5/8 Biscuits amps 423 +7 472 pmps High +3 High

Hey that’s a pretty good AMPS!!!:woot::woot:

Did you want to ask us some questions or you still trying to figure out which ones to ask? :)
Yes.. my questions are, is it possible that we could get a decent number with just the insulin and without medication . I would probably be more willing to start with the medication before more invasive treatment. I won't do the surgery I know exactly what is involved, we did those on humans! Reading the other posts I didn't realize he'd be having pain and other symptoms with this. My mind is all over the place right now. it seems that his amps are good for a couple days then we increase and then it goes back to high then it's good for a couple days. Today was a good number.
 
Yes.. my questions are, is it possible that we could get a decent number with just the insulin and without medication . I would probably be more willing to start with the medication before more invasive treatment. I won't do the surgery I know exactly what is involved, we did those on humans! Reading the other posts I didn't realize he'd be having pain and other symptoms with this. My mind is all over the place right now. it seems that his amps are good for a couple days then we increase and then it goes back to high then it's good for a couple days. Today was a good number.
I linked some SSs for you to look at for cats that weren’t treated. It’s on yesterday’s condo but I’ll post it here as well.

Is it possible for him to eventually respond to these higher doses of insulin and have his numbers come down? 423 this morning, it seems like we're making a tiny bit of progress.Or do we have to implement some other treatment. I've been meaning to ask this.
I’ll just show you a couple SSs of acro cats that weren’t treated.

Tommy’s SS Look at 2011 and 2012; possibly his tumor was waning and he got down low in dose and had great numbers. Then it was followed by the acro starting to affect Tommy :(

Crystal’s SS Suki lives in France and there was no way for her to get SRT for Crystal. When the Levemir dose got really high, Suki decided to just use R more aggressively to combat the acro rather than continuing to raise the L dose. She got Crystal into fairly decent numbers but had to treat for pain. It was before anyone was using cabergoline.

What pain and symptoms will he have? He's totally normal now. Acting more like a cat than when he came here a year ago.
I believe they vary by cat so it’s best if the acro moms give you their experiences. I know Neko had some mouth issues due to tissue growth. I believe Crystal had pain and discomfort from organ growth.

For today’s questions, yes, it is possible to get good numbers with just insulins alone. The reason why you see him go up after an increase is the new dose wonkiness. It’s common. Usually, when we hold for six cycles, you’ll see a longer time of good numbers but we are trying to get him to better numbers faster and we need to. As Wendy said, once we can start using R, we will slow down the Lantus increases.
 
Nice red preshot!! :joyful: I am so sorry to hear about the acro diagnosis. As others have said, Biscuit is still the same lovebug, but now you have an answer for the high insulin needs. I am SO glad you are on FDMB, as you are in very good hands here. My buddy Lou is an IAA-only kitty, and the help I've received on FDMB for him has been life-saving. I can only imagine how full your head is, but remember you don't need to make a treatment decision right this second. You do have time to research and think about what's best for Biscuit. Obviously the biggest thing right now is getting his BGs down, which you are working on. Many hugs to you and scritches for Biscuit! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Nice red preshot!! :joyful: I am so sorry to hear about the acro diagnosis. As others have said, Biscuit is still the same lovebug, but now you have an answer for the high insulin needs. I am SO glad you are on FDMB, as you are in very good hands here. My buddy Lou is an IAA-only kitty, and the help I've received on FDMB for him has been life-saving. I can only imagine how full your head is, but remember you don't need to make a treatment decision right this second. You do have time to research and think about what's best for Biscuit. Obviously the biggest thing right now is getting his BGs down, which you are working on. Many hugs to you and scritches for Biscuit! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks so much for the encouragement!
 
I linked some SSs for you to look at for cats that weren’t treated. It’s on yesterday’s condo but I’ll post it here as well.



For today’s questions, yes, it is possible to get good numbers with just insulins alone. The reason why you see him go up after an increase is the new dose wonkiness. It’s common. Usually, when we hold for six cycles, you’ll see a longer time of good numbers but we are trying to get him to better numbers faster and we need to. As Wendy said, once we can start using R, we will slow down the Lantus increases.
Adding the Humulin R scares me. I'm anxious now when I leave the house afraid I'll miss a hypo event. It will be worse adding another insulin.
 
Adding the Humulin R scares me. I'm anxious now when I leave the house afraid I'll miss a hypo event. It will be worse adding another insulin.

Yes, R should only be started when you are home to monitor. It is great to have in the toolbox, I still use it with Bronx on occasion.
 
Adding the Humulin R scares me. I'm anxious now when I leave the house afraid I'll miss a hypo event. It will be worse adding another insulin.
Yes, R will tie you to the house w bit more but it’s usually in and out in four hours, on average. Many of us have observed that the cycles are a bit more active the cycle after R is given.

Don’t worry...we will teach you how to use it and you’ll do great.
 
Back
Top