5/6 Latte AMPS~323, PMPS-430, +2.5-323

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Last Night:
PMPS~247
+4.5~135
+5.5~144
+6.5~131
AMPS~323 (bcs of 1.5u)
*practically no food on PM cycle

The mess...
Latte vomited white foam before the alarm so I got up with her. Offered food before test/shoot to see how she may feel about eating. She actually ate some (whew!). Gave her pred shortly after and she vomited food and meds immediately. Tested. Vomited again! It's pretty hard to shoot a cat who wont stop vomiting, so we were late. Then I had to figure out what to shoot. Unbelievable high numbers lately...need insulin. Vomiting and little food in last 24hrs, gone all day, may not eat, no pred in cycle?! Ack! I just could not shoot full dose. I went with 1.5 because...high numbers, she has tolerated 1.5 in a.m. cycle w/ no pred in past. Now the question is....can and will she eat today, I gave ondansetron. Will do pepcid soon. Could try cerenia IF she will keep it down. May be able to throw in appy stim on the way out the door. Then it is all up to the hands of the kitty gods.

I cant reduce her pred tonight if she did not get it in her this a.m. Its a drug you have to taper. I guess she started the tapering this a.m. at her own will. I will try and talk with her vet today and see what he thinks. We may want to wait until she finishes a/b's before cutting back on the pred.

I dont know if what I did was right. Too much insulin, too little?

Poor thing has vomit all over her paws and nose. She is hiding under the piano. I so wish I could be home with her today. Even if she is not social, I know she loves having me near her. ..and I cant be.
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

Poor Latte sending more and more healing and get better vines her way I know you are trying your hardest for her :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

awww poor kitty! I don't have any advice on the meds, but I hope that latte starts feeling better for you soon. It's no fun to see our kitties sick.
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

carolyn (((hugs))) - you know you did the right thing - you are working with what you have, the knowledge you have - and it will be ok. You do a great job in managine Latte.
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

Oh Sweetie....wish I cold say or do something to make things all better...here is your link to your condo from yesterday...
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13724

Hope that Latte will eat while you are gone....sending lots of hugs to you both! (((((Carolyn & Latte)))))
Hope the day speeds by for you~I know you hate to be away from her.....
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

Oh Carolyn and Latte. I'm so sorry to hear Latte is so sick. I hope the Vet can offer some help. I just read her profile and what a survivor! Lots of hugs and healing vibes.
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

Well that was not what I was hoping to read this am.... Poor Princess. Not good when your tummy's all off kilter.

All things considered, I don't think you did the wrong thing IMO. With so many variables and you not being home much today or tonight, I'd have done the same.

Hope she's feeling spunkier by the time you get home tonight. Feel better sweet, Latte! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

+2-267

I gave fluids early. Afterwards she ate a little wet and walked around sniffing schtuff. There was 1/4 of the pred treat I did not even offer her because she vomited while eating the other pieces. I just gave it to her a bit ago. Its something, I guess.

The good news is *knock on wood* her bounces are becoming shorter. And, if the 300's she had this a.m. was a bounce, than they are maybe getting less extreme???
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

Dear Carolyn, You are handling everything just fine. We hope Latte will begin to feel better this morning and that by the time you return from work she will be able to present her happier face. Sending all good thoughts your way.

Ella & Stu
p.s. Good news about the bounce.
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

(((((Latte & Carolyn))))) Poor baby. I am sending healing vines and snowflakes your way.
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

(((Carolyn))) I'm sorry you can't be with her today. I hope she sleeps quietly while you are gone, and feels better tonight. (((Latte))).
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS(+12.5)~323 What a mess!

Hi Carolyn - I too am sorry that you can't be with her today, but believe that she knows that you want to be. The poor girl - I hope things settle for her some. Try not to worry - you are doing just fine. Positive thoughts sent your way from Michelle and Mannie.
 
Re: 5/6 Latte AMPS~323, PMPS-430

AMPS(+12.5)-323 multiple vomiting episodes before/after shot, pred vomited, BCS-1.5u
+1-297
+2- 267
+6.25-338
PMPS- 430

This is a bounce, not her super high flat cycle. No doubt w/o pred and very little food on board she dropped between +2 and +6 - enough to bounce her.

Latte had a surprise visit from me this afternoon! :mrgreen: Unfortunately she did not prefer the company I brought (2yr old and 6 month old). I plugged the space heater in this a.m. because it was SUPER chilly and forgot to unplug it. I really was not okay being gone 8hrs with it on and not being home. Kids got their first city bus ride and LOVED it! The 2yr old was PSYCHED to see Latte. Uhhh...Latte not so excited. :lol: It was funny to watch her sniff him. She seems like such a little thing, but standing next to a toddler she is not so tiny. He tried putting a treat in her kibble bowl, and she wanted it. But his movements were so abrupt, each time it scared her away. Eventually she went back under the piano and he was thrilled when she ate the heart shaped treat he pretty much literally threw AT her. :lol: He said she must love him. :mrgreen: Got a quick test and on we went. No food or water was gone from when I left her @ +2. Al little kibble between +6 and +11.

Latte showed a good deal of interest in some evo WET food tonight. This was right before her shot. But ya know, whats the difference if it raised her a bit...430? 380? 400? They are all the same at this point. Food was most important. So far, everything has been kept down and she seems in decent spirits.

Vet sent an email with some thoughts last night, and we spoke today. He has obviously been spending time consulting with other vets. Who they are, I dont know. But the effort is greatly appreciated! Bless his heart, as he will not be around this weekend, but made it clear to have any one of the vets contact him should anything arise. He also put a special note to give Latte cerenia injection if I request it, w/o having to come in for an exam. He is a newer vet, and Latte is really giving him a run for his money! Things we discussed:

1. pred - due to extreme vomiting today, do NOT decrease pred. See how she does this week and maybe try again next week or two.

2. Not likely a/b causing GI upset. Would have shown it sooner. Orbax not as bad as others. Last time she had it, there was some GI upset. She was also weaning off pred. So hard to know. I might agree with him, though.

3. Reconsider leukeran :shock: ...after discussing it over the phone and reminding him of her reaction he agreed it was probably not a good option. So that is out.

4. Culture clear, so a/b must be doing the job.

5. He is becoming more convinced she is being OD'd on insulin. Im not convinced, but still open to the thought. Is it possible? Yup. This is a cat that can drop 100pts at a blink of an eye and bounce right back up in the next blink. I have not been able to get many mid cycle spot checks during the day, the usual cycle for her to go low. When I do she is running high/flat, or only dropping into the mid to upper 100's. I do think its more likely she got stuck (maybe due to infection) and is no longer used to the blues and greens. But Why bouncing so high? Her higher bounces, in the past, almost always correlate to numbers way in the greens. Or, maybe its the large drops. Anyway, he thought my reduction today was permanent and was excited to see the results. When I told him it was just for today he became concerned and highly recommended I reconsider dropping her dose. He said she would be safer at higher numbers than lower numbers, if in fact that is what is happening. He really did seem concerned. Im keeping her @ 2u and will do a lot of testing this weekend! Hopefully she will give me something worth testing.

Three day weekend ahead...but meeting @ 8:30am and some errands. Cant wait to R E S T for a few days. Hopefully Latte will comply with my request. ;-)

HEY PAT! Thanks for the linkage this a.m.!!!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Just as a side note (and I know you will all think Im crazy)....Last night I had to pill Latte's pred because she refused the compounded treat form. Her numbers went lower in a pm cycle than I have seen in weeks. Tonight I gave the pill again (refused the treats)...and she is dropping A LOT. Some of you may remember how I thought there was a possible correlation with her taking pred in the compounded form and higher numbers. And, when I would give the pill she seemed to have much less of a reaction. Sometimes I would scour the area she was laying, looking for it. The pill IS getting in her.

Coincidence?

Should also note she got it in pill form last night AND vomited this morning. She has not vomited in weeks, all the while taking it in the treat form.

She will be getting her pred pilled for the next week (she wont eat the treat after vomiting it anyway). Lets just see what happens. It may purely be coincidence. But I have been marking whether I give her a pill vs treat form on her ss for the last 3 weeks or so.
 
Hi again, Carolyn. Stu says: "REST is BEST". Hugs to you and Latte. We hope you will have a good night and a really good weekend.

Ella & Stu

P.s. Interesting about the pred (I'm sorry that I don't know what that is, but it's interesting that two forms of the same medication would produce such different results).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top