5/7 AMPS 132, 1u, +2 192, +7 90 / PMPS 106, 1u, +2 44, +4 36

hmskelton

Member Since 2022
We have made a successful transition to LC wet food (see SS for numbers) - why did she crash so hard tonight? No symptoms but monitoring closely. Gave some honey as we don’t have any HC wet food but not having much luck as of yet to bring her back up.

What would be considered emergent to take her in?

Would it be advisable to ask vet to decrease PM Lantus? We are currently doing 1u

Thank you for your help!
 
Here is a graph for the day

upload_2022-5-8_0-21-46.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-8_0-21-46.jpeg
    upload_2022-5-8_0-21-46.jpeg
    22.3 KB · Views: 68
Did you get a 44 at +2 and wait 2 hours to test again? :confused:
When you get a number below 50, you feed HC (or LC with honey if you don't have HC) and test in 20 mins. Rinse and repeat till she is safely over 50. As long as she doesn't have symptoms, you don't have to take her in but you want to feed higher carbs and test every 20 mins.

The food transition takes a few days to fully reflect in the numbers.
 
Did you get a 44 at +2 and wait 2 hours to test again? :confused:
When you get a number below 50, you feed HC (or LC with honey if you don't have HC) and test in 20 mins. Rinse and repeat till she is safely over 50. As long as she doesn't have symptoms, you don't have to take her in but you want to feed higher carbs and test every 20 mins.

The food transition takes a few days to fully reflect in the numbers.

We have a Freestyle Libre so we have been scanning frequently, I just don’t have them all in the chart. We were gone for awhile so we didn’t check the numbers until we got home, and I entered a few from her graph. I am wondering if there is a possibility that 1u is too much with the LC food and we should ask the vet about decreasing.
 
Did you get a 44 at +2 and wait 2 hours to test again? :confused:
When you get a number below 50, you feed HC (or LC with honey if you don't have HC) and test in 20 mins. Rinse and repeat till she is safely over 50. As long as she doesn't have symptoms, you don't have to take her in but you want to feed higher carbs and test every 20 mins.

The food transition takes a few days to fully reflect in the numbers.
Also thank you again for setting up the chart for me. It’s been so helpful and the vet loves it too.
 
Could you make a note in the SS comments for the day you started the transition and on the day she was fully transitioned to LC wet food?

I am wondering if there is a possibility that 1u is too much with the LC food and we should ask the vet about decreasing.
Yes, 1U is indeed too much after the transition and she has earned a reduction tonight. You could try 0.75U from tomorrow. It's possible she may need even less. Time will tell. Are you following one of our dosing methods or are you being guided by your vet? If it's the latter, could you please mention that in your Signature. "Dosing per vet advice" or something like that? Thanks!
 
Back
Top