carolynandlatte
Very Active Member
Last Night:
PMPS~247
+4.5~135
+5.5~144
+6.5~131
AMPS~323 (bcs of 1.5u)
*practically no food on PM cycle
The mess...
Latte vomited white foam before the alarm so I got up with her. Offered food before test/shoot to see how she may feel about eating. She actually ate some (whew!). Gave her pred shortly after and she vomited food and meds immediately. Tested. Vomited again! It's pretty hard to shoot a cat who wont stop vomiting, so we were late. Then I had to figure out what to shoot. Unbelievable high numbers lately...need insulin. Vomiting and little food in last 24hrs, gone all day, may not eat, no pred in cycle?! Ack! I just could not shoot full dose. I went with 1.5 because...high numbers, she has tolerated 1.5 in a.m. cycle w/ no pred in past. Now the question is....can and will she eat today, I gave ondansetron. Will do pepcid soon. Could try cerenia IF she will keep it down. May be able to throw in appy stim on the way out the door. Then it is all up to the hands of the kitty gods.
I cant reduce her pred tonight if she did not get it in her this a.m. Its a drug you have to taper. I guess she started the tapering this a.m. at her own will. I will try and talk with her vet today and see what he thinks. We may want to wait until she finishes a/b's before cutting back on the pred.
I dont know if what I did was right. Too much insulin, too little?
Poor thing has vomit all over her paws and nose. She is hiding under the piano. I so wish I could be home with her today. Even if she is not social, I know she loves having me near her. ..and I cant be.
PMPS~247
+4.5~135
+5.5~144
+6.5~131
AMPS~323 (bcs of 1.5u)
*practically no food on PM cycle
The mess...
Latte vomited white foam before the alarm so I got up with her. Offered food before test/shoot to see how she may feel about eating. She actually ate some (whew!). Gave her pred shortly after and she vomited food and meds immediately. Tested. Vomited again! It's pretty hard to shoot a cat who wont stop vomiting, so we were late. Then I had to figure out what to shoot. Unbelievable high numbers lately...need insulin. Vomiting and little food in last 24hrs, gone all day, may not eat, no pred in cycle?! Ack! I just could not shoot full dose. I went with 1.5 because...high numbers, she has tolerated 1.5 in a.m. cycle w/ no pred in past. Now the question is....can and will she eat today, I gave ondansetron. Will do pepcid soon. Could try cerenia IF she will keep it down. May be able to throw in appy stim on the way out the door. Then it is all up to the hands of the kitty gods.
I cant reduce her pred tonight if she did not get it in her this a.m. Its a drug you have to taper. I guess she started the tapering this a.m. at her own will. I will try and talk with her vet today and see what he thinks. We may want to wait until she finishes a/b's before cutting back on the pred.
I dont know if what I did was right. Too much insulin, too little?
Poor thing has vomit all over her paws and nose. She is hiding under the piano. I so wish I could be home with her today. Even if she is not social, I know she loves having me near her. ..and I cant be.