5.8 D'Artagnan PMPS 77,+1 84, +3 74,+4 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

mococo

Member Since 2011
Looks like a bit of a bounce, however based on the last one, I anticipate he'll be clearing it quickly as it's already pulling down.

Right now our spreadsheet looks like it's going to be some kind of paint by numbers pattern. I know his last earned dose reduction was due to the drop he had when he hit 39, but when I'm looking at his spreadsheet I'm having trouble figuring out if I should continue to hold his current dose or if I should try shaving it down. I know we are also getting more comfortable with shooting low numbers, which could be good or bad- looking back on the spreadsheet I'm considering that we may have been too comfortable shooting low and did not hold to see where his numbers went.

I would appreciate an extra pair of eyes taking a look.

Thanks!
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389, +3 290- dose question

IMHO, he hasn't earned another reduction yet. He did have a 50 as he was clearing a bounce but according to the protocol, that doesn't earn him a reduction yet.....
Have a super day!!
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389, +3 290- dose question

Thanks! That's what I thought, but I couldn't tell for sure. Especially as his numbers are inching lower into the green and that is a whole new color pallet for us!

So if he hits another 50 outside of a bounce, then it would be an earned dose reduction, correct?

Thanks!
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389,+3 290,+6 113- dose question

looks good!

Normally less than 50 earns a dose reduction. I would watch D'Artagnan today and tonight, because the way he is dropping today he might be planning to head to dose reduction territory (maybe even before PMPS - get another test this afternoon, maybe +8, to see if he is still dropping).
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389,+3 290,+6 113- dose question

And dropping he is- +7 is 73.

We have to make a target run to nab him so more food and lancets. I'll test when I get back.
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389,+3 290,+6 113,+7 73- dose questi

I'm with Libby. My first reaction to looking at D'Artagnan's SS was to think that he's angling for a reduction soon.
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389,+3 290,+6 113,+7 73,+8.5 52- dos

Thanks all.

So looking at today's numbers, knock on wood, it appears he's headed that direction with a +8.5 of 52.

Since I have time between when his meal will be and when I shoot I have two questions:

1. What is too low that requires a mid-cycle snack? And to follow up, what would an appropriate mid-cycle snack be? (he usually eats at the time of a shot and at +1)
2. Should his dose tonight remain at 1.5?


Thanks so much!
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389,+3 290,+6 113,+7 73,+8.5 52- dos

you can feed a couple of tsp of low carb food here to see if that helps him surf. I would test in 30 minutes to see if he is surfing or if he kept going lower. It looks like D'Artagnan probably has a late nadir, so he might not be finished dropping yet.

If he drops into the 40s, then a tsp of gravy from higher carb food will bump him right up.

Here is Sienne's Dealing With Low Numbers post, in case you need it.
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389,+3 290,+6 113,+9 48 Low ???

Okay shorty is getting low- 48 at +9.

When we've seen him with these numbers in the past it's been right before meals, so I'm not sure what I need to do to : 1. Keep his blood sugar in a safe zone. (ie- I'm not sure if this merits breaking out the hypo kit) 2. Make sure whatever I do doesn't throw off his next shot/feed cycle.

Help/input would be appreciated.

Thanks!
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389,+3 290,+6 113,+9 48 Low ???

Has he eaten anything since the 52? This earned him his reduction, so you can give him a couple tsp of high carb food and test in 30 minutes. That should bump him back up.
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389,+3 290,+6 113,+9 48 Low ???

He has not eaten anything. We try to be pretty strict on calorie control until he's at his desired weight. He's got about 1.5 lbs to go.

I'll go a head and give him a little food and see where we are at in 30.

Thanks!
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389,+3 290,+6 113,+9 48 Low ???

+10- 76

We are shiny. I will do a +11 as well just to see where things are and I will shoot 1.25 tonight, baring no further interesting developments from the fuzz butt.

Thanks!
 
Re: 5.8 D'Artagnan AMPS 389,+3 290,+6 113,+9 48,+11 70

+11 70

after an argument about who in the house was going to get their ear poked (it ended with I'm bigger than you, therefore, you lose).

Funny this day started with me being so certain I would not have to reduce his dose....surprise!
 
Opted to give a kitty cube (about 1tbs wellness lc frozen in an ice cube) @ +4 to prevent a drop during the night. I have no idea what tomorrow will bring, but we seem to be headed in the right direction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top