5/7 Tess AMPS~309 PMPS~174

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Very Active Member
5/6 Condo

PINK!!! Her numbers have been higher ever since we increased the dose. Could she be getting too much insulin? I check very carefully after each shot to make sure there is no trace of Lantus on her fur. There never is, so I'm sure I haven't been giving furshots.
WCR Came in to wake me this am, time for breffis. Was a little wiggly during testing. Breffis Now! cat(2)_steam
All Ps in place, although the last was a bit of a hanger on. Tess was very playful yesterday, up and down on the chair for 15 minutes. She loves trying to reach through the arms or around the legs to get the feather.
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309

Good morning Ann & Tess. I looked at you ss and nothing is really standing out except for the fact that numbers are a bit higher now. I was thinking NDW, but you've been on this dose for a few days...but it still could be that.
Another thing that popped into my mind is maybe a small infection of some sort. Is Tess in need of a dental or maybe one of her teeth are hurting her. When Spot's numbers start to look a little higher than usual, it's usually something to do with his teeth.
I hope you can figure it out because I know you don't like these numbers.
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309

Tess had a dental in January, that's when the FD was dx. She is acting fine except for pooping a little irregularly. Her appetite is better than ever and she is much more energetic. It just seems like when we increase her dose, the numbers go up not down.
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309

Have you changed her food?
Are you sure about the meter and test strips? any change in those? I see you checked it the other day, right? I am not familiar with that meter that you are using....

Hmmmmm...she has had a string of yellows in the past and then brings herself down after those are over...but this time, she went up to pink instead. Very strange.

What is your feeding schedule like? Sometimes, mini meals are better for BGs...feed a little of the food and then in 2 hours, feed a little more...less taxing on the pancreas.
I don't know what to say...maybe someone will have an idea about what is going on....
She is acting okay otherwise, huh?
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309

Thanks Pat, Tess's food is usually FF or Sophisticat with occasionally a can of the better stuff tried. Usually snubbed. 0% to 5% carbs.

I check the meter w/ the solution for each new vial and just got a new bottle of solution as well.

She does get mini meals: PS, +1, +3, +5 (or PS, +2, +4, +6) plus a +9 snack Total of 5.5oz. to 6oz. a day. She is tested before each meal. Basically, every time there is a test listed on the SS, she got fed , unless the tests are closer than 2 hours to track a low.

I just don't know what else to try. Tess was regulated on .1u for a month and a half and now we keep upping the dose and her numbers keep going up as well.
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309 +2~157

I think I've found the solution. Express my frustration, ask for help and Tess will immediately turn around and go the other direction. ohmygod_smile

150 point drop in 2 hours and nadir probably not reached yet! :shock: She had another good sized poo as well.

I guess i don't get to get to go out today. Test, test, test.
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309 +2~157

Hi Ann, and good morning!

I have had similar experiences with Mannie. A dose change and his numbers went up, just not for one of two days, but several. Eventually it all settled in, and I saw what I expected. Funny - i too, will sit with Mannie, express my concerns, and issue mini-kitty-threats, and a ton on pets and chin scratches, and 9 times out of 10, he drops... darn kitties!

Wow, and quite the drop for Tess this morning! Good for her! Com'on Tess - give your mama bean a nice blue and/or green surf!

have a great day, both of you, even if it is test test test....
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309 +2~157 +3~111

Another big drop to 111. That's just shy of 200 points in 3 hours. I foresee a big bounce coming this evening or tomorrow.
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309 +2~157 +3~111 +4~89

Well, I'd call her rainbow kitty, except she totally skipped the yellow. :lol:
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309 +2~157 +3~111 +4~89

Hi Ann and Tess, wow lots of action for Tess today!! Wish I could give you some answers about her numbers but maybe she is just requesting a little more time in LT school! Hope you don't get a bounce tonight! Have a happy Fursday!
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309 +2~157 +3~111 +4~89 +5~92

+5~92, so basically surfing. Gave me a scare though, first time I tested it was "Lo". :shock: Retested and got 92, must have been too small a sample.

If she keeps on surfing around here does that mean less likelihood of a bounce?
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309 +2~157 +3~111 +4~89 +5~92

Don't you just hate it when the meter does that too you? Been there.....

I know ECID, but with Mannie, and green surfs, sometimes even blue, what I end up getting after that is some sort of a bounce, usually not too high, but up nonetheless. He will hover in the green or blue range, next amps i will get a pink. Today mannie is on a flatline yellow surf. From past dealing with him when he does this i know that tomorrow, maybe even tonight I will see action, more than likely down to the low blues into the greens. Anyways - that is what happens with him.

Wouldn't it be great if she and her internal organs have decided that these wonderful blues are where it is at? So nice to see the green again today. Go Tess!
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309 +2~157 +3~111 +4~89 +5~92

NOW That is a beautiful SURF!!!!! Tess & Ann We are PROUD of you Both!!! You Got GREEN!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309 +2~157 +3~111 +4~89 +5~92 +9~133

Green surf is over. Up to blue, but it's what we've been looking for.

PS - Is DH a Papabean? :lol:
 
Re: 5/7 Tess AMPS~309 +2~157 +3~111 +4~89 +5~92 +9~133

Beautiful mid-cycle surf! I don't know if the surfing will offset the bounce. I think you'll only know when you see her numbers this evening.

A couple of thoughts..

NDW occurs with a dose increase. That may be contributing to the higher numbers.

Also, if you look at Tess' SS, she has these occasions where her number run higher for a cycle or two and then come back to her usual range. Are you absolutely certain she doesn't have a secret stash of kibble somewhere? In all seriousness, I'd try to do some investigative work -- are the days she throws odd numbers times when she's stressed for whatever reason (e.g., a thunderstorm, something that scared her) or what you did you eat that day and could she have hoovered up crumbs of something HC?
 
I understand NDW. It's just that when she comes down from it and then shoots up even higher that gets to me.

Secret stash? No. Tess is uninterested in people food unless it is roast chicken or fish. Nothing with carb, except ice cream or milk from a cereal bowl, which we never leave around now. Actually she really isn't very interested any more. I used to practically have to fight her off when I had cereal in the morning, now she pays no attention. Of course, she eats first and is full by the time I get to eat. I've never seen her up on the counters
Stress? Tess is pretty timid, it doesn't take much. Any visitors make her hide. Thankfully thunderstorms are a rarity here, we probably won't even have any more rain until fall. She doesn't like it when we leave, but on Saturdays we don't have a lot of choice. However, if you remember the time we had to take her with us because she was so low in the morning (2/27), she had a brief rise and then went right back down. That was about the most stressful day she has ever had.


Just did a +2 test 239. We have a bounce, I guess holding the surf didn't stop it. Not surprising considering the nosedive this morning, I just hope it doesn't last too long.
 
Tess has been busy! I hope she doesn't bounce too much, or stay up there too long. Com'on Tess - you can do it!

Have a good evening Ann. I on the other hand are in the midst of a lather and rinse... Aiyee!, it is going to be a longggggg night. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top