5/7 Shakes

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
Happy SAturday everyone!
Hope you all have a great day!

We started off good, I upped him to 2.3 this morning
his amps was 312 which is great, but his +3 is 276 and that is ususally his nadir
He had not been moving down at all this week

QUESTION: How long does PZI last?
I have had it for about 6 or 7 weeks, could that be the problem?

THanks and hav e agreat day!

Denise and Shakes
 
Good morning!

You will get varying opinions on how long PZI last. I will give you my opinion.

The last vial I had 67 days--and I was seeing numbers similar to yours. There was very little movement during the cycle. I got a new vial-reduced the dose by .5 and had a 200 point drop on a 400 preshot the first day. I also started fluids that day...so...but, my vet thinks the insulin had popped out.

It is my intention to get a new vial every 30 to 45 days.

Just my thoughts!

Kim
 
Hmmm, I thought ProZinc was supposed to last until the vial was used up. If there is any question, I would call the manufacturer and find out. That stuff is expensive to be replacing often!!!! If it is supposed to last until the expiry date and doesn't, I would see if you can get a refund on the vial.
 
Thank you so much, I was starting to think the same thing
He normally drops about 50% but has not done that inawhile
I will get a new vile next week!
THanks and have a great day!
 
Let me state one additional thing concerning the "pooped" out insulin. I had people other than myself handling the insulin, it might not have "expired" --maybe it got handled improperly causing it to lose potency. I am not sure which happened, but I saw an immediate difference with the new vial.

Just wanted to state that!
 
Unless it is left out in the heat or exposed to light for too long or handled roughly it should be ok until it's used up. Although I know there have been some here who had it poop out on them for no reason. So it is worth looking into.

I bought my vial on July 4th of last year and it is still good, it actually sent Harley a little lowish today, and we are down to the bottom of the bottle.
 
I use down to the bottom or as near as possible of the ProZinc vial and it works.
My vet said as long as it is stored properly in the box in fridge and not exposed to light it should last until expiry date.
Even if it is left sitting out by accident for a while, as long as its not exposed to extreme heat or cold or light it should be o.k.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top