5/7 Leo PMPS 414 Dosing Question - can we go higher?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Good Morning and Happy Saturday!

Well those nice numbers were short lived.

So i came back from work yesterday dog-a$$ tired and set the alarms to test Leo at +5 last night, it was high as usual. Went back to sleep to wake up again at 3:30 to Leo trying to cough up a hairball so i figured might as well test him again. So i didn't get a good sleep, so when the alarm went off at 7 i grabbed all the gear and took out a syringe, when i pulled the plunger the whole thing just fell apart so i grabbed another one and loaded it up, got Leo's breffis ready and grabbed a syringe (the wrong one) and shot Leo, well i pushed the plunger and the plunger was already all the way down, and i was pretty amazed there was no grumbling from him. Then i looked on the table and there was my loaded syringe exactly where i left it......DOH!!! So again i had to poke my pin cushion cat....and got the grumbling i was looking for! The insulin must sting or something when it goes in?

I'm thinking that we missed some nice blue numbers yesterday afternoon during the whole running out of strips business and this is hopefully a bounce i'm seeing again?
 
Re: 5/7 Leo AMPS 358

Gosh Leo...Come only down a level or two will ya.

Evidently the Lantus can sting a bit if its cold or if you have to give a large dose. Sometimes Curry just flinches when I shoot it...don't know exactly why though.....Oh, she's a cat. :lol:

Hope you guys see better numbers.
 
Re: 5/7 Leo AMPS 358, +2 257

Well thanks Tena, good to know my Leo isn't the only one who flinches and grumbles.

Already down 100 points at +2
 
Re: 5/7 Leo AMPS 358, +2 257, +4 148, +5 140

Tena's right....and the less you'll have to give him, probably the less he'll grumble. He's looking very good today. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: on the syringe debacles!!
 
Re: 5/7 Leo AMPS 358, +2 257, +4 148, +5 140

Leo started out higher than Champ, but then went in the right direction and is looking really good!!! Champ, on the other hand, has continued to climb for some unknown reason. Crazy cat!!
 
Re: 5/7 Leo PMPS 414

Question,

After a bounce how long do i have to wait to give Leo another dosecrease? I'm thinking he will eventually need to go up to 2.25 units sometime this coming week.


*SIGH* WHY???
 
Re: 5/7 Leo PMPS 414

Trixie is a flincher, too. Sometimes, she flinches before the needle even touches her! One day last week, she flinched as soon as the needle went in; I lost my grip on the syringe, it went flying ,and skewered the chair she was sitting on. Had to start from scratch after that one. I always know it's going to be a tough injection if her tail is flicking wildly before I even start. Other times, she doesn't have a care in the world. Go figure. Yep, good times all around!

I'm sure someone with more information about the bounce/dosecrease will come along shortly, but it may help to post in your subject line that you have a question.

Can we have a collective Lantus Land "big sigh" now?

Have a great night, guys!

Amy
 
Re: 5/7 Leo PMPS 414 Dosing Question

First, you need to give a dose 3 days for the shed to stabilize. With a bounce, it can take up to 72 hours for it to clear. You don't want to raise a dose until the bounce clears. But, some cats will clear a bounce in one cycle. It all depends on your cat and that particular bounce. There's no "rule" about how long you have to wait.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top