5/7 Merlin AMPS 471, PMPS 448

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Member Since 2014
5/7
AMPS 471; 1.4U

Well, I guess all that I can hope for is to be lower than what we were the morning before and we accomplished it. I won't be home till afternoon so I won't be able to get any tests in.
 
Re: 5/7 Merlin AMPS 471

I don't think this is a very encouraging trend, Cindi. Wonder if your vet would be willing to look back at4/25 and 4/27 The numbers were much better and very little bouncing……… Sometimes they really do need less insulin, not more.
 
Re: 5/7 Merlin AMPS 471

I agree, I don't like where it is going too. I am thinking that I probably need a few more days in order to show him this trend/data. If we were to go back to .8 or even 1U, will I need to go back down slowly or just shoot the lower amount? I also think we went up too fast and should have done 1.2 at least.
 
Re: 5/7 Merlin AMPS 471

Just my two cents here too. I've kind of been suspicious that Merlin may be one of those kitties that does better with a flatter cycle, which does seem to be the case.

I'm also wondering if ProZinc may just be a little to harsh and/or not quite acting long enough for him. Since he seems to do better in a flatter range, I'm wondering if one of the L insulins that keeps them flatter with a longer duration might be a better fit.
 
Re: 5/7 Merlin AMPS 471

One of the nice things you can do with ProZinc is to just lower the dose. (Raising the dose is is usually done with small increments)
 
Re: 5/7 Merlin AMPS 471

Good morning! Since you were so nice to stop by and welcome Autumn and I thought I would do the same. Granted I'm a complete newbie with the Ps but if you have any questions about the Ls just ask. I've used both Lantus and Levemir. And always happy to answer any questions about them.

But after many years and several sugarcats I also can tell you that Sue is correct sometimes less is more. Also some cats will spike when a reduction is needed instead of dropping into near hypo range at least on the Ls. My Cassanova is one of those if he's soaring into red and black territory it's time to reduce, don't know if it works the same with the Ps.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/7 Merlin AMPS 471

I thought about the possibility of changing to Lantus too. In fact, I think, either Jen or Sue has mentioned this before as something we may want to look into if we can't get him regulated on Prozinc. I have asked both vets (they are in the same office) that I have been working with about switching to Lantus and one never heard of it and the other one said that it was too expensive. So what I took away with those comments is that this office is purely a Prozinc shop and that they were not familiar with other insulins. I do have another vet that we use for a couple of our other cats and dogs and he uses Lantus. I don't know for sure, but I think his office is more familiar with Lantus than any other insulin. He said that he uses primarily Lantus for his patients. If need be, I would be ok with switching vets, as I have already talked to the Lantus vet about Merlin but I guess I would have to make sure that Lantus would work because if he has to go back to Prozinc, I am not sure what vet to go to. Back to Lantus, I read on other posts that pens seem to be cheaper than the $200 plus vial and the expiration date is better with the pens too.

i have decided that I am going to give Merlin tonight and tomorrow morning. If he gets 400 tonight and tomorrow, then I am going back to the vet tomorrow morning and show him these numbers. I don't want for this to go on much longer, especially with the weekend approaching. Not to mention, I have to leave for Washington DC next Wednesday for five days. My husband is going to take over who has little experience with Merlin's diabetes for those five days.
 
Re: 5/7 Merlin AMPS 471

I know my girl ended up needing much lower insulin. That's the only way I got her out of high numbers. It might be that way for Merlin too...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top