that now that ella is going UP the dosing scale, she seems to have stopped diving. restarting her at a small dose appears to have been a smart move in many ways - and today is an example that should reassure you that you can probably safely leave her at home with food when you have a similar morning in the future. does that make any sense?
 
Re: 5/8 Ella +4=232+6=304 +8.5=301 (advice please:)

ok...so i know the advice is to shoot her at .50 but she bounced to 466. i have a sneaky feeling that she went into the blues at +5. i feel like i should try this .25 longer but am i wrong?

today was technically the 6th cycle. can you dosecrease on a bounce?
 
Re: 5/8 Ella pm 466 bounce! (advice please:)

So I went with my gut...I know... I know...one minute I'm Ms. unpatient pants and the next I'm Ms. Conservative:)
Seeing what I would call a mini dive today makes me wonder about this dose. I'm going to see what it does for a few more cycles.

As always, thanks for supporting us:)
 
Re: 5/8 Ella pm 466 bounce! (advice please:)

it is always ok to go with your gut on dose increases. your job is to know that little girl inside and out! all of her quirks and how she responds to everything. just make notes so that you can refer back later in case you want to recall what you did before.

have a great evening!
 
Re: 5/8 Ella pm 466 bounce! (advice please:)

+5=371
Hoping Ella clears her bounce:) Wishing everyone a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top