Tanya and Ducia
Member Since 2017
Hello everybody, and Happy Monday!
I wasn't posting for a few days so the the quick summary is: May 2nd, late in the Am cycle Ducia was lowering even with food so I reduced the dose to 0.5u - rather it was Fat half unit.With exception for one high green all we saw in 5 days were Yellows and high Blues. So the dose went up to the skinny 0.75u.
We were having some chilly days lately - with a rain storm over the weekend night and Ducia was sleeping all of that time, made us think she was unwell and reminded of her days when she was having DKA. We decided to go up to full 0.75u this AM, and guess what - today AMPS was 91 so you will be seen me poking and posting.
I have a question for those whose kitties are late nadir cats or who do dip late in the cycle: How do you feed them?Just like any other cat?
How do you feed a cat who used to drop at onset and then dips at about +8?
Ducia is on Lantus btw.What is the best food spread throughout the cycle if fed in small portions?
I feed the drop forward in the AM so most of her food is eaten earlier than +5. Daily ratio to maintain her weight is 12 - 13 tsp LC. I must give 3 tsp around +8.5 - +9 - lifelong habit of hers.
Do you have any suggestions? Or should I just keep as it is?
Wishing all safe , happy and healthy day!



I wasn't posting for a few days so the the quick summary is: May 2nd, late in the Am cycle Ducia was lowering even with food so I reduced the dose to 0.5u - rather it was Fat half unit.With exception for one high green all we saw in 5 days were Yellows and high Blues. So the dose went up to the skinny 0.75u.
We were having some chilly days lately - with a rain storm over the weekend night and Ducia was sleeping all of that time, made us think she was unwell and reminded of her days when she was having DKA. We decided to go up to full 0.75u this AM, and guess what - today AMPS was 91 so you will be seen me poking and posting.
I have a question for those whose kitties are late nadir cats or who do dip late in the cycle: How do you feed them?Just like any other cat?
How do you feed a cat who used to drop at onset and then dips at about +8?
I feed the drop forward in the AM so most of her food is eaten earlier than +5. Daily ratio to maintain her weight is 12 - 13 tsp LC. I must give 3 tsp around +8.5 - +9 - lifelong habit of hers.
Do you have any suggestions? Or should I just keep as it is?
Wishing all safe , happy and healthy day!



Last edited:



Going to Dr. Google to find something I can obsess and worry about- what else can Ducia have to have those numbers?...
