5/6 New to group Oreo amps 390 +3 198

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robbie & Oreo

Member Since 2018
Hi all, we are Robbie and Oreo. Oreo was dx in March 2018. Currently on Lantus 1u. Also has had CKD for 3+ years. Working on setting up a spreadsheet but not done yet. Quick question...Oreo is running between 350-400 at both amps and pmps. If I never did spot checks, I'd think she's always high. Did a curve yesterday and she was 93 at +6 and 99 at +8. Missed the +10 and then back up to almost 400 pmps. Eating FF wet food and occasionally nibbles on purina dm dry. Based on nadir, seems like we're on the right dosage? Not liking how she jumps back up at shot time but maybe that will level out with time?
 
Welcome. Glad you are getting some spot checks. She definitely likes to bounce back up. It might take some time for her to get used to the lower numbers. Right now her body is panicking when she hits lower numbers than she is used to. But I wonder if it is possible that she is dropping even lower. If possible, take a day and check every 2 hours just to make sure. She could be going lower in the first 6 hours of the cycle. Maybe you did this with your curve yesterday, but I wasn’t sure if you did any checks before +6.
 
Welcome! With both DM and CKD in the picture, you would be better off to move exclusively to wet food. FF can have high phos, so you might want to re-eval diet overall.

Sounds like you have seen the value in home testing. That will really help both you and Oreo!
 
Welcome! I have a kitty who loves to bounce like that too. You're in the right place to get help with that.

I agree on the diet recommendation made by @Carol in Chicago. Too much phosphorus in Fancy Feast for our CKD kitties.
 
Welcome. Glad you are getting some spot checks. She definitely likes to bounce back up. It might take some time for her to get used to the lower numbers. Right now her body is panicking when she hits lower numbers than she is used to. But I wonder if it is possible that she is dropping even lower. If possible, take a day and check every 2 hours just to make sure. She could be going lower in the first 6 hours of the cycle. Maybe you did this with your curve yesterday, but I wasn’t sure if you did any checks before +6.
I am doing checks every 2 hours today so maybe that will shed some light on things!
 
Welcome Robbie and Oreo! :bighug:

Mine has CKD and diabetes as well. We feed a commercial raw food (RadCat). Lizzie does have a great list. You’re basically looking for low carb and low phosphorous, not such an easy combination to come by, but that’s why people have taken the time to make lists. If you cut out the dry food, you also may find a little more predictability in the numbers, as well as it being more supportive to feed wet for CKD cats because they need more water.
 
Welcome. Glad you are getting some spot checks. She definitely likes to bounce back up. It might take some time for her to get used to the lower numbers. Right now her body is panicking when she hits lower numbers than she is used to. But I wonder if it is possible that she is dropping even lower. If possible, take a day and check every 2 hours just to make sure. She could be going lower in the first 6 hours of the cycle. Maybe you did this with your curve yesterday, but I wasn’t sure if you did any checks before +6.
 
Welcome. Glad you are getting some spot checks. She definitely likes to bounce back up. It might take some time for her to get used to the lower numbers. Right now her body is panicking when she hits lower numbers than she is used to. But I wonder if it is possible that she is dropping even lower. If possible, take a day and check every 2 hours just to make sure. She could be going lower in the first 6 hours of the cycle. Maybe you did this with your curve yesterday, but I wasn’t sure if you did any checks before +6.
 
Welcome to the group!

Do you happen to know what Stage of CKD Oreo is at? The protein content of food can make a difference. If Oreo is at Stage 2, then you want a high protein, lower phos, low carb food. Take a look at Weruva Steak Frites, and Tiki Cat (Puka Puka Luau, Koolina Luau, and Mañana Grill). These are shreds, not pate style foods.

If Oreo's kidney disease is more advances, you can talk to your vet about using a phosphorus binder. If you add binder to every meal, you don't need to be concerned about the phos in the food.

If you're not already familiar with Tanya's Site, it's what amounts to the bible for CKD kitties.
 
Welcome to the group!

Do you happen to know what Stage of CKD Oreo is at? The protein content of food can make a difference. If Oreo is at Stage 2, then you want a high protein, lower phos, low carb food. Take a look at Weruva Steak Frites, and Tiki Cat (Puka Puka Luau, Koolina Luau, and Mañana Grill). These are shreds, not pate style foods.

If Oreo's kidney disease is more advances, you can talk to your vet about using a phosphorus binder. If you add binder to every meal, you don't need to be concerned about the phos in the food.

If you're not already familiar with Tanya's Site, it's what amounts to the bible for CKD kitties.
She is more advanced. Stage 3. In fact her creatinine was so off the charts a while back that I thought we were losing her. With aggressive sub q fluids, her levels are much better now. At that time the vet said feed her whatever she will eat because she was hardly eating. I will ask him about the phosphorus binder.
 
Hi and welcome to the group.

One good test to get each cycle is a +2 . If that number is the same or lower than the pre shot number, it could indicate that the cycle is going to be active. Then you could give a bit of Low Carb (LC) food to help slow her down some.

Congrats on the reduction tonight. As soon as you get your Spreadsheet (SS) up and going it will be easier for the peeps here to help you with dosing questions. Glad you found this group and keep asking questions as that is how we all learned. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top