Staci & Ivy
Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...w-requested-bouncy-kitty.277083/#post-3068364
Previously posted link above. (Hope this works)
Earlier this week we started TR protocol.
We increased Ivy’s Lantus dose by .25 unit up to 2.5 units
Three days later increased dose again another .25 unit to 2.75 units (her nadir was above 200.)
Yesterday, Friday, after her PM meal & Lantus dose, at PM +2/3. She began sharply dropping and continued to do so as the evening progressed.
After pm 2.75 unit dose, @+4 she dropped to 165 then @ +6 to 159
I intervened at first with about 1 ounce low carb food, which didn’t do too much to raise her for more than 15 minutes, and eventually started giving her half a teaspoon to 1 teaspoon of medium carb (fancy feast, chicken, and liver grilled) to bring up /reduce the rapid drop.
Today, Her a.m. dose at 6:30 am kept her bg very high, (about 400 or above) all day until about 2 pm (+8) began dropping, now at (3 pm) +9 to 264.
It seems she reacts to these increased doses, by going very high, then sharply Dropping several hours later.
What is the best response when I see her sharply dropping quickly? Is it best to give her a little mc food to try to avoid the sharp drop?
Or do I let her drop to see how low she will go, except intervene when she gets near hypo threshold?
Will she adjust to these higher doses and stop the steep drops, or are the doses too high for her to handle?
Obviously we are trying to lower her overall high bg numbers.
Since she’s now dropping into the 100s, is that her new nadir (or would that have to be her consistent nadir) to decide to hold her dose or increase her dose again after 3 days?
Thank you.
Previously posted link above. (Hope this works)
Earlier this week we started TR protocol.
We increased Ivy’s Lantus dose by .25 unit up to 2.5 units
Three days later increased dose again another .25 unit to 2.75 units (her nadir was above 200.)
Yesterday, Friday, after her PM meal & Lantus dose, at PM +2/3. She began sharply dropping and continued to do so as the evening progressed.
After pm 2.75 unit dose, @+4 she dropped to 165 then @ +6 to 159
I intervened at first with about 1 ounce low carb food, which didn’t do too much to raise her for more than 15 minutes, and eventually started giving her half a teaspoon to 1 teaspoon of medium carb (fancy feast, chicken, and liver grilled) to bring up /reduce the rapid drop.
Today, Her a.m. dose at 6:30 am kept her bg very high, (about 400 or above) all day until about 2 pm (+8) began dropping, now at (3 pm) +9 to 264.
It seems she reacts to these increased doses, by going very high, then sharply Dropping several hours later.
What is the best response when I see her sharply dropping quickly? Is it best to give her a little mc food to try to avoid the sharp drop?
Or do I let her drop to see how low she will go, except intervene when she gets near hypo threshold?
Will she adjust to these higher doses and stop the steep drops, or are the doses too high for her to handle?
Obviously we are trying to lower her overall high bg numbers.
Since she’s now dropping into the 100s, is that her new nadir (or would that have to be her consistent nadir) to decide to hold her dose or increase her dose again after 3 days?
Thank you.