5/7 punkin amps 193 +6/69 pmbg 111 thanks!

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
hi all,

the vet tech called me today because when she checked punkin at +6 he was down to 69. I told her to give him 1/4 can of the ff higher carb and to reduce his dose tonight. it's been 7 and i said if you can get 6.75 super, otherwise go down to 6.5 - but decrease it. if i'd been home i wouldn't have done anything, just checked to see where it was going, but with punkin being home alone i didn't want to take any chances. it'll probably soar today after the food.

she sent me an email and his numbers yesterday were

amps 237
+6 233
pmps 229

then today
amps 193
+6 69

isn't that strange? i must admit i've been thinking about punkin the whole time we've been gone from home. i'm ready to come home! it's making me think i sure don't want to take another trip while punkin is on insulin - which will not make my husband happy to hear.

hope you're all doing well. we leave tomorrow for the airport about 2:30 pm eastern time and get home about midnight pacific time. crazy.
 
Re: 5/7 punkin amps 193 +6/69 - vacation update

hi, guys!!

hope your vacation is going well...but i sure hear you on the not wanting to leave the kitter...

hang in there, punkster, till the bean gets home!
 
Re: 5/7 punkin amps 193 +6/69 - vacation update

Hi Julie, Good idea to reduce the dose to 6.5. That will be much easier to measure for the DPS. But keep in mind that a nadir of 69 is very nice (too bad you weren't home to see it!).
Have a safe trip home tomorrow, and don't worry about Punkin. He'll be OK. It's great that you have someone who can test and shoot!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/7 punkin amps 193 +6/69 - vacation update

I've already decided that I'm homebound while Champ is on insulin. My parents are getting up in years and both have medical problems so I usually try to make it to Texas at least once or twice a year. Because I'm self employed, every time I take time off from work, I don't get paid while I'm off which is really hard when you're a single mom putting a kid through college. There's no way I'm going to be able to afford a vet tech to come in to test and give Champ his shots and I don't know that I would be comfortable having my niece do it. She usually housesits for me while I'm gone and takes care of Champ. She's in her 20's so I'm sure she could do it, but I don't know if she would want the responsibility and, God forbid, if something were to happen, I don't want to blame her. I'm just hoping he is going to be able to go off insulin one day, hopefully while my parents are still around.
 
Re: 5/7 punkin amps 193 +6/69 - vacation update

Hi - I hope you are having a nice vacation. I know how hard it is to be away when you have a FD kitty. It's tough. I think you made a wise move to reduce after the 69. better safe than sorry. he may ave been fine, but at least now you won't worry as much. great too that your vet tech called you.

enjoy the rest of your vacation! :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/7 punkin amps 193 +6/69 pmbg 111 thoughts?

allrighty - my awesome tech Sara just called - his pmps is 111 - she gave him the 1/4 can of high carb 6 hours ago, he's now eating his regular 1.5 cans of low carb.

i told her to skip the shot.

what could be happening? she did say that she found some food vomit this morning, but asked the vet about it when she went in to work and he said just to watch punkin, maybe it was a one time thing.

why would his BG be so low today?

should i be doing something different - he can't go hypo at this point when he hasn't had a shot for 12 hours, can he?
 
Re: 5/7 punkin amps 193 +6/69 pmbg 111 help?

If you didn't give any insulin, there's not a risk of hypo.

I just got back from 5 days away. What I'm seeing is that my guys don't eat as well as when I'm home. It's possible that this is the case for Punkin.
 
Re: 5/7 punkin amps 193 +6/69 pmbg 111 help?

i asked her if he was eating everything and she said yes - but thanks for confirming no risk of hypo since no shot. now i'm going to bed - everyone else has been asleep for ages!

good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top