5/8 CRYSTAL AMPS 220 Gave R PMPS 148 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

5/8 CRYSTAL AMPS 220 Gave R PMPS 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member since 2014
yesterday (+BJ's diagram)

Happy Friday everyone,

BJ provided a very interesting diagram in yesterday's post about the timing of R in relation to Lev, thanks BJ.

Crystal BG today:

220 amps + 1.5uR given
279 +2
230 +4
232 +6
142 +9
144 +10.5
148 pmps

So she is back in blue late in the cycle. Hope it continues over into the next cycle. Wasn't sure whether or not to give her another dose of R at PMPS, but decided against in the end, not sure if that was the right decision, time will tell.

Enjoy the start of the weekend.

Vines and wishes to all in need.
 
Last edited:
Just looking back at BJ's diagram and trying to digest. Can I just clarify, as there was a clear nadir at +9 on her earlier cycle (sometimes it is very difficult to judge when the nadir is) that would have been the time to give the R? and if so, what dose would you recommend at 142? I seem to have worked out the dose for yellows and pinks, but these low and mid blue numbers are a bit more difficult to judge. My instinct would have been for a 0.5u R ? - but in the end I didn't give any R this cycle! Perhaps if Wendy, Julie or Suzanne look in they might be able to cast an eye over her SS for me, thanks.
 
If the nadir is about +9, do you generally find her highest glucose levels to be in the+11/ pre-shot to +4/+5 time frame?
If so, that would be the likely time frame for your use of R (or N). Just slide those blue sections over about 6 hours (I did it in Google Sheets here 3rd tab at the bottom).
 
Nice use of R today - I like seeing Crystal in those mid blues. :cool: How has she been acting/feeling in these numbers? I hope she's starting to get used to the lower numbers now.
Can I just clarify, as there was a clear nadir at +9 on her earlier cycle (sometimes it is very difficult to judge when the nadir is) that would have been the time to give the R?
The problem with IAA cats is that the nadir can be quite variable so you can't pick a particular + hour and say that would work every cycle. Even though Neko's IAA is not really an issue anymore, she still can vary her nadir within a range of about 9 hours. Ideally you'd choose a time after the L nadir and before the L onset, which is when the numbers could be drifting up. Unless they aren't. Sometimes Lev cats can be really flat and it's hard to identify when the nadir occurs that cycle.
 
The nice thing about both R and N is that they have no depot, so they can be used on an as needed basis. As you are doing with the R, when Suki starts to rise up, you give the R. Same thing can be done with the N.
 
Ideally you'd choose a time after the L nadir and before the L onset, which is when the numbers could be drifting up. Unless they aren't. Sometimes Lev cats can be really flat and it's hard to identify when the nadir occurs that cycle.

Exactly Wendy, that's my problem, knowing when the nadir occurs. Sometimes its obvious, other times I'm left in the dark as to what's happening. I'm still confused tonight, probably through lack of sleep, so I'll try to tackle it in the morning.

Crystal has been pretty quiet today, lots of napping, just a brief walk round the garden. My observation is that she acts better in higher numbers, she was quite lively yesterday when she was mostly yellow all day, so I would say that her body is still adjusting to the lower dose.
 
The moving nadir is one of the most frustrating parts of IAA. It can make doing R in the middle of the cycle difficult. One thing you could try is shooting the rise...so if Suki shows that she's heading up, give some R to knock the rise out. Because typically when she starts heading up, she doesn't dip again in the cycle.
 
Hi Suki,
Crystal is giving you some really lovely numbers lately. You must be pleased. You are doing a great job with the R. I am sure there is a lot to learn and absorb with it, to feel confident to use it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top