5/7 Charlie 446 AMPS, 509 @ +1, 473 @+2

Katy and Charlie

Member Since 2023
Yesterday's post

Another day of high numbers for Charlie Bean. :( Feeling kinda bummed about it. For most of April, there were barely any red numbers. I was so hopeful, but now I feel like we are backtracking.
 
You were racing down the dosing scale to get ahead of the larger depot that was sending him into hypo territory. But that kept him safe. In the process, you probably went too far down in dose. Keeping on the increases when you can will get him into greens again. You might still be seeing some effects of the delayed shot too.

Time for those patience pants.
 
I'm trying to be patient, I know it's hard to tell, but I am trying. :p

What exactly counts as a delayed dose? When he was first diagnosed the vet made it seem like it wasn't the worst to vary by an hour or two. I try to always shoot around 5:30 at the earliest and 6:30 at the latest, giving me an hour window. Do I need to be more strict than that?
 
Yeah, on Sunday he got his shot about three hours late. I didn't think it would be a huge deal but I know that is not the case now! I've been struggling with the thought of never being able to take a vacation again. I don't have family that lives super close and my husband is very skeptical of people we don't know coming into our house while we are gone. We have a vacation planned for July and my dream would be to get Charlie into remission by then so I can go, but I am realizing that is probably a long shot and I'll end up staying home.

I'll work on being more strict about staying in that half-hour window for shooting! Every other Sunday we drive out to our in-laws for dinner. Since I shoot right around dinner time, I am usually late to give him his shot every other Sunday. Probably about 2 hours late. Again, didn't think it was a big deal but now realizing I'm wrong. Do you have any advice on how to handle that? Or should I just follow that link you sent me and give the next shots 15min to 30min early until back on schedule?
 
Shooting later isn't as big a deal, it just mean he might get higher numbers. Shooting earlier is more an issue, especially if he's in lower numbers. It can act like a dose increase, and if he's already at a good dose, it might mean him going low. I had a monthly meeting that meant I had to leave home close to 1 hour before shot time. I just shot earlier for a few days before hand, the just shot 1 hour later the next day. Or if in higher numbers, I'd spread it over 2 days.

Vacations - hopefully you can find someone to help. Often the local vet clinics will have a tech or other staff who is good which giving shots, and willing to stop by twice a day. I'm lucky that I have a petsitter who has given insulin shots before hand. Depending on if the petsitter will test, we might adjust him to a bit lower dose where we know he'll be safe while you are gone. Neko came on a couple trips with us - she did fine hotel camping. We've had people go on an African safari and I had a friend with a diabetic cat go to England for a month with a vet tech coming by. Start doing your research now.
 
sorry Katy that I haven't been around to chime in and offer words of encouragement, I know it is so disheartening to see those reds and blacks again but as Wendy said, the FD dance is a lot of ups and downs and the key is just staying the course. As far as taking vacations it is totally possible and many have done it, don't despair! I am sure Charlie will be back in the blues and greens soon enough. You're doing great.
 
Aw thank you Kyle!:bighug: I've been wondering where you were. You always know just what to say to make me feel likes it's okay and I'm not a total failure.

One day, I'm sure I'll get better at handling the ups and downs. But for now it's emotionally exhausting. But I'll keep on keeping on. Charlie and I can do it!! :joyful:
 
Back
Top