5/7 Pumbaa AMPS/377 +6/318 PMPS/301 +4/198

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Too much going on yesterday to post, but I had upped Pumbaa's dose to 1.25U in the morning.

Now, the waiting game, as his body settles into the dose and I try and make some sort of sense out of his numbers.

Suze
 
Re: 5/7 Pumbaa AMPS/377

See you are much more relaxed...lol. Yep it is now just a waiting game until he stops swinging and settles into the new dose. I think that patiences is the hardest part of this dance.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/7 Pumbaa AMPS/377 +6/318

Thank you, Mel. Patience AND trying to make some sense of their numbers, right?

Hope all is going well with Autumn!

Suze
 
Re: 5/7 Pumbaa AMPS/377 +6/318

Right now Autumn is at the vet's getting her clothes stolen (shaved)...funny I miss her, she has only been here a week and I already miss her talking to me all day and following me around the house. And of course I'm worried about her because they are going to have to sedate her to shave her, which is always tricky for any cat but especially tricky with an unregulated diabetic and she has a heart murmur too boot. Really wish they would call and say come get her. She has to be scared after all she has been through already to have to sit at the vet's all day waiting for them to get to her to be shaved and not knowing if her new mommy is going to come back for her.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/7 Pumbaa AMPS/377 +6/318

Autumn will be SOOOOOOOOOO happy to see you after her vet visit!

I love that she follows you around the house and talks to you all day! She's just devoted to her human angel, Mel, and knows that you already love her and are going to make her feel so much better than she has for a long time.

Hope the vet calls you soon so your girl can home home.

Suze
 
Re: 5/7 Pumbaa AMPS/377 +6/318 PMPS/301

Pumbaa had a steady decline in the pink number this a.m. cycle. Wish his PMPS would have been 299 instead of 301...just so I would have seen him drop to yellow. *LOL*

Hurt my back doing yardwork/major manual labor last week, so I'm taking a break from the 3/6/9 testing. I'm sure Pumbaa is enjoying this. Plus, I know we have to wait a bit for his numbers to settle down before we get any significant readings anyway. I could barely scoop the litter today, much less try and get a urine sample from the little guy. Hopefully my back will be much better tomorrow and I can get that much-needed ketone test done.

I am praying very hard for a steady decline into the yellows...with no more bounces into reds or blacks, unless Pumbaa decides to throw a blue number in there. But from what I have seen, when he has a bounce, his body simply resets itself to stay up in the 300s no matter what the insulin dosage. Someone (I forget who) explained this oddity to me, which can occur until they reach the perfect dose. This does not compute with my mental logic function, but I don't doubt it in the least, from studying Pumbaa's SS for the last month and trying to make some sense of the numbers he provides me with.

But I'm more relaxed, so Pumbaa's more relaxed and I think this way we have a better chance of making this work!

Suze
 
Re: 5/7 Pumbaa AMPS/377 +6/318 PMPS/301

One thing I have learned with having 3 diabetic cats, they are definitely in the lead when it comes to this dance, no matter how much we would like to lead, they just will never let us, because they are the only ones that can hear the music we are dancing too...lol. And Every Cat is Different, what worked for Maxwell isn't going to work for Musette, what works for Musette isn't going to work for Autumn they all dance to different and unique music.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/7 Pumbaa AMPS/377 +6/318 PMPS/301

Wise words, Mel. Thank you!

The reason I came back to "relaxed" is because, to me, Pumbaa's dance didn't have the same beat as the tight protocol. I want to find Pumbaa's rhythm, and learn to dance to it, for his sake and mine!

Suze
 
Re: 5/7 Pumbaa AMPS/377 +6/318 PMPS/301

Suze,

That is one of the reason for why I pushed for a "Relaxed" Lantus forum, because I realized with Musette that not all cats danced to the music of Tight Regulation, nor was every caregiver able to do that dance either, especially not at first.

All three of my diabetics are different cases than alot of the kitties in TR....they are all DCIN cats so they have additional problems to over come than just getting their bloodsugar in line. They have emotional issues to work through as well. I couldn't push any of them as I could have Muse had she lived long enough after being dxed to treat her. Muse had been my cat for 7 years before she got sick, she loved and trusted me. Maxwell, Musette, & Autumn didn't know me from Adam when I started testing and sticking them with needles. Maxwell had survived a hurricane, and then been bounced around for years. From what I can piece together of his history based on his approx. age, this guy has never had the same home for more than about 3 years. He needed to feel secure and loved, luckily he is a pretty laid back guy.

Musette had the same family for 12 years and then gets dumped because she is sick..and she is a Himalayan, which is just about as loyal of a breed as say an Akita in the dog world. As far as I can tell she was never held, or played with since we had to teach her what toys were..she had no clue. She has abandonment issues and is terrified of the vet's because she thinks she is going to be dumped there again...and well you know Autumn's story she was going untreated and basically being allowed to starve to death, because her body couldn't process the food she was eating and she is use to being a free roaming farm cat that is now being asked to not only live fulltime in a house but with a large furry family. I'm actually surprised she is doing as well on her treatment as she is because really in the beginning all 3 were no better off here than they would have been at the vet's office when you factor in the stress factor.

So none of my three were going to work being pushed with Tight Regulation, I could test them even hour if I was so inclined but their numbers weren't going to respond right because in the beginning they were all stressed out of their minds. There needed to be a place for the cats and the people that loved them that fell through the cracks. Or like Pumbaa that just marched to his own music. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Mel, you have done a wonderful job with Maxwell, Musette, and now Autumn. :) Just the fact that Autumn follows you around the house talking to you shows that she already loves you and trusts you and knows that even if you are poking her and injecting her, you are also making her feel better than she has in months. Hope she wasn't too traumatized by the vet visit yesterday and her new nakedness. But if they got rid of all of those mats in her fur, I'll bet she feels 100% better this morning.

Thank you for pushing for the "relaxed" lantus forum! Even though I've had Pumbaa since he was about 6 weeks old (no trust issues there), and work at home so could have easily followed the TR, we tried and how Pumbaa was reacting was stressing both of us out. He is acting so much better now that I've been waiting longer to make sure his body has settled into a dose before making a change. I don't know how much of that is MY being more relaxed now that he's acting better, but I know that it has some impact. I don't even mind when he lets me know he's fed up with getting his ears poked...I just pull out the sardines and bribe him. *LOL*

Suze
 
So my husband is being a compueter hogger these days so i rely on using my phone to keep myself updated ... works all fine and dandy but it takes forever if i want to type a message (and the crazy typos that i dont catch cuz its all so small)....anyways.....lol

Just had to say WOW PUMBAA!!! LOVE THAT BLUE!!!! now thats more like it! I peeked at todays condos heading and saw 528 or smg...obv bounce but hey...u got a blue!!! Yipeee!

PS. I liked the relaxed lantus as well.....
 
Lil: Thank you...I was excited about the blue as well! Hopefully, many more of those to come. That's why the 528 this morning didn't surprise me in the least. *LOL*

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top