5/7 ELIAN - amps 466; 371 +5 stressed out but good vet visit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
We have an 'emergency visit' appt. with the vet at 3:00. Today is surgery day for the dr who oversees his diabetes so I will be seeing the other dr I love but who, I feel, is more of a dog vet than a cat vet if that makes any sense. But she is the rehab specialist who recently got my client dog who suffered a stroke and was totally paralyzed walking and running again. So if this IS an injury she's the one to see. But I can hear the cha-chings now since they're booked up and specified this is an emergency visit. :-( I just started paying off Elian's dental from a few weeks ago. Thank goodness for credit cards. Paws crossed its nothing serious ..... and that I can get him into a carrier.

PS he slept beside me the entire night and never left. I got up early and put him on the floor hoping he'd go to the litter box. He jumped back up onto the bed. I placed him in the box as I did last night and he peed immediately. And he growled. But he hasn't pooped. That concerns me. He's eating but didn't drink any water so I put some in his food. He cleaned himself after breakfast and is on his blankie, in the corner of my bedroom. With a sky high 466 amps. Once again I'm a worried mom.

yesterday
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466 :-( Going to vet @ 3:00

Hi Susie. Just wanted to stop by and say hi and let you know that e have you and Elian in our Prayers. We have our fingers crossed that the vet will be able to dx Elain's problem and prescribe a treatment that gets him back to normal. It's unfortunate how much vet care cost. Elain is very fortunate to have you for his mama bean.

Have a good day.
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466 :-( Going to vet @ 3:00

Thank you so much! I'm so lucky to have him, as well. I have four boys but he has always been that one extra special guy!!! He is the love of my life and I will do whatever I have to to keep him healthy. I'm sure you know how that is! Going to print out his recent SS now for the dr to put in her file. :-)
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466 :-( Going to vet @ 3:00

Hi guys ... I'm sorry to read that Elian has a sore leg .. I sure hope the vetty visit makes him feel better, and doesn't break the bank .. though we'd still do whatever was needed for our babies even if it did .. update us when you can ..
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466 :-( Going to vet @ 3:00

Sending a TON of good vetty vines an prayers your way...we'll be watching for an update!
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466 :-( Going to vet @ 3:00

Hi Susie,
I just want to add my prayers and vetty vines for you and Elian. Hopefully, it's something easily diagnosed and easily treated. Poor little guy. It's so hard to see them in pain and not know what to do. I hope you're ok and he's ok soon, soon , soon.
best of luck and take good care.
mary and ollie
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466 :-( Going to vet @ 3:00

Hi, we are also adding vines and prayers for Elian's Vetty visit today. Glad you were able to get him in today and hoping for the best, Keep us posted.
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466 :-( Going to vet @ 3:00

Paws crossed for a good vet visit and answers.
Does your carrier open on the sides, some of them do... and you don't have to use the little door that way... of course, you might need 2 more hands.... :smile:
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466 :-( Going to vet @ 3:00

Thank you SOOOO much everybody. He's got me so confused - he jumped on and off the bed no problem. But growls and hisses at other times. And when I put him in the litter box. He's good about 'pooping' but I haven't seen him go yesterday or today. I'm wondering if that could be a part of the problem? Will have to wait and see what the doc says. He's got a good appetite so that's good, I hope.
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466 :-( Going to vet @ 3:00

I was thinking that too - maybe he is constipated and that is causing the tummy pain. Be sure to tell the vet about it and see if the vet can empty him - maybe he is just full of it?!
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466; 371 +5 stressed out but good vet v

Well the good news is that she couldn't find anything wrong! She manipulated his kegs and back and paws, and checked his tummy - no constipation, nothing broken. So have to assume he jumped down from somewhere and hurt himself. If course the stinker was perfect at doc's office - no limping, growling, hissing or scratching. And he's actually acting okay now that we're home. Time will tell. Will keep an eye. Gave her current spreadsheet since dental for his file - she was happy to see him doing well but said she prefers blues to greens. Says greens are too risky. Will worry about that after E is feeling better. Thanks for all if the positive thought - E and I really appreciate them.
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466; 371 +5 stressed out but good vet v

Lil stinka, no limping at the vet. Truly, glad to hear Elian is feeling better and nothing is broken. That is always a big relief.

she was happy to see him doing well but said she prefers blues to greens. Says greens are too risky.
Huuumh? Too risky is one way to interpret those low numbers. Another way to interpret them is his pancreas is healing and he is angling for another dose reduction.

You certainly test enough to monitor the low numbers.

How do you feel about those lows?
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466; 371 +5 stressed out but good vet v

Glad your visit went well, but it sure would be nice to have the mystery cleared up. If he starts up again, maybe take a video with your phone. And as for your high numbers, Mr E...let's bring those downtown lil man!
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466; 371 +5 stressed out but good vet v

I understood her concern for low numbers since the kitty she was seeing next was brought in last week in a diabetic coma - she had a seizure and chewed her mouth and was a mess. Mom wasn't home to check. So it makes sense in a case like that to be happy with blues. But in our case, I am never away from home for more than a couple if hours at any given time. And when I am chances are good one or both of my daughters is home. Gonna wait to see if his numbers go back to being good once his pain goes away and then she hopes we can reduce again. When I mentioned remission and my hopes for it she said only 1/2 of cats go into remission and most eventually end up back on insulin. Does that sound accurate? Either way I'd like to be the successful 1/2!

Thanks again for the good wishes and yes.... my little stinker acted perfectly normal at his appt! Not one hiss or growl. Of course she gave him a mani/pedi so I guess that put him in a good mood!
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466; 371 +5 stressed out but good vet v

Tara - I tried getting video last night but he wasn't cooperative. Jumped up onto my nightstand/ headboard if my bed with no problem but then started growling. He's been staying in one place pretty much. But that's how he is - not very active. I'm gonna let him rest for another day or so. She says if it doesn't clear up we can X-ray and see if there are signs of arthritis but since it came on so suddenly it seems more like an injury. And this is an office/practice (actually its in a converted home and I LOVE this place - so comfortable as opposed to cold, sterile, traditional offices) that specializes in rehab and they are the two docs who got my client dog walking after a stroke. They truly are knowledgable and miracle workers.
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466; 371 +5 stressed out but good vet v

When I mentioned remission and my hopes for it she said only 1/2 of cats go into remission and most eventually end up back on insulin. Does that sound accurate? Either way I'd like to be the successful 1/2!
Remission rates depend on the type of insulin being used. I thought the University of Queensland studies were saying an 90% remission rate with Lantus and low carb wet food in newly diagnosed cats. Remission usually occurs within the first six months but can take longer. After that, I think fewer cats went into remission.

I don't know what the recidivism rate is.

Check out this slide show from the U of Q. http://www.uq.edu.au/vetschool/content/clinic-stlucia/feline-dm.pdf Yes, this has the 90% I mentioned.
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466; 371 +5 stressed out but good vet v

The 2009 Roomp & Rand journal article gives a 84% remission rate IF tight regulation with Lantus is being followed. I don't know the percentage of cats that fall out of remission since there can be a number of factors that influence remission status. However, there are also cats that go back into remission a second or even a third time.

Deb is correct. A great deal can depend on the insulin and how dosing is being done.

Most vets shy away from numbers under 100 because the majority of caregivers do not home test. Vets are protecting themselves from a cat running in low numbers, becoming hypoglycemic and no one knowing. Vets will also look at "normal" BG as being in a much higher range than what is truly normal.
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466; 371 +5 stressed out but good vet v

glad to hear that nothing was found, frustrating as that can be - at least nothing is broken. My guess is that maybe he sprained or pulled a muscle with whatever he did last night and just takes time to heal and get un-stiff.

regarding the vet liking blue better than green, something else to keep in mind is that we use a safe number of 50, which still gives wiggle room to bring the bg up as needed. so if you are getting greens between 50-100 you are in the greens and he will be doing great!

oh and I know Maui isn't the norm, but next week will mark 4 years that she is in remission! that's gotta mean something - no. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/7 ELIAN - amps 466; 371 +5 stressed out but good vet v

With older cats it's easy for them to jump and sprain something especially if they already have a little arthritis. It sounds like Alex's behavior when he does that and how Jackson acted when he did as well. It should only take a couple of days to heal itself if that's what it is. Glad the vet visit went well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top