5/6 Max PMPS:299 +2 196 +4.5 88 5/7 AMPS:446

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, how are those PM numbers :-D best range yet. But I'm still not understanding what makes them go high and what makes them go low. Hubby said he was 299 in the PM because he was so hungry and needed food.... I'm not so sure, surely the Lantus eventually starts to lower the numbers everything being equal.....also why is he getting reasonable pre shot numbers in the PM, but high red numbers in the AM? What could be doing this? He is off kibble completely, I feed them LC FF before going to bed at about 10pm, is this it?....What is a bounce? I'm still not sure what I can do or not do to try and help his numbers.

Then....just as I'm trying to keep him stable.....fur shot this AM 7/6

We are doing a proper curve tomorrow (yay), really looking forward to seeing what his daytime number are. (hope the fur shot hasn't spoiled this)
 
Re: 5/6 Max PMPS:299 +2 196 +4.5 88 7/6 AMPS:446

Great PM numbers! I'm sure someone will come along with a better explanation than I can give you, but here's what I know.

For some reason, amps numbers are usually higher than pmps numbers. My guess is because kitty has been sleeping and not up moving around and burning off some sugars.

A bounce is what happens when the kitty's system freaks out that the bg has dropped low. For some kitties anything in the green range will cause them to bounce, or a significant drop in a short amount of time will do it too. The liver releases a bunch of glucose (I think?) causing the higher numbers. Kitties that end up going OTJ will settle out of the bouncing game with time. My Max never really seemed to bounce, tho at the beginning we had no idea what was going on with his numbers as they were all over the map. Also, for some kitties, it can take up to two days for a bounce to clear out of their system...meaning one day they'll drop to say 60, then they'll ride up in the blues or yellows for two days before their numbers settle down again. Only time and a lot more tests will tell you what your kitty will do--every cat is very different when it comes to this. The lows and how Max reacts to them will help dictate what his correct dose is. For now, just try to hold the dose steady until you have more info. WIth a drop into the 80s, a reduction could be in your near future--especially because he bounced back to the 400s after having that drop. Again, tho, I am definitely NOT an expert when it comes to dosing. I muddled my way through the best I knew how for my Max. When you're ready to evaluate dosing, put something about "dosing help needed" in your subject line to attract those who really know what they're doing.

And don't sweat the fur shot--it happens to everyone at least once! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/6 Max PMPS:299 +2 196 +4.5 88 7/6 AMPS:446

Actually, the explanation for higher AM numbers is due to what is called dawn phenomenon. Cortisol, a normally occurring hormone, is released in the early AM to help prepare the body for the stress of the day.

I also suspect that if you were able to get some spot checks during the day, you would see some lower numbers at mid-cycle. You are catching these at night. What's happening, as Mindy noted, is that Max then bounces due to his liver panicking from not being used to these lower, normal BG numbers. The liver releases a form of glucose along with counter-regulatory hormones in an effort to "save" Max from what it erroneously interprets as a too low BG level. It can take up to 72 hours for those counter-regulatory hormones to clear. The good news is that his liver works. The bad news is that his numbers hit high numbers.

Question: What do you mean by 7/6?
 
Re: 5/6 Max PMPS:299 +2 196 +4.5 88 7/6 AMPS:446

I won't repeat or add to what has already been said because it's all good stuff and the point is not to overwhelm you in 1 day!

I would like however to welcome you to Lantus land because I don't think I've visited this condo before. Also I would like to congratulate you on remove all dry food from Max's diet.... that's definitely a giant step in the right direction.

Make sure you have a few cans of high carb food at home on hand. I tend to get the Fancy Feast of the grilled variety but you can consult Janet and Binky's list and pick any wet food that's high in carb. I keep mine aside and mark them with a sharpie pen.

Again, welcome!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top