Re: 5/8 Dose advice Mr Grey AMPS 121 +2 105 +5.5 89 PMPS 104
Rick & Mr. Grey said:
Hello. Where do I go with Mr Grey's dose. Please refer to his SS. Do I lower it at PMPS tonight. Do I stop all together to see what he does without insulin. Do I raise the dose to have numbers all in the green over a cycle ? When a shot is skipped, he does very well working off the shed. Does this mean that he is also producing insulin on his own in conjunction with the injections ?
I know he is a special "High Dose, suspected Acro cat", but at what point do I test him to see how he does OTJ ?
Thanks
You broke through the resistance, or the GH output stopped around 3/21/13.
I would be surprised if Mr. Grey tested negative for acro, but since he's dropping now, you could delay testing..... just don't stop watching and testing him because acros can and do go off insulin and then back on later. The pituitary tumor does not go away on its own. Also, the next time you are at the vet, please DO have the vet check his heart because heart issues are common in acros, and cardiomyopathy is not called the silent killer for no reason.
I know one acro who was tested at 6u, got one shot of 7u, then went off insulin in a couple weeks.
There was one cat on FDMB who was on insulin for only 3 weeks, then went off insulin for almost 2 years.... honeymoon over and shortly after the dose kept rising, that cat tested positive for acromegaly and he also had heart issues by that time.
My own Oliver was at 37u BID his highest but he has been off insulin since Jan7/12 with no signs of going back on insulin yet.
Why don't you stop the insulin right now? I found that I was giving Oliver insulin and he was not dropping too low, and since I had no idea how an acro goes OTJ, he had one shot of 5u, then nothing for a few days, and because we did not know if he still needed insulin, he got a 3u shot on Jan7/12, but I don't think he even needed that shot.
You've got good numbers going on, so why not start a trial. Acros have perfectly functional pancreas and they can adjust better, unlike diabetic cats.
Gayle