5/7 Champ AMPS 330, PMPS 341, +2 281, +4 245

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Good morning, Everyone!!! I woke up this morning with Champ doing his normal "pillow walk." He walks all over the pillows, patting my head with his paws to wake me up and notice him. :-D When he finally realizes that his mamabean is not going to give him serious head scratching, he finally curled up next to me and waited patiently for the alarm clock...which went off five minutes later. :-D I think Champ has learned how to tell time. He's got this routine of ours down pat. He leads me into the kitchen where I mix up his food, prepare the syringe, and get the BG testing supplies out on the table. He jumps up on the table, knowing that's where he food first appears. He's such a trooper. Doesn't even take his nose out of his bowl for me to test him or shoot him. :lol: I love my kitters. He's the best!! (Don't we all say that?)

I've increase his dose to 3u b.i.d., which is where his original vet had started him out so we've come full circle. His numbers are looking better so I'm hopeful we'll get to his perfect dose soon!!

I hope everyone has a really fantastic Caturday!!! Have some fun, be lazy, catch a nap....I think I'll do all of the above. :-D
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330

Good luck on dosecrease.


Champ is a CHAMP. Allowing you to both test and shoot while he's eating. That's amazing. What a good boy.
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330

Oh another pillow boy Do Lou does that as well gets right up on my pillow and sits and first will purr or meow and then proceed on to pawing me and then pawing me lightly with claws and if all the above mentioned fails he starts to lightly chew on my fingers. Come on down Champ from that pink floor today ok and good luck with his new dose
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330

Patty, Good luck with the increase. I hope Champ takes to it kindly for his bean.
This mornings number is fairly respectable..
Isn't it kind of funny how they do learn our habits.. That was really sweet of him to let you have another 5min before the alarm went off..
Animals are very stoic creatures..letting us do to them what needs to be done (for the most part!).. Their love is unconditional and i wouldn't have them any other way :-D :-D
Have a great day Patty
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330

Morning Patty!! I imagine that is no small thing to have a kitty like Champ walking across your pillow. He sounds like such a love!! Jumping up on the table even!! Good luck with the dosecrease...maybe this will be the amount that will kick in those greens. Don't worry...I'll stay up with you :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hope your weather in LV is as beautiful as ours here in Tucson. Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330

Good Morning Patty and Champ,

Leo and i will have our fingers and paws crossed that this is the right dose to bring him down into some nice greens.

Have a great day in sunny LV! (i'm jealous :roll: )
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330

Good morning, guys! Your morning routine brought a smile to my face. :-D When my Miss Belle was still alive, I'd tell her and Willie that they were the best boy and girl kitties in the world, respectively, so I wouldn't have to play favorites. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, +4 301

I just love how all of you love your kitties as much as I love mine. That makes up superior human beings, in my honest opinion. :lol: :lol: :lol:

And please, please, please...don't anyone envy me the weather here. It's already in the 90's when last week it was in the 60-70's, and the worst is yet to come; when you go outside and you can barely breath because it's like you're in a raging furnace, when the wind is blowing and it feels like a BLAST furnace, sucking every bit of moisture out of your skin, where you set your thermosat in your house to 82 to try to save money, yet the electric bill is still over $300. :lol: :lol: :lol: Marjorie knows of what I speak....Tucson is just as bad if not worse, they just have prettier deserts to look at while they die of heat exposure!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

And I seriously DO NOT understand Champ's +4 number!! :roll: I went back to bed and missed doing a +2 or +3 and settled for the +4, but it should be down much more than this, especially since he didn't eat as much food this morning as we're starting his diet (said in a whisper). We shall see what +6 brings!!
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, +4 301

Perhaps he has NDW. When I raise Gracie's dose, she starts out higher than I'd like but at +4 she's even higher. Yuckus. At least Champ is down some.

Oh girl, I think LV is hotter than Tucson...big time hotter. We're higher in elevation and the nights are really much cooler here. I used to travel out to the Colorado River all the time for work and man was it hot there...fly into Vegas and drive to Bullhead City and Laughlin. Yikes...I roasted!! Phoenix is hot, too. But we are usually about 10 degrees cooler ....it is really hot here if we hit 110 as it usually is more like 105 or so in the summer. And it gets really cool when we get the monsoon rains July-Sept. Supposed to be in the 90s here today but it is durn lovely in the shade!
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, +4 301

I was thinking the same thing, Marje, maybe NDW!! We shall see.

I have to say that I really love Tucson. I lived there as a little kid (my dad was in the Air Force stationed there). I lived there in the late 60's until the early 70's (kindergarten-3rd grade) when it was a small town. My daughter and I drove up ASU for her to audition for the music school there (classical guitar) and that drive was gorgeous!!! Unfortunately, it was too expensive for her to attend :sad: because of the out-of-state fees.

And I want some RAIN!!! We're supposed to get some later in the week...which means we won't get any because that's how Las Vegas rolls.
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, +4 301, +6 337

I am completely perplexed by Champ's numbers. If he's higher than his AMPS at +6, and already at 337, what the heck is his number going to be at PMPS? And he's had only a little bit of chicken breast since +1, so there's been nothing to raise his BG at all. Sometimes he just drives me nuts!
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, +4 301, +6 337, +7.5 306, +10 326

Tell me about trying to understand numbers....i'm in the same boat as you. And i'm dittoing Marjorie's comment, they seem to go higher when we raise the dose, but who knows? They're cats and of course they have to do everything the hard way!

Leo hasn't had a bite to eat since his +6, we had a nap and when we woke up i just picked him up off the bed and put him outside.......no complaints yet. I'm hoping he won't eat now until shot time. At the moment he's trying to catch a snack, sitting in the same spot being ever so quiet so the mousies don't hear him. Every once in awhile he goes down low to the ground and does the little bum wiggle so they must be out there.
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, +4 301, +6 337, +7.5 306, +10 326

Poor Champers isn't allowed outside!! Too many coyotes around who would think he was a snack, kinda like your Leo with the mousies (ewww btw!!) It would be hard for me to kiss my kitters on the mouth again if I knew it had munched on a mouse. blech!!! :lol:
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, +4 301, +6 337, +7.5 306, +10 326

Oh, Patty and Tracy...can I join in in the "Perplexed about numbers" party? Last week, we were seeing nothing but blues and greens from Trix...I thought for sure we were completely done with the pinks and yellows. Yet, all of sudden, that's what we're battling again. Like, you, I'm hoping today's ugliness is NDW...but, at this point, I'm starting to learn there's no real way to figure out why things are the way they are.

At least we're all in this together, right?
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, +4 301, +6 337, +7.5 306, +10 326

414 for the PM BG?!?!?! WTH? After the nice blue afternoon we had together.... :evil:

*Sigh*

And yes we are ALL in this together, at least we have each other to talk to.
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, +4 301, +6 337, PMPS 341

THANK GOODNESS we are all in this together!!! Makes it sooo much easier to bear, for sure.

Something I noticed tonight... like always, I filled the syringe to the required amount and put the cap back on so I could set it down on the table with all the testing stuff and Champ's food. Champ hops up, starts to eat, I test, and then pick up the syringe and decide to check the measurement (I'm always paranoid that I didn't count the lines right on the syringe and I'm going to underdose or overdose the poor cat). Somehow, instead of there being 3u in the syringe, it was at 2.5u. I certainly don't think i touched the plunger when I put the cap back on, but obviously something happened. I just wonder if the same thing happened this morning and I just didn't notice. I'm going to be checking the measurement very carefully from now on, right BEFORE i put the needle in, just to make sure this doesn't happen again. It's a head scratcher!!
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, +4 301, +6 337, PMPS 341

Hi Patty & Champ, I'm a little late today, but just wanted to offer you some of our nice weather: 38 degrees this morning and the day's high was 56. We didn't have rain today(!), so I can't offer you some of that (but I'll fill a few buckets of ice water from our cellar floor and send them to you!).
I think it is NDW for sure. But if you're worried about the cap on the syringe somehow causing you to nudge the plunger, why not simply leave it off. The syringe won't go anywhere if it sits on a paper towel on the counter for a few minutes.
As to NDW, it can take a few cycles to get lower numbers, so don't worry. Some people have found that they don't get any results from a dose increase until the very end of a 6-cycle period. As they say, patience!
Have a great evening, guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, PMPS 341 - QUESTION FOR SIENNE

hi, guys!

binks has mice...but he hides them from the other cats, and keeps them happy in the pantry... :shock:

i still kiss him, though...i used to kiss my mouse, so...
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, PMPS 341 - QUESTION FOR SIENNE

In Champ's condo yesterday, I had posed a question about Champ's SS:

In looking at Champ's spreadsheet, it seems to me that he's trying really hard to work with this dose. I don't know if it's just wishful thinking on my part or not. It looks like he's really trying to hit those blues, but then will spike a red, and then repeat that cycle. Can anyone give me some insight as to what's going on? Also, if there's a dosing expert out there, I've been holding this dose longer than normal because I've been waiting for the bounce to clear, but it seriously looks to me like he's bouncing high right before shot time and then getting back down to good numbers which, in turn, makes him bounce high before his next shot, and then repeating this. Any idea when I should increase or should I just float with this dose until I see a nice gentle curve again, whatever the numbers end up being?

The general concensus was that I had room to increase, which I took to mean to increase to 3u this morning. This has confused me, though I did as instructed. I thought I had to wait 72 hours for a bounce to clear, but I don't know that I did that. His numbers are really weird today after the increase, which I know could just be NDW, but I still am confused about the instructions to increase the dose before what I considered to be 72 hours after a bounce. These numbers still have the power to perplex me!!! Any insight you have would be great.
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, PMPS 341 - ??? FOR SIENNE OR ANYONE

hi patty, new dose wonkiness for sure! patience little grasshopper! i leave the cap off when i set it down, just prop it so the needle doesn't touch anything.
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, PMPS 341 - ??? FOR SIENNE OR ANYONE

Julie!!!! You've been gone all day. We've missed you and Punkin SO MUCH!!!
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, PMPS 341 - ??? FOR SIENNE OR ANYONE

A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear. You don't have to wait 72 hours after a bounce; you just have to wait until it clears. Basically, it should take less and less time for a bounce to clear as a cat gets more and more used to being in lower numbers.
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, PMPS 341 - ??? FOR SIENNE OR ANYONE

Hi Patty - wow - is Champ ever on a flat pink curve. Adjusting to the new dose no doubt. I hope he some down soon for you - I bet he does.

and to add to the weather commentary, vegas is a furnace - a blast furnace. My hat goes off to you to be able to deal with that kind of heat. we on the other hand.... 40 this morning, 58 my 4PM, with sunny skies, and threats in the distance of another storm brewing. We all think we will die from heat stroke when we hit 80. :lol: :lol: :lol:

have a great night guys. I hope Champ settles into his new dose soon.
 
Re: 5/7 Champ AMPS 330, PMPS 341,

Thanks for the quick response Sienne. :-D Unfortunately, I'm still questioning my ability to understand when the bounce has cleared. I wish this FD game was like Monopoly with a set of rules printed on the box to reference whenever need be. :lol: I will have you know, though, that I didn't have one moment of panic with today's numbers. That, in itself, is an accomplishment :-D

Michelle, I've lived here for over 30 years so I've always been very used to the heat. As I get older, though, I find I have a terrible time adjusting and I've grown to hate it!! I used to play softball, on three different teams, every day in the summer and it never bothered me; I would barely break a sweat. I played tennis all the time and the heat never bothered me. I have to say, though, I would rather have the heat than any humidity. If I'm not mistaken, you have humidity in Washington. I went back east to Pennsylvania to visit some relatives in August one year and literally thought I was going to die. You're never dry!!! It was in the 90's with humidity in the 90's!!!! I mean, who would live in a place that has weather like that? :lol: :lol: We might get the 115 degree days, but the humidity at that time is usually like 7 percent. I can handle that!! :lol:
 
Hi, Patty you night owl you - I want a Monopoly board of instructions too!

Your description of his pillow walk is adorable.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top