5/7 Vesta AMPS 307, +6 246, PMPS 370

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weather Girl

Member Since 2010
My last condo, April 15th: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12096

It's been a while!!! Vacation went well, the pet hotel kept good records of her AMPS and PMPS. The first few #s they took I'm almost certain were invalid, but I guess it was as good as could be expected. No testing other than those, but at least they tested at all, I guess. Especially with such a last minute placement!

We upper the lantus to 2 units when we got back (11 days ago), as her #s weren't really improving. It was per the vet's recommendation. (though, if you remember, we hate our vet and want to switch... any recommendations in the west san fernando valley area?)

My question now- except for her little morning food binges sending her #s skyrocketing, she's holding pretty much just over 300 for her AM/PM-PS. What do we do now? She's on 90% wet food with ~ 5% carbs. Do we up her doseage? How much? How long?

Thanks for all the advice in advance...
 
Re: 5/7 Vesta AMPS 307

Welcome back!

A couple of thoughts..

It's good that you are picking up your other cat's dry food. If there is any way you can speed Vesta's transition to an all canned diet and maybe transition your other cat, as well, it will prevent the dry food poaching that's been going on. For most cats, the dry stuff is kitty crack. My life became immeasurably easier when both of my cats began to eat canned food.

Please take a look at the sticky about the dosing protocol that we use. The sticky has links to the formal protocol as well as a modified version. According to the protocol, we do not raise doses in 1.0u increments. I realize this may have been what your vet recommended but we would have increased doses much more slowly so an effective dose would not be missed.

Is it possible for you to get more spot checks? Without knowing what's going on in the middle of the cycle, it's very hard to make a recommendation about dose. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point (nadir) of the cycle. There's not enough data from mid-cycle to be able to evaluate Vesta's dose.

If you want recommendations regarding a vet in your area, I'd suggest putting a post on the Health board. You can do that here as well. You'll probably need to change your subject line though, so people will know that you're looking for vet info. (You'll want to mention your area in the subject line.)
 
Re: 5/7 Vesta AMPS 307

HI guys, welcome back from your trip! I totally agree with Sienne, you need to increase slowly! I live semi-close to you in the La Crescenta area. I really like my vet although I do not know if it is too far a drive for you. I use Crescenta Valley Vetinary Hospital in La Crescenta. PM me if you need more info, there are a few others in the So Cal area who might be able to offer suggestions. What city do you live in?
Now that you are back from vaca will you be able to get tests throughout the cycle?
 
Re: 5/7 Vesta AMPS 307

I echo all that Sienne said... and welcome you back.
and will add... dry food will only give you grey hair... if you can transition Vesta entirely... it will be better for her and for you!
 
Thanks, everyone :) We'll work on getting more spot checks... It's pretty tough with our work schedules. We're both shift-workers, so even getting #s on weekends are difficult. But, we'll try- especially with the goal of following the protocol with the eventual goal of weaning her.

When we're really ready to deal with seeking out a new vet, I'll post where you guys suggested. We're in Tarzana (between Woodland Hills and Sherman Oaks).

A 100% wet food diet will be starting tomorrow am. About the food- we tested EVO (3% carb) and Sophisticat canned (mixed grill- not sure of carbs, but I think 2%ish based on Binky's charts). Vesta and our non-diabetic cat love the Sophisticat so much more than the EVO. Is it worth trying to get them to like the higher quality food? The large cans go for 1.50ish for the EVO (here at least) and the Sophisticat 78c. Definitely a big difference. Suggestions?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top