5/7 henry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Very Active Member
Back in the lower 400's this morning, first >400 we've seen in quite awhile. Gave 2U since we just went back down from 2.1 to 2 yesterday for his AM dose.
Raised his PM dose from 1.85U to 1.95U starting last night. hmmm
AMPS @ +10.5 426 2U
 
On 4/24 you got a 400 after a 1.85u dose, so it really could just be one of those fluke - random things. That one spot check you did on 5/3 shows that you are getting a much better response in the evening that you are during the day. I am wondering if your day numbers are in general mini bounces from the evening numbers. Is there anyway you can get a few more spot checks in during the evening before going to bed?
 
Humm is right, I'm hoping that this 426 is a little new dose wonkyness from the tiny increase last night.

Sometimes it doesn't take much of a change for them to react to it.
 
Hmmm. I'd be tempted to go back to lowered dose for the PM shot. Since that 400+ is at +10.5, could be rebound, makes me a little nervous especially since there is so little night-time data. Most cats don't have nighttime data of course, but Henry is our mystery guy at night, so it's guesswork what happened overnight. I'd lower the dose, and then hire someone to stay up and do a nighttime curve one night :lol: . It would be really good I think to see a +6 and a +8/9 or so. You have the early cycle check, so that is good.

Really interesting +4 today. Makes me think the 2u in the AM has been too high and that's why you are getting all those yellows. Higher PS gave him some room to drop so he didn't resist. Just a theory, but I'd try lowering the AM dose a little more. You got about a 70% drop by +4, and you want a 65-70% drop overall, so that suggests to me the dose may be too high. Nice to finally see a blue again though!!!

[ETA I realize that's a totally different theory than I had last week :oops: ]
 
It gets more interesting; his +6 was 70 and +9 was 75.
What should I do? Drop back to 1.85U tonight after raising to 1.95 for one night last night, that is provided he is high enough to shoot tonight.
He will also get his baby aspirin tonight which usually lowers his AMPS and sometimes nadir the day following.
Will try to get in a check tonight at +5 or +6 which will be between 3:30-4:30 a.m. if he is high enough for insulin tonight.
 
It looks like you'll be dropping back on the dose a bit no matter what with those greens today. I hope he doesn't zoom because of it.
 
me too!
I am going to check him at +12 in about 20 min. or so and see where hes at.
We have been shooting at +13.5 so I hope he'll be up to 180 by then so I can give a reduced dose.
I should be able to tell by +12 if he going to get up high enough to give a shot later.
 
Can't wait to see your numbers from last night and this morning, Angela. Henry is really earning the "sugar dance" label - not only is he dancing but he has you dancing all over the place! Just in case, was there anything else different about yesterday while you have it in mind - any different food, more or less excercise? It can be the right dose of insulin or it can be that plus some environmental things.
 
Not that I can tell, he ate usual amounts at about the same time. The only thing that is different that I can see is his walking is slightly improved the last few days and seems to be walking faster.
he was 128 at +14
 
Yay, good #s!!!! Right now my thinking is we have both doses too high. You got an improved AMPS today off of no shot last night, and you got a perfect nadir yesterday off a dose that hasn't worked on pink PSs, but suddenly worked on a red PS, so that makes me think the dose was too high for the pink PSs.

Yesterday's drop was 85% which is way more than you want. I would probably be trying 1.6 for both cycles and see how the #s look, and if the #s are middling go up to 1.8. I know you have tried some of those doses before, but I think it was back when you were shooting 12/12? Could you put a line in your SS where you shifted the timing of the shots, I think that would help us be able to decipher the data a little better, and also it should be there for anyone who looks at the SS but doesn't already know the history.

It's a little hard to tell right now what is variable response and what might be from dose being too high. The good news I think is that there's no sign of liver training being a factor, and no sign of rebound from yesterday, YAY!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top