5/6 Rocky PMPS 430 +2 364 +5 315 +9 337

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118291&p=1239351#p1239351

Decided to test Rocky at 4am (PMPS +7) and it's a good thing that I did.. His BG is still going down, even after feeding him (3) measured teaspoons of MC Friskies Country Classic with (2) measured smidgens of Karo syrup. I wasn't going to test again until PMPS +9, but I was too worried and I couldn't sleep. I want to be able to give him his shot at AMPS 5/6...

I have a feeling that I may have given Rocky a shot last night that could have been one too many drops. What a bummer. I haven't bought calipers yet.

I will try to do a better at measuring the dose this morning.

I don't know what to do with him.. 1.0u isn't enough insulin and (f)1.0u seems too much.

Crying.. so frustrated. Just want him to be all better now. :cry:

Should I just stick with the (f)1.0u and feed Rocky a higher carb food, perhaps MC, for a few days depending on his BG, so that I can keep his numbers in blue and green? confused_cat

I do not want to bring his dose back down to .75u again.. It was not enough insulin for him. I wouldn't know how to give a (f).75u.
 
Re: Shot advise 5/6 Rocky-->5/5 PMPS +7 92 +8 75 dropping☟

Actually, those PMPS #s are a very good thing, and you should be very proud that the TRP is working. The key is to get the #s in as many greens as possible, but do it slowly. Since you've already raised his dose to 1.0f 3 cycles ago, I would hold it for a bit longer, and then if nothing has changed, ask for dose advice again. You're going to experience a bit of bouncing that could last up to 72 hours due to the recent dose adjustment. That's frustratingly normal. Plus, he may be bouncing from the extra carbs that you gave him, as well. Some cats are carb sensitive, whereas others aren't. Another experiment to try later on is perhaps switching his food schedule a bit to see if it may help bring his #s down. Some cats do better with less feeding times, whereas others work better with more mini meals throughout the day. Feline diabetes is an experiment overall. Eventually, it'll work out. Just need to continually have patience, that's all.

Hang in there! You're both doing a great job! :-D
 
Re: Shot advise 5/6 Rocky->5/5 PMPS +7 92 +8 75 +9 105

I think that if I had not given him the MC with Karo in it during those overnight hours that he would not have surfed green. Instead, I believe that Rocky would have gone to under 50 before his AMPS shot time. I'm not going to feed him any more MC or Karo now for 2 hours to see what happens. I sure hope he doesn't go down, again.

When Rocky and I started with the Tight Regulation Protocol I used to feed him 2x per day, but we were getting no where with that schedule. Then, I changed that up and started feeding him 8 mini-meals per day, 4 during the AM cycle and 4 during his PM cycle.

It was only upon this most recent dosecrease of back up to (f)1.0u, again, that his numbers are into the blues and greens, again. This dose was too much for him just 5 days ago, but he might have had quiet a large depot when that happened last time.

I am worried that a (f)1.0u is too much for him and that 1.0u is not enough, IF the goal is to keep Rocky in blue and green numbers. Has this ever happened to anyone else? confused_cat
 
Re: Shot advise 5/6 Rocky->5/5 PMPS +7 92 +8 75 +9 105

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but I do understand your frustration .. just know that we've all been there and understand and feel for you .. things will get better! Have a great day!
 
Re: Shot advise 5/6 Rocky AMPS 91

Thank you Devon, I appreciate the words of encouragement. I was so tired at 4am this morning. Of course, blue and green numbers are wonderful to see but not when you know that it means your cat is setting up for a dive! nailbite_smile

I just gave him his morning shot, even though his BG has come down before AMPS, again. :YMSIGH:

I think I'm just going to end up feeding Rocky a can of the MC today, at least until I know he can surf.
 
Re: Shot advise 5/6 Rocky AMPS 91

It's best to try feeding LC first. That late in the cycle, it's unlikely that numbers will plummet. It can happen, but it's unlikely. I really think you need to start thinking about Rocky and low numbers so you can get more comfortable with him surfing in those ranges.
 
Re: Shot advise 5/6 Rocky AMPS 91

I think she just shot, and it's AMPS now. I may be wrong.
 
Re: Shot advise 5/6 Rocky AMPS 91 +1 116 +3 358

Yes, I shot the 91.. but his BG had come down again after feeding him MC and Karo 2x in his overnight cycle. When I saw the 75 AFTER I had fed him (1)tsp of MC w/ (1) smidgen Karo at PMPS +8, I believe his BG just would have kept going down and I would not have been able to shoot at AMPS.

I have shot lower numbers before, but I don't want to lose the momentum that he is starting with right now on this increased dose. I don't want to have to reduce him back down after those other doses did not work. That is why I started feeding the MC so that I can keep him at the increased dose. :YMPEACE:

If the (f)1.0u turns out to be too much for him can I just reduce him to 1.0u instead of .75u??

I was so tired that I slept through my alarm at AMPS +2.. so he missed that meal and I fed him at AMPS +3.

I need to go and buy some HC food today.. I think I remember that anything about 10% carbs is considered HC? confused_cat Thank you!
 
Re: PLS WHAT % LC, MC, HC? Food shopping

Thank you Sienna! I was thinking that anything above 10% was HC so good that I checked. ;-)
 
Re: 5/6 Rocky AMPS 91 +1 116 +3 358 +6 528 +9 431

i was using a 16% for high carb with punkin and someone with more experience told me she used something like 24%. you may find that there is a big difference in how much volume of gravy it takes to pull him up with the different percentages, ie, that it takes less of a 20%+ gravy than it does of a 15%.

oh gosh. i see that black number on his ss. yikes. i know how you feel about him being high.

i think Rocky is a good candidate for the calipers. am i remembering right that you're using Relion syringes? They have a much wider diameter of barrel and are definitely more difficult to measure small dose changes with. The terumos have a very narrow barrel, which means the markings are farther apart than a syringe with a wide barrel, making it easier to change the dose. You might consider switching to them. I registered at http://www.mrrebates.com first, then go through them to http://www.americandiabeteswhole.com and then these are the syringes i used: http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com/product/terumo-thinpro-insulin-syringe_5891.htm. As sensitive as Rocky is to these slight dose changes, it seems like focusing on getting his dose as consistent as possible would be a good strategy.

That's the best suggestion i can make about his dosing issues.
 
Re: 5/6 Rocky PMPS 430

Thank you Julie for all of the information that you shared. I really need it!

I do think I need to invest in calipers considering how sensitive Rocky is to tiny increments of insulin.

That's good to point out to me about the HC food too because I had not thought about that..I have to feed him more to bring him up when he is down when I use an MC food. That means more calories and a bigger Rocky! :?

Thank you for the information about the syringes and Mr. Rebate. I believe i am going to need to check that out. :YMPEACE:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top