5/6 MISSY pmps 176, +3 56, +4 45, +5 103 need advice on dosing

DanaB

Member Since 2020
last week post

She is at 0.25 unit dose. She rarely has green numbers preshot.... yet she drops low. I understand this might all be bouncing. I never have thought she would be on such a low dose.....or go into remission. When i look at other kitties spreadsheets i find them to be a little more consistent with the numbers (colours).
Is there a chance she is a rare case that might do well on a once a day dose?... or different doses am and pm?
I guess im confused and not sure how to make sense of her numbers.

*Tonight i know i will have to give her a bit of medium carb to keep her above 50. Planning to keep her at this dose until below 50 3 times or below 40 once as per TR for long term diabetic.
..... unless advised otherwise.
 
Last edited:
Hi :bighug: Sorry no one has responded earlier. I'm not sure about different doses for lantus...since it's a depot insulin, it's best for consistent doses. Perhaps someone with more experience may be by to advise there.

I was in the New to the Group sticky (bc it's so full of info) and saw this link about "Pogo Stick Cat" :joyful: - seriously though it's quite an interesting exchange; I personally found post #12 very insightful. Have you read through the Using Food to Manipulate the Curve discussion too? It's a good one too.
 
Thank you... yes I do use food to manipulate a bit. She is actually pretty sensitive to carbs so I usually use 1-2% in the beginning of her cycle and 3% for the middle if she is dropping ok. Or 5% wet or 4% dr elseys if she is dropping to fast ususlly bumps her up a bit when she is too low. Last night she dropped fast and early in the cycle so then I give 10-16%.
 
Hi :bighug: Sorry no one has responded earlier. I'm not sure about different doses for lantus...since it's a depot insulin, it's best for consistent doses. Perhaps someone with more experience may be by to advise there.

I was in the New to the Group sticky (bc it's so full of info) and saw this link about "Pogo Stick Cat" :joyful: - seriously though it's quite an interesting exchange; I personally found post #12 very insightful. Have you read through the Using Food to Manipulate the Curve discussion too? It's a good one too.
I've read most of the info a few times...but not sure about the Pogo stick cat. I'm going look now. Thank you.
 
I've read most of the info a few times...but not sure about the Pogo stick cat. I'm going look now. Thank you.

Hmmm... this is interesting. Missy is a long term diabetic and hasn't had any hypo symptoms since the first week....( pre testing days). She rarely hits high numbers and has never had DKA or a UTI. So maybe she is a good candidate to be on a sightly low dose. Although now we are at 0.25 which is pretty low.
 
Hmmm... this is interesting. Missy is a long term diabetic and hasn't had any hypo symptoms since the first week....( pre testing days). She rarely hits high numbers and has never had DKA or a UTI. So maybe she is a good candidate to be on a sightly low dose. Although now we are at 0.25 which is pretty low.
I can't advise on dosing but the thread - which apparently I didn't link right (sorry! but clearly you found it - correct link here) - says that generally the answer to lowering a dose is "no" - see post #15, it lists an exception of being if the cat is overdosed (which IMHO Missy isn't). Again, I don't advise on dosing but I love numbers and reading :p
 
I can't advise on dosing but the thread - which apparently I didn't link right (sorry! but clearly you found it - correct link here) - says that generally the answer to lowering a dose is "no" - see post #15, it lists an exception of being if the cat is overdosed (which IMHO Missy isn't). Again, I don't advise on dosing but I love numbers and reading :p
I appreicate you looking at my sheet and giving even a 'non expert' opinion and more info to read. I do wonder if she is kinda being overdosed.... or was. I questioned that in my previous thread because she was curving up...at her +3 she was higher then at dose time. I noticed a trend that once she did that a couple of times then on day 5-6 of a new dose she would suddenly drop. So today i believe she is coming out of her bounce again and im hoping she will settle in this dose (for at least a week - but probably not because she rarely settles). But really i feel like there is a good chance she will drop again tonight or tomorrow am.
 
Back
Top