5/8 Alex AMPS 332-Alex's Big Adventure

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA)

Very Active Member
Whether you noticed or not, we haven't been her for the last 6 days. Last Saturday night it was very hot in my apartment and I was fearing an instant replay of the last time that happened and well...sure enough :-| Alex started overheating, panting and within a short time his fever was up to 103.4. I finally reached vet (after speaking to Hillary while in a state of hysteria) and he told me that I should give fluids, which i had, and try to keep him cool and see how he was in the AM. The fluids only brought him down by a degree, and he was still panting (that's not something you want to see if you haven't). Sunday AM Alex seemed okay until he jumped on the counter and as soon as he jumped off I though "oh no" and I was right. He was panting, the apartment was getting really hot and Alex's ears were HOT. I reached vet at clinic and brought Alex in and his temp was 103.9 but he had no signs of fluid on his chest and his free T4 came back normal. apparently, Alex is SUPER heat sensitive now. Which causes him to have a fever, which isn't good for his heart :-| i asked vet what i should do and he said that we should come stay at his house until the heat breaks and that's where we've been :razz:

he whisked Alex away and i went to get Jackson and pack up all of our 'stuff', and while it took Alex 24 hours to really cool down, he was happy as a lark when he did. temperature was totally normal in 24 hours. all panting stopped. Jackson was a very happy boy too and was very frisky and playful after getting out of the heat.
http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/photo.php?pid=31325579&id=1203445228&fbid=1451303041582
http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/photo.php?pid=31325108&id=1203445228&fbid=1451149837752

vet Jaime saw the difference in them and purchased a windowless portable a/c for me that cools the living and dining room areas of my apartment so HOPEFULLY this won't happen again.


thanks Hillary for posting while we were away.
Alex and Jackson want to send out much love, snowflakes and healing vines to their friend Latte ♥

And oh Auntie em...there's no place like home :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/8 Alex AMBB 341-Alex's Big Adventure

Wow, some adventure. Happy it had a good outcome. I guess Alex just really wanted an air conditioner and was trying to figure out a way to get one. Smart kitty. Sounds like you have a wonderful vet!

Stay cool-
 
Yeah! Glad you are all home from vacation and you have that AC unit!!!! And of course it's sooooo cool out today you don't need it. But you will and now can use it!

Yeah hooray.
 
I'm glad you're home, and nice and cool. :smile:

You're reducing the dose tonight, right? :mrgreen: 29 needs a dosecrease, once the bounce starts to clear.
 
hehehe, Alex certainly is a smart kitty, isn't he...very resourceful in getting his bean an a/c unit for the house!!!
And what's this...a dose crease too!! wowwwweeeeeee!!
 
Wow, so glad this adventure had a happy ending for everyone and you could click your heels and come home (to a cooler apartment). :-D
Yeah, for Jaime the vet! He's a cool guy, hahaha!
 
Oddly enough, I came home this evening to Alex with a bg of 247 after being away for 6 hours which was good :)
I gave him his heart pill and kissed him and he STUNK of acetone. I couldn't get him to pee on command so I did a blood ketone test and he sure does have them. 1.4 which on my conversion chart compared to urine test is moderate.

How the heck did he get ketones in the last 24 hours is what I want to know! I spoke to vet and I'm on top of it but he's baffled too :(.
From missing one shot maybe?
 
Glad you're home again. I can't comment on the ketones - maybe you should put that in your subject to flag attention to it.
 
Nina and KB said:
Glad you're home again. I can't comment on the ketones - maybe you should put that in your subject to flag attention to it.
Hi Nina:)
it's under control, thanks so much!
I think it's because he didn't get his shot last night.
He'll be fine thanks for caring :0)
 
Wow what a week you guys have had. I'm glad that Alex is feeling better and that you have an AC so you can keep cool this summer. I hope those ketones clear quickly for you. Just the mention of that word scares me. Keep us posted.
 
Ketones... that's something the Wicked Witch of the West leaves, right? :lol: (I have seen that movie umpty-million times.)

Kitty and Alex are very different about heat. When it gets to be AC time here, Kitty begs to go on the porch, where it is 95 degrees and 90 percent humidity.

Glad the ketones are under control. Enjoy being home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top