5/8 Checkbook PMPS 198 +1.5/154 +2/132 +3/118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
With a preshot of 238, I thought it was safe to skip +1. Guess not! I was suspicious at +2, when he was yelling at me for something. He knew!! Of course, I overcarbed, as usual.
Otherwise his day started out normally.

Will check condos later. Right now, I've got to catch the truck that ran over me yesterday. :roll:
Okay, it was only 2 little kids. Next time, it's gonna be me hiding under the bed, with the cats. :lol:
 
Re: 5/8 Checkbook amps 238 +2/35 +2.5/69

Checkers is a lot like Gabby. I've learned to not skip the +1 unless it's completely unavoidable. I hate those kind of surprises. Congrats on the dose reduction.
 
Re: 5/8 Checkbook amps 238 +2/35 +2.5/69

morning guys! wow on the 35! another reduction? is that a vapor dose now? :-D They do know - Mannie does the same ting, whenever he gets too low.

:lol: :lol: :lol: on the hiding under the bed with Checkers... one has to what one has to do. :lol: :lol:

Have a great ay today - happy mother's day!
 
Re: 5/8 Checkbook amps 238 +2/35 +2.5/69

Wow...Checkers!!!! I bet he comes back down Barb!!! Good catch.

HAPPY MOTHERS' DAY...hope you have a lovely day. Gracie said to give you another hug with her little striped paws.
 
Re: 5/8 Checkbook amps 238 +2/35 +2.5/69 +4/94 +5/98 +6/135

Sienne, if he had been blue, I would surely have tested +1. Whoda thunk he would drop so far, so fast. Now I'll surely be dealing with big bounce tonight.
I didn't think he would go any lower last night, as he was coming up, when I went to bed. I assume that amps was a bounce, now.

Michelle, you ain't kidding about the vapor dose. However, I think I gave a fat one drop this morning. I didn't think it would affect him like that.

Marjorie, thanks for the Mom's day wish, and thank Gracie, for the hug with her beautiful little striped paw, that I love so much. :-D
 
Re: 5/8 Checkbook amps 238 +2/35 +2.5/69 +4/94 +5/98 +6/135

Wow....what an eye opening +2!!!! Great catch.....uhhh, good luck on the vapor dose! :lol:
 
Re: 5/8 Checkbook amps 238 +2/35 +2.5/69 +4/94 +5/98 +6/135

Well, here I am, once again, unsure of dosing. I'm already giving only one drop. Any more than that (today it was fat), and he drops too low.
He isn't ready, in my opinion, to try to get him off. Yet, how can I possibly give less. I honestly don't think less would do any good.
I could prevent the drop with food, yes, but isn't that defeating the purpose?

If all goes as scheduled, I will be having surgery on June 3. My DD will be staying here, and caring for him, but she will not be here to monitor, for a couple of days.
I've been hoping to do the trial, at that time.

Any thoughts would be welcome. Thank you.
 
Re: 5/8 Checkbook PMPS 198 Dose question

what a day!

You have a few choices that I can see.

1. You could start a trial. It's called a "trial" for a reason - it might work! There have been some cats who have bounced around because any amount of insulin is too much. It used to be normal to start OTJ trials with higher numbers still around. I think we would know very quickly whether Checkers is ready. He might flatten out once he isn't getting insulin anymore.

2. Or you can keep shooting a drop and feed to control the fast drops.

3. Or (similar) you can keep shooting and switch to a slightly higher carb food. Usually it's not a good idea to feed more carbs just so you can keep giving insulin. There have been a couple of cats that has worked for. Ronnie's Luna comes to mind, and I think Janice/Johnny tried it for a little while. For both of them, if I'm remembering correctly we did a trial first, then when the trial didn't hold we tried shooting and feeding higher carb.

What do you think? 35 is too low to just leave things the same, so we have to change something.
 
Re: 5/8 Checkbook PMPS 198 Dose question

Thanks Libby. I'm so nervous about taking him off too soon, and messing it all up. After all, his SS isn't as green as, let's say, Yemala's is.
But I think I am making his AMPS too high, with HC before I go to bed. I'm so concerned about low numbers at night, so ward off low numbers with food/Temptations.
I think I may be making him bounce, is what I mean. I don't know.

I know I overcarb, when he drops into the 30's. I just can't make myself give a teaspoon and wait
 
Re: 5/8 Checkbook PMPS 198 Dose question

I don't know if there is a "right" answer. I would be tempted to try no insulin for a couple of days just to see what happens. Then at least we'll know, right?
 
Re: 5/8 Checkbook PMPS 198 Dose question

Thanks Ella. I'm not using the T word, altho I'll probablynot shoot in the morning.
So far, he hasn't lowered enough for me to want to give a hc snack tonight. Yay, maybe no bouncing tomorrow amps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top