5/7 SHEBA eventful night AMPS 356

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...back-on-the-diving-board.137395/#post-1417170

Well Sheba came down off the bounce after one cycle which was good but I was unprepared and when I tested her at +3.5 she had already dropped 142 points. I think she must have still been coming off the bounce at that point and dropping from that, not the insulin, because the levemir doesn't usually kick in until about +3.5. I gave her some MC food which did nothing to halt the drop so resorted to HC. She ended up having a lot of it before it slowed the drop right down.
We didn't reach green but got a nice low blue. I'm not surprised we didn't go lower, with all that HC aboard.
This morning I expected a much higher AMPS but I guess she could still go up.

@Sienne and Gabby
Thank you for the additional information about how you deal with dropping numbers. I think I might try a drop of honey instead of the HC as well, as the phosphorus levels in the HC do concern me.

I am determined to get on top of these bounces and drops. I am finding I just do not go out at all in the mornings socially any more unless Sheba is on a bounce. I can't plan in advance to go out as I never know what the day will bring:rolleyes:. Meeting friends for a coffee are a thing of the past at the moment which I miss.
I am sure many of you are in the same boat.
 
It is interesting how the glucose levels go down regardless of insulin when a bounce is clearing. There have been times as you know when we skipped a dose and still got good glucose levels because bouncing numbers were coming down. I understand about not being able to plan things with confidence as everything I do revolves around my Lucy's insulin injections and glucose levels and days when she has higher numbers I go out and do things I need to do. I make appointments at certain points in the cycle when I think there is the most chance of having higher numbers but that doesn't always go according to plan as you know too. :) Along with the unpredictability of my Crohn's disease it is amazing I am able to keep most of my commitments and appointments. :) Ultimately though so much of what happens in life is out of our control and I guess dealing with chronic illness in ourselves and our loved ones reminds us of that. Our cats have much to teach us about living in the moment and relaxing too.
 
I hope Sheba slides down slowly for you today. It is hard to make plans. I usually say I'll do "something" if Furball lets me.
 
plans are hard...
but it's not me, it's them.... my work is all flexible... so i can re-arrange. And i'm never gone for more than a couple of hours....
But traveling overnight is gone for now.

Hope for a slow descent.. and no drama...
 
Plans? We still make them, but just with people who don't mind us being late or even bringing the C.A.T. with us. We do stay closer to home and tend to entertain more at our house, just for peace of mind; but her dx doesn't stop us too much. We load her up and haul her wherever we go. She used to fuss a little to go for car rides but not anymore. She sits all prim and proper on the console and helps her dad drive. If he is taking corners too sharp or riding the brakes a little too firmly she will not hesitate to tell him. It's helped our marriage because now I can just keep my mouth shut and let Zoey nag him. LOL

I do yawn a lot more lately and find myself taking catnaps at my computer. :cat:zzzzzzzzz

Best wishes for some predictability and flatter numbers.
 
Nice long stretch of blues last night. Paws crossed Sheba takes her time coming down today. And good luck with the honey/syrup, it sounds like a much better solution and she can stay on raw.

I spent a lot of time staring at Neko's SS and trying to figure out the circumstances when Neko goes low and when I have to keep an eye on her. From just a quick glance at Sheba's SS, it seems that if she starts the cycle in yellow or higher, she isn't in green until +6. Blue PS and she may be green earlier. Between that knowledge and the autofeeder, maybe you can get out more. With Neko, I've moved her PS to accommodate being able to go out for dinner for a couple of hours after preshot, with Otto(feeder) loaded appropriately. If I get a +9 or +10, it can also tell me how the beginning of the cycle will go and whether I can go out for longer. Typically there are patterns across more than one cycle.
 
Thanks Voula, Carla, Rose and Rhiannon for swapping 'having to stay at home' and 'planning to get out and about' stories.
We are all in the same boat really, just have slightly different ways of managing it.
I love that Zoey is helping your marriage Rose:joyful::joyful:
I have to say any time we get an invitation to go somewhere or I have to make an appointment, the first thing I think of is Sheba and the management of her. I tend not to take her anywhere except my kids places as she gets too stressed about it and it is not worth it. Some of my friends completely understand and others think I am bonkers!
 
@Wendy&Neko
Thanks for looking at Sheba's SS and giving me further insight into it. I do use the auto feeder almost every day at some point, but I will have a look to see if I can improve on it to my advantage.
I did change the preshots to a later time so we could go out to dinner more and that has been great.

I am getting much more used to low numbers and a low nadir (if I am lucky):rolleyes::joyful: and they don't worry me like they used to. I have to go out at least 3 times a week over the nadir for a couple of hours on the school run and I have got used to leaving her with a lowish number. As long as she isn't dropping fast I am ok with it.
I don't know how people work all day....I admire them no end.
My main concern at the moment is the rapid drops from +3.5 to+5.5. I feel I have to be around to try and stop them otherwise she will never stop bouncing. They have been the main problem for her this second time around. The times I have been able to settle them down she drops into good numbers really well.

Thanks again for all your time and knowledge. I don't know how you do it day after day, but I really appreciate it:bighug:
 
Morning Bron, hope Sheba cooperates today and gives you some nice flat blues. Know exactly what you mean about making plans to fit around a cat but at least that way we can have peace of mind during our absences. Luckily most of our friends have cats, but none are diabetic, so they understand up to a point. Day trips out have become a thing of the past though, shame.
 
ah yes, life before FD! Very different now... I work 4 10 hr. days, one of which is a telework day. But lately since Oren is still not well regulated and unpredictable, I often have to call in late or like today, telework again for the a.m hours, and go in after I'm sure he's ok. Thankfully, my supervisor is the greatest. Yeah, I've gotten so that sometimes i like seeing that pink or red number first thing in the a.m. It means I can get out if necessary! I have the added complication of an out of state boyfriend, and to maintain our relationship means travel every other month, and the attendant disruption/cost that involves (vet tech pet sitter, 2x a day visits etc). The auto feeder has helped tremendously, as well as knowing how he responds to food. Often, if he's going to surf, his regular food is fine. MC of only 9% will generally push him up. I've only had 1 below 50 number so far, and HC food took care of that right away. But it seems like activities happen in the short groups of hours b/n key pts: get that +2 and make decisions about whether I can go somewhere for a little while, but make sure you're home for shot time!... I often have a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach till i come through the door and hear his voice.
Please cooperate Sheba, you'll likely feel better too if you give up the trampoline routine! Why not take up nice gentle yoga, calm, centering...much better for everyone!
 
Thanks Suki and Megan for your thoughts on how we all manage our FD kitties. Open
I agree Suki, I think most friends understand up to a point and then they just think we are a bit crazy.

My goodness Megan you do have a busy life. I can imagine how hard it is for you to work, maintain a long distance relationship and look after Oren. It sounds like you know Oren pretty well and are doing a great job of managing it all.
I am glad you have an understanding supervisor. All the best with it all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top