Re: 5/7 Pumbaa AMPS/377 +6/318 PMPS/301
Suze,
That is one of the reason for why I pushed for a "Relaxed" Lantus forum, because I realized with Musette that not all cats danced to the music of Tight Regulation, nor was every caregiver able to do that dance either, especially not at first.
All three of my diabetics are different cases than alot of the kitties in TR....they are all DCIN cats so they have additional problems to over come than just getting their bloodsugar in line. They have emotional issues to work through as well. I couldn't push any of them as I could have Muse had she lived long enough after being dxed to treat her. Muse had been my cat for 7 years before she got sick, she loved and trusted me. Maxwell, Musette, & Autumn didn't know me from Adam when I started testing and sticking them with needles. Maxwell had survived a hurricane, and then been bounced around for years. From what I can piece together of his history based on his approx. age, this guy has never had the same home for more than about 3 years. He needed to feel secure and loved, luckily he is a pretty laid back guy.
Musette had the same family for 12 years and then gets dumped because she is sick..and she is a Himalayan, which is just about as loyal of a breed as say an Akita in the dog world. As far as I can tell she was never held, or played with since we had to teach her what toys were..she had no clue. She has abandonment issues and is terrified of the vet's because she thinks she is going to be dumped there again...and well you know Autumn's story she was going untreated and basically being allowed to starve to death, because her body couldn't process the food she was eating and she is use to being a free roaming farm cat that is now being asked to not only live fulltime in a house but with a large furry family. I'm actually surprised she is doing as well on her treatment as she is because really in the beginning all 3 were no better off here than they would have been at the vet's office when you factor in the stress factor.
So none of my three were going to work being pushed with Tight Regulation, I could test them even hour if I was so inclined but their numbers weren't going to respond right because in the beginning they were all stressed out of their minds. There needed to be a place for the cats and the people that loved them that fell through the cracks. Or like Pumbaa that just marched to his own music.
Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang