5/8 Champ AMPS 364, PMPS 259, +1.5 305, +3.5 350, +6 384

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Happy Mother's Day everyone!!!!! Even if you don't have human babies, you are the mom to your furbaby, which is harder because they never grown up and become self sufficient. So give yourself a pat on the back, realize that you're doing something so wonderful by taking care of your pet(s), and especially if you have a "special needs" pet like our sugarcats!!! And then convince someone that they need to take you out to breakfast, lunch, or dinner, or all three!! :lol: :lol:

It seems Champ has his internal alarm clock set as he once again didn't come in to wake me up until five minutes before the alarm clock is to go off. I got the usual pillow walk and a few hoarse meows so he could make sure I knew he was there. :-D

I miss how he used to sleep with me every night. He used to sleep at the foot of my bed on his special fleece blanket (he used to looove fleece blankets!), but hasn't even wanted to come in my room (except on rare occasions) since he started getting sick (with the diabetes, back in November/December). I've even picked him up and put him on my bed and he immediately jumps off and leaves the room. I have no idea why he doesn't want to be in my room or on my bed. I try not to let it bother me, but I miss him sometimes. Oh well, he is more affectionate than he used to be otherwise. He likes me to pick him up and hug him now. I mean just wrap my arms around him and rub my face on the top of his head hugging. He NEVER liked that before. So I lose one thing and I get another...I can handle that :-D

I hope everyone's day is absolutely and completely what they hope it will be for them. I plan on going back to bed for an hour or so and then going to church after which I'll be having sushi with the daughter and some window shopping!!!
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364

Happy Mother's Day to you too!

Your story about the alarm clock this morning made me chuckle....somebody else I know did something similar this morning... :lol:


Hey Champ...these beans...man keeping them on schedule is tough work at times. ~~Attie
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364

Morning guys!

I know what you mean about the bed thing, and the feet sleeping. Mannie used to sleep by my side every night, not any more. Once in a while he will come and put me to bed, sleep at my feet. I do miss it too. It is nice though that you get the face rubs and cuddles. Darn cool.

I too had a chuckle over the kitty alarm... happens here now and then. I usually get the wet nose on the face thing. Then the "what's keeping you?" look.

Have a great day today - happy mother's day!

Hey Champ - good work on the waking up the bean. you gotta do it man, and at least 5 minutes before they think they should be up. I mean, shesshhhhh - we need our fuds, ya know? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364

Happy Mom's day Patty and Champ!

Too funny about the alarm thing! Guinness wakes me up with small, hoarse meows from the bottom of the stairs about 1/2 hour before the alarm. He moves up one or two stairs at a time until he is at the foot of our bed meowing up a storm. Lately he's been trying this all out about an hour before the alarm. If we shut our bedroom door, it's even worse. Scratching, meowing, etc. All I have to do is shake the water bottle near my bed and he runs back down to the bottom of the stairs for fear of being squirted (at least he's getting some exercise each day!).

Guinness rarely sleeps on our bed because it has been designated Harp territory (that's our other cat). Harp will give him the evil-eye if he even thinks Guinness is contemplating jumping up, which I am sure he would do if Harp was not around. Sometimes if Guinness is feeling really sick, he will jump up on the bed and lay above my head and knead in my hair...that's how I know he is really sick. It's strange because I thought cats were less social when they were sick, but he seems to be the opposite. Our bonding time together is on the couch in front of the TV. He's very attracted to my animal print Snuggie and enjoys watching Amazing Race while being petted on his now bald belly (because of the ultra-sound).

It's interesting how they sometimes just change their routines, like sleeping at the foot of the bed, etc. I hope Champ is sleeping with you again soon! Have a great Sunday!
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364

Happy Mothers' Day Patty!!!! I'm sorry your boy doesn't want to cuddle. Want to borrow Gracie...uh...wait a minute. Never mind....I'm too stingy to share her cuddles :lol: :lol: :lol: I hope you have an awesome day with DD!!!
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364

Happy Mothers Day Patty!

I'm sure if Champ could buy you flowers, cards, take you out to dinner he probably would! Just to show his appreciation! But all he can give you is the pillow walk and talk, and the cuddles.

And Linda no kidding about the door thing, why is it a cat can't stand a closed door?

Strange......Leo hasn't changed his sleeping pattern since he's been sick. If my room is cold he will come up to my pillow and scratch and dig to get under the blankets i of course have to open up the blankets and he crawls in, he will either put his head on the pillow or on my arm and we spoon....its really cute actually and when i want to roll over he'll get up and switch to the other side too. He's done it since he was a kitten and so often that i open the blankets for him without even waking up. But in summer its too hot for a kitty to be sleeping under blankets so he settles for sleeping at the foot of the bed. But since he's been sick i've been putting a glass of water on the night stand for him and he tramples all over my head and will step on my neck, hair, chest to get a drink of water....not the most graceful cat.

Well have a great mothers day Patty and enjoy the sushi, you deserve it! ;)
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364, +3.5 244

Marje, I don't blame you a bit about wanting to keep Gracie all to yourself!! I would too!

Tracy, Leo is truly a cutie patootie!! Champ has never been a snuggler in bed, though used to ask to get under the covers from time to time. I, of course, had the job of holding the covers off him while he was under there so it was no fun for me :lol: If I left a glass of water on my bedside table, and Champ decided to drink out of it, I would be up in the middle of the night cleaning up spilled water because he is the clumsiest cat ever. So Leo is graceful as well as being cute as can be :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364, +3.5 244, +6 245, +8 254

Nice numbers today, Champ! Came down nicely from that AMPS. Enjoy your day Patty - sounds like fun. Love the wake-up call PRIOR to the alarm....they are so funny. Zoe is much more snuggely then she used to be....kinda nice.....I get 2 am wake-up calls for pets and snuggles and after 15 minutes she is done, leaves and I am wide awake by then! :roll:
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364, +3.5 244, +6 245, +8 254

Patty, do you think the sleeping in your bedroom has anything to do with a scent, a different atmosphere, blanket, detergent.. Cat's are weird like that. I am very glad that he lets you hug him and hold him more..
Champs got some pretty acceptable numbers for you today :-D. I too hope that you had a wonderful day window shopping and having sushi with your daughter.:mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364, +3.5 244, +6 245, +8 254, PMPS 259

Hi Squirrel, that's a good question, but I haven't changed detergents or blankets or anything. At one time I thought maybe he was having difficulty jumping on the bed, but if he can do it sometimes, why not all the time. And besides, I pick him up and put him there. I don't know. He has started sleeping in my daughters room and that's fine with me. I have found him sleeping on the living room floor between the coffee table and the couch...very weird place to decide to sleep. I think the diabetes has just made him different than before and I need to realize he'll probably not be the same. But that's okay cuz he's still sweet as can be!! :-D
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364, +3.5 244, +6 245, +8 254, PMPS 259

We start out with an ugly pink and then flat, flat yellow all day!!! Now I have to wonder...what's going to happen because "flat yellow means somethings going to happen." nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364, PMPS 259, +1.5 305, +3.5 350

I think I figured out what the flat yellow all morning and afternoon meant...stinkus pinkus all night. Geez louise!!! This is just getting uglier and uglier.
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364, PMPS 259, +1.5 305, +3.5 350

Yes, but the uglier and uglier pave the way for more and more beautiful.... :lol: :lol:
Listen to your bean Champ, she's not too happy with the stinkus pinkus.. and i don't like saying it much either :-D
 
Re: 5/8 Champ AMPS 364, PMPS 259, +1.5 305, +3.5 350

Oh geez Champ,

It does seem to get worse when you increase his dose huh? And i thought Champ would give you a nice "blue" mothers day present.

Tomorrow is a new day, and we'll keep fingers and paws crossed for you both.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top