5/6 Miss Meows AMPS 232, +6 85, +6.5 77, PMPS 302

Status
Not open for further replies.

missMeows

Member Since 2015
OMG! She's GREEN! YAY!

Yesterday

But this may or may not be her nadir, it's been switching lately. Should I have fiance give her carbs before he leaves in a half hour???

Boy am I glad I didn't up her dose this morning :)

FYI - This is our high carb food. It's 20%
 
Last edited:
Yay! Green!!!!

Can he get an out the door test in half an hour? See if she's decided to surf or still dropping. I'd lean towards giving her some of her normal low carb food and letting her surf unless she looks to be continuing to drop.
 
He has to call me back. If she is still dropping, should I have him give her the high carb now? Or put some in the auto feeder and set it for an hour or two?
 
I'd feed her something now no matter what. Either the HC if you are going to do it, or some LC. The concept behind feeding LC is it usually flattens out the drop and pushes them in to surfing where they are instead of pushing them up like HC would. If she is still dropping, then safety first and he can give her some HC to push her out of the drop.
 
If she is still dropping, should I have him give her the high carb now? Or put some in the auto feeder and set it for an hour or two?
Yes and yes.
No one will be monitoring her this afternoon. There's enough data to suggest she *could* easily reach the lowest point of the cycle around +8.
Always err on the side of caution.
 
Hopefully fiance was able to get her set up and wasn't too late out the door! Good catch and nice work that insulin missMeows, just a little slower when no one will be around to keep an eye on you.
 
Hopefully fiance was able to get her set up and wasn't too late out the door! Good catch and nice work that insulin missMeows, just a little slower when no one will be around to keep an eye on you.
Yeah, I hope he doesn't have to rush to work now... he should make it on time though. I'm making him call so I know he got there safe/on time :)
 
Don't be surprised if her numbers are high when you get home.
She'll definitely bounce from that green... it's just a matter of when, but don't let it bother you. She'll come back down.
 
Don't be surprised if her numbers are high when you get home.
I don't think I'll be too surprised because of all the carb-y food we're giving her while we are away, but it didn't occur to me that a bounce might happen from this, so thank you for letting me know :)

What do I do now about her doses though? Since this was her first green, do I wait 10 cycles starting from today before upping the dose? Or do I up it Friday as that would be 10 cycles since her last increase? Should I even up her dose if I won't be home? That sounds tricky...
 
What do I do now about her doses though? Since this was her first green, do I wait 10 cycles starting from today before upping the dose? Or do I up it Friday as that would be 10 cycles since her last increase? Should I even up her dose if I won't be home? That sounds tricky...
You'll want to stick with the same 2.25u dose until Miss Meows "earns" a reduction by dropping below 50... that is, if you still want to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol. We don't know if she would have dropped lower today. However, we do know this dose was able to drop her to at least 77 before intervention became necessary because of not being home to monitor. The only reason HC was suggested was to keep her safe while you were at work. It's always a good idea to monitor closely the first few times any kitty dips their paws into greens.

At this point (this could/will change), forget about increasing the dose.

Now your job is to find out (monitor and watch) how low this dose can actually take Angel/Miss Meows.
Stick with the same dose unless anything unusual/different happens. Post for advice if you need it.
Let's see what happens next...
  • she may bounce for the next few days
  • she could earn a reduction tonight or some time soon by dropping below 50
  • she could "get stuck" on this dose (requiring a little more insulin to get her moving in the right direction again)
Once kitty decides to drop into lower numbers, I like to remind members to make sure they're well stocked with test strips and HC because you don't want to run out when you need them most.

BTW, I did look up the Grandma's Chicken Soup – With Chicken and Pumpkin you're using for HC. Looks like it 21% carbs according to Dr. Lisa's food charts. That should work just fine. You might even be able to get away with using something around 15% carbs for HC. It all depends how carb sensitive Miss Meows is. Although, some stock up on foods with 15% carbs as well as foods with 20% - 25% carbs. ECID (Every Cat Is Different).


If you have any questions, just ask. I'm working late tonight, but there are plenty of members who can answer your questions.


jojo and bunny's Hypo Tool Box
 
Last edited:
Fabulous! I'm very glad that you didn't increase and that she made it to green.

It's worth making a mental note that at least these past 2 dose increases it has taken her 7-8 cycles to show what it can do for her. You may want to remember that for the next time you are evaluating whether or not to increase her dose.
 
It's worth making a mental note that at least these past 2 dose increases it has taken her 7-8 cycles to show what it can do for her.
See, I wasn't sure if that was just me taking too long to do the increases or if it really was the amount of time needed to see what the dose could do. Thank you for helping me see that :)

You'll want to stick with the same 2.25u dose until Miss Meows "earns" a reduction by dropping below 50... that is, if you still want to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol. We don't know if she would have dropped lower today. However, we do know this dose was able to drop her to at least 77 before intervention became necessary because of not being home to monitor. The only reason HC was suggested was to keep her safe while you were at work. It's always a good idea to monitor closely the first few times any kitty dips their paws into greens.

At this point (this could/will change), forget about increasing the dose.

Now your job is to find out (monitor and watch) how low this dose can actually take Angel/Miss Meows.
Stick with the same dose unless anything unusual/different happens. Post for advice if you need it.
Let's see what happens next...
  • she may bounce for the next few days
  • she could earn a reduction tonight or some time soon by dropping below 50
  • she could "get stuck" on this dose (requiring a little more insulin to get her moving in the right direction again)
Once kitty decides to drop into lower numbers, I like to remind members to make sure they're well stocked with test strips and HC because you don't want to run out when you need them most.

BTW, I did look up the Grandma's Chicken Soup – With Chicken and Pumpkin you're using for HC. Looks like it 21% carbs according to Dr. Lisa's food charts. That should work just fine. You might even be able to get away with using something around 15% carbs for HC. It all depends how carb sensitive Miss Meows is. Although, some stock up on foods with 15% carbs as well as foods with 20% - 25% carbs. ECID (Every Cat Is Different).


If you have any questions, just ask. I'm working late tonight, but there are plenty of members who can answer your questions.
This is perfect information and I thank you for taking the time to write it out! It makes me feel much better knowing that I can now take a step back and monitor and see how it goes. Gives me time to get used to the idea of greens, since I was just starting to get comfortable with yellows!
 
I'm usually in bed after her +4, but I'm up tonight cause fiance got home late. We are testing again in a few minutes for a +6. I'm thinking as long as we are blue, we should be ok for tonight. Will know in a few though :)
 
233! My little bouncer :)

Good news is that fiance is home all day tomorrow to monitor her so if she's goes green again, he can test all day and we won't have to HC her :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top