5/8 Blackie amps (+11.5) 283 +3 241 +6 232 +10 184 pmps 172

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's busy night: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13921

Blackie surfed the 40's & 50's for more than 6 hours last night. I finally shot a reduced dose, 3 units, on a 46 at +15. He's starting to bounce now even though its only +9. When can I shoot and how much do I shoot?

WCR: Blackie is feeling good this morning. He went outside for some air before breffis. He only got about 2 Tb of breffis, because it isn't shot time yet. He got lots of attention and loving last night along with a lot of testing.
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie pmps was +15, Now +9 253 When can I shoot?

I wouldn't be comfortable suggesting any time sooner than +11 from your last shot. However, and this is a BIG however, Blackie will really need to have bounced. The last time he had a series of greens at PS, he only bounced into the yellows and I wouldn't shoot an hour early on a yellow PS, especially with the kind of numbers Blackie has been giving you. Generally, numbers need to be in the pink range to warrant a shot that's an hour early.

If you need to start working back your time to get on schedule for Monday, you can either shoot 15 min early per cycle or 1/2 hr early per day.
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie pmps was +15, Now +9 253 When can I shoot?

Morning Ele & Blackie! Someone should be along soon hopefully to help you with the shot time this morning.....
I just wanted to congratulate you two on the fine job you did last night! Blackie and Shadow gave us both a pajama party with their numbers....so good to see!!! I would just say to keep updating when you get numbers and wait for an experienced Bean to come along!
HUGS to you both!! Great job!! :thumbup

ETA: Sienne to the rescue....she posted an answer before I was even finished!! Yay!! thank you Sienne!
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie pmps was +15, Now +9 253 When can I shoot?

Thanks, Sienne. It looks like he's heading for the pinks, but he's not there yet. And the last time we shot that early he ws in the reds.

What do you think about dose? I know that technically he didn't earn a dose decrease, but last night got a little scary when he surfed those numbers for so long. I was thinking about going back to a fat 4.
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie pmps was +15, Now +9 253 +11 288

I am surprised, but pleased that Blackie isn't bouncing too hard. I'll wait until +11.5, test and shoot. I'm still a little cautious about giving him the full 4.25 this am.
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie pmps was +15, Now +9 253 +11 288 Dose?

Good morning Ele,

I know that D is around and I hope that she will jump on this post!
However, in the meantime, i would tell you what I would do if Blackie was my cat.

Typically dosecreases have to be earned and technically it wasn't.... right... I know there are exceptions tho.

I would shoot the same 4.25 half an hour early. I don't think 30 mins is a crazy time shift and the regular dose will only help cut the rebound. Also remember that your shed is a slightly depleted because of the reduced shot. I would feed and get a +1 just to see the direction Blackie will continue to take (since overlap will be a touch more significant as the old dose may still be there).

I understand the pickle you were in last night, but I've been told and have experienced 1st hand.... generally either you shoot on time a reduced dose (exceptions again.... CMA) or shoot the full dose later. Of course.... decisions are a little easier to take when you are around and when your blood pressure isn't through the roof....

Does this help?
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie pmps was +15, Now +9 253 +11 288 Dose?

I'm looking back on your SS to 4/12 when you had the same situation as last night -- a beautiful string of greens that caused you to delay the shot and shoot a reduced dose. The following morning was a lot of red but you shot a reduced dose. (Maybe you should have shot your previous dose but it sounds like you got advice to reduce.) I think one of the exceptions is if you have a PS number that's too low to shoot, you get a reduction. Let me see if I can get someone to take a look.
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie pmps was +15, Now +9 253 +11 288 Dose?

I'm afraid if I shoot 4.25 that we'll have another string of low numbers tonight. I know that this is good for most in LL, but my goal for Blackie is regulation, not OTJ. I don't think 4 is enough - it hasn't been enough in the past. I guess I'm still sleepy and I don't know what to do.
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie pmps was +15, Now +9 253 +11 288 Dose?

Having to stall a shot counts as a dose reduction too (well, not if you're stalling because he's in the 70's and you're afraid to shoot, but 40's and 50's at PS time count). I think fat 4 sounds good, and shooting at +11 should be fine too. That should help with the bounce. You can shoot 4.25 for the bounce if you want, then reduce tonight, I don't think it's necessary to shoot the higher dose if you're shooting at +11, but you can.
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie amps (+11.5) 283

Thanks, Sienne. I shot a fat 4. I am surprised that the 3 units last night didn't bring on a bigger bounce and that was another reason I was hesitant to give Blackie the 4.25. We'll see what the day brings. Blackie is alert and hungry now, even trying to climb on the table to get his bowl of food while was getting his shot ready.
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie amps (+11.5) 283

Thanks Libby. I didn't see your post until after I shot. I'm home all day today, so I'll be sure and post his spot checks.
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie amps (+11.5) 283 +1 269 +3 241

This isn't a very big rebound and I'm surprised. It actually looks similar to yesterday, so I'm going to keep an eye on him today.
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie amps (+11.5) 283 +1 269 +3 241

Congrats on the reduction! Sounds like an exciting night last night. I hope he doesn't go any higher than his +3 today; that would be nice, wouldn't it? :smile:
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie amps (+11.5) 283 +1 269 +3 241

Hi Ele, I followed Blackie's surf for quite a while last night but was zonked and finally went to bed! I'm glad everything turned out fine. It was quite a surf for your boy. Congrats on the dosecrease and I hope that all will be a bit calmer tonight. Stu says: get ready for Scrabble's party tomorrow!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/8 Blackie amps (+11.5) 283 +1 269 +3 241 +6 232 +10 184

Still doing down, but not like last night. It's hard to get used to this new shot schedule. I fed him at almost normal shot time with his meds, but he doesn't get a shot for another 2 hours. Blackie will have catnip in paw for tomorrow's party. He hasn't limped in a couple of days, so I think he'll be ready to dance too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top