5/6 Lanky AMPS 301, PMPS (+10) 430, +6 158

Status
Not open for further replies.

sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Morning: with the help of D & Noisey, we are shooting early, +11 on our normal schedule. You'll note the time shifts in Lanky's SS. When I got up to +8 test, Lanky was sound to sleep & did not want to budge. When I got up to AMPS test, feed & shoot, Lanky was chatty & ready to eat. Fed Fancy Feast tender liver & chicken feast, all 4 kitties liked it. Almost have a yellow AMPS. Lanky just did normal pee/poop but I just missed a ketone test, will get next time.

Now the question is, do I go back to bed? Think so.
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS(+11am) 301

Barely Pink...hope you enjoy your btb if that's what you decide to do...
Sending hugs across the miles to you and Lanky! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS(+11am) 301

Pat- appreciate the hugs. I've started reading & thinking about all this again so guess I'll make some coffee & think about a nap this afternoon some time. Coffee, coffee.... ~O)
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS(+11am) 301

You shot 12 hours after last night's shot so this would be a +12 not +11, right?
Nice to see an almost yellow PS.
Sure you can go back to bed -- unless you shot +11 this morning, I don't think you did, then get a +1.
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS(+12am) 301

You are correct, I shot +12 from last night's PMPS - now I get it, I count from each shot not from my "normal" schedule...& I'll get a +1 test.
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS(+12am) 301

I was thinking about Lanky last night and wanted to roughly explain how I am approaching this and see how you feel about it cause we can run into low numbers doing this.
By shooting a series of early shots we likely will run into the break into low numbers -- it's sort of the trade off for busting the pink wall. If only we could bust the wall as we wanted, like get all blues -- doesn't always work that way. Numbers can drop low and we'll have to respond and adjust -- the pay off is to ditch the pinks and be able to work from a non pink point. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS(+12am) 301

Yes, & I have my hypo kit ready as long as I have you & the Board with me. It's a little scary but as long as I test often to catch those lows & respond accordingly, we should be OK, right?
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS(+12) 301

I wouldn't do this if I thought we were putting Lanky at risk. We don't know if this will work but it is definitely worth a go. I had this problem with Noisy, at the higher numbers he was not getting 12/12 duration so the early shots really helped us until we got into better numbers and started experiencing 12/12 duration. I like having 18% carb around. Then after the very hoped for breakthrough they can start going down the dose ladder quickly.
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS(+12) 301

I don't think so but maybe, even a 264 "could" cause a bounce. Might be a food spike or a "just cause" number. Whatever, we will soldier away here.
I think there is near to NO chance that he is getting too much insulin but we'll watch for that too.
Visualize a yellow and blue Lanky everybody!
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS(+12) 301

just saw the +5 329 -- tentative plan is to shoot at +11, so that would be 4: your time right?
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS 301, +7 356

We may go earlier tonight -- either +10 or +10.5. He may come down from this 356 so we'll wait and see.
Forget how cruddy these pinks are you are going at this aggressively now I hope they are at a minimum in a few days.
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS 301, +8 370, +9 383

Great, get a +1.

ETA: Get ps too of course
You might not need to test a lot tonight.
You can feed him whenever you shoot or by +2 (food needs to be on board by onset).
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS 301, +8 370, +9 383

Let's start talking about tomorrow AMPS too as it will come early & we need some think time.

+12 = 3 am for me; 6 am for you
+11 = 2 am for me; 5 am for you
+10 = 1 am for me; 4 am for you
15-20 minutes prior to shoot for some thinking!

How shall we handle our communications??
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS 301, +8 370, +9 383

Tomorrow will be a +12 no matter what.
We'll have to wait until tomorrow night for another early one. Timing is the tricky part to these early shots, we don't want to bunch up too many early shots at once. Later on maybe but not yet. We are creating overlap right now and we have to do that carefully. We'll give the ones done a chance to do their thing.

And this to.....

lankythetank.jpg
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS 301, +8 370, +9 383

The one thing we should talk about is if you see a lowish number and get nervous about shooting. Let's talk about what numbers will be comfortable to shoot.
Most people, who have a low PS number, use the delay and catch a rising number method. That won't be good here cause time/duration/onset are critical to keep him out of the pink, we can't afford for him to zoom up at those times.
We can't back off from the attack of the pink. Going to have to shoot lower, on time, if he runs lower. I mean crazy low is a different deal that's why we can talk about what are the comfort numbers.
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS 301, +8 370, +9 383

Thanks for the pic, I needed that laugh out loud reaction. Pinkie Busters (PB) rule!

All is accomplished for +10, next +1 test. Lanky ate a good dinner, had a few sips of water, & now we are going out onto the patio to enjoy the afternoon. Whoops, I just hear the clink of a cat food dish, I think Lanky is picking up the crumbs...

Regarding comfort #'s. I don't have much experience just what I have read here regarding 50 (newly dx'd kitties)/40 (LT FD kitties) BGs and low BGs I have seen on SS or posts. So what should we expect &what's the appropriate reaction??
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS 301, +8 370, +9 383

How did he get into the kibble? Is he eating that periodically? I'll kick myself if I didn't know that -- I thought I remembered asking you if he was on an LC diet. If he's eating dry, even a little, we should maybe go about this differently.

While I'm at it -- how old is your insulin?
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS 301, +8 370, +9 383

Regarding kibble - I have 3 other kitties, 2 of which have Renal disease. Otis (17 years old) can live w/o kibble, but Miss Nubbins will not - it is Hill's k/d. She only has 1 kidney, is 16 years old and doing well. So, she gets kibble under supervision. Both of these kitties are on fluids: Otis 150 ml/day; Miss Nubbins 100 ml every other day (and more when/if they need it).

When Lanky started crunching on something on the porch (whatever is was it came from the yard - we have 5 acres of oaks & grass), I tore out there leaving the screen door open, he tore in & grabbed (I'm guessing) less than 1 or 2 chews-worth of Miss Nubbins' snack. Mom's error.

Lanky & the other kitties are all on canned, low carb food off Binky's list and low phosphorous as much as possible. I do less than 10% cal from carbs & a max of 250-300 mg per 100 kcal P. It is quite an operation. Lanky & Bruski (# 4 kitty) also get low carb/ higher P Fancy Feast. For that I minimize Otis' & Miss Nubbins' access.

Lanky is a chow hound & has been since he showed up on our door step. Lately his has been picky with Friskies & Wellness. Lanky would continue eating if I did not pick the food up.

PS Before Lanky's dx, we were a 24/7 all you can eat dry food household with a little canned food Fancy Feast snack at dinner time. Needless to say this has been quite a transition for the entire group. I haven't given up on Miss Nubbins, she is just taking longer to wean & it is difficult to find a canned variety meeting our requirements that she likes. And, Bruski, our monster cat, has lost about 1.5 - 2 lbs (down to ~19.5 from 21.5 lbs over the last several months) & seems much more active/happy with the food change. Our goal for him is around 15 lbs.
 
Re: 5/6 Lanky AMPS 301, PMPS (+10) 430

What is that swooshing sounding word of relief? Anyway, good to know it was only a sneak attack.
I have made that mistake before, not asking, and I was going to be really mad at myself if I did it again.

If by some lucky star you see a mid blue number tomorrow am -- I'd shoot it. There is a little time that can be made up here, so if you want to test and retest within 1/2 hour to see if it is a rising number.

I probably won't be back tonight so I hope you guys have a really good night.

Almost forgot, I have an Otis too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top