5/6 Cain PMPS 85; +1 154; +2 203; +5.6 181; +10 194

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer&Cain(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's thread

Hello!

Still really tired, but I did get some sleep, well by accident since I shut off my alarm with the intent of getting up again. And nope. Luckily he seemed to stay low blues or high greens if he did dip into there.

Here's hoping for more safe greens!
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144

Yes Cain, we have a request in for more greens from you. How about it there Cain? You want to make your momma bean Jennifer happy don't you? That great big smile of hers when you put on those greens doesn't scare you does it? Besides, you may get a few extra hugs for a green number or two.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +2 142

+2 is 142.

Hmm, similar numbers to preshot can mean an active cycle right?

And hehe, Deb. I wonder if he'll listen today. :-D
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +2 142; +4 72

+4 is 72

And look at that a green. Guess I'll be testing hourly to make sure he doesn't drop too low in the next few hours. Though I have plans to jog about an hour or so. Hopefully he's stable enough that I can go.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +2 142; +4 72; +4.75 53

+4.75 53

We're near nadir I think. He just ate half a can of FF at +4 I think. I'm trying to remember exactly. What should I do? I'll test again at +5 for certain.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +2 142; +4 72; +4.75 53

+5 is 50

I think I'm going to give a tsp or two of LC. I'll test in 30mins.

Edit: Gave two tsps of LC. He was right there meowing at me to feed him when I popped that can. :)
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +4 72; +4.75 53; +5 50; +5.5 48!! Hel

+5.5 is 48

Help! From his numbers, nadir is in the next hour (or I'm right in it, still learning). How do I keep it from dipping too much lower? Should I feed 1/4 tsp of HC?
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +4 72; +4.75 53; +5 50; +5.5 48!! Hel

I just fed one tsp of LC seven minutes after the +5.5. Should I feed another or HC?
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +4 72; +4.75 53; +5 50; +5.5 48!! Hel

I'd give Cain a teaspoon of HC now and retest at +6. (And breathe. It's fine -- really!)
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +4 72; +4.75 53; +5 50; +5.5 48!! Hel

Ok I fed 1tsp HC (beef & gravy) 4 minutes before the +5.75.

I'm trying. I knew to give some food on the 50s but I saw the 48 and went, ack! I think that's still in the 20% variance right? But 40s are scary numbers.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144;+5 50; +5.5 48; +6 47 Still low

Ok fed 1 1/2tsp of HC. He's getting bedside service, lucky cat. (He went to sleep on my bed for a bit.)

I'll report back the +6.5 test.

Edit: Hmm he followed me into the kitchen when I went to put the bowl back. I'll hold off on feeding him just yet. I think he'll be rising soon.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144;+5.5 48; +6 47; +6.5 57

Good job!! Now, repeat the process at +7. You want to make sure he's staying up and doesn't come down as the food wears off.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144;+5.5 48; +6 47; +6.5 57; +7 52

+7 is 52

I fed him slightly over two tsps of LC food right after I took the +7. Though I suspect he got more than that cause he was sticking his head in his sister's bowl who I was also feeding some LC to.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144;+5.5 48; +6 47; +6.5 57; +7 52; +7.5 5

+7.5 is 56

I think I'll feed him another tsp or two. He should be rising from here on out right?
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144;+5.5 48; +6 47; +6.5 57; +7 52; +7.5 5

You never can tell if your kitty is going to be predictable. They do everything exactly as you expect -- until they don't!
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +6.5 57; +7 52; +7.5 56; +8 61

+8 is 61

I'll do another test at +8.5 and see if I need to keep feeding him as often.

I might as well ask while more people are on. :) Would I be shooting his usual dose of 1.75u tonight?
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +6.5 57; +7 52; +7.5 56; +8 61; +8.5

hmm. you didn't get an answer...
you went under the magic number for reductions... under 50 ( i.e. 49).

If he starts bouncing upward by shot time, there is a possibility to shoot thru the bounce... ( at the 1.75u) but if he keeps surfing, you did earn
a reduction.
I'm going to go see if I can't get someone better than me to come tell you so. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +7.5 56; +8 61; +8.5 67; +9 55

Jennifer

Great day for Cain and great job managing the curve.

He earned a reduction so the new dose is 1.5u. As Rhiannon said, if he shoots way up really fast by P'MPS, you can shoot through the bounce with 1.75u tonight and reduce to 1.5u in the morning. Even if he does bounce up, you can choose to reduce to 1.5u tonight if you like.

Congrats and good luck with the reduction!
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +7.5 56; +8 61; +8.5 67; +9 55

Thank you, Rhiannon.

Usually by the time I shoot the PM shot there's like me and maybe someone else on. So I thought I'd better ask now. :)

+9.1 is 55. (Thought my alarm was set for testing. ohmygod_smile )

I just fed him like usual before the two hour food pickup in less than thirty minutes. His numbers might come up a bit then.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +7.5 56; +8 61; +8.5 67; +9 55

Great day for Cain today. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: So nice to see that first reduction. :-D :-D You did a great job today Jennifer. Keep track of how much food you fed at what time and how it affected his numbers and it'll give you an idea of what to do next time if he goes low and the board is quiet. So considerate of Cain to do his first reduction during the day.

Given my Neko's patterns of late, I'll be up for your PMPS. I'll check in around that time.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +7.5 56; +8 61; +8.5 67; +9 55

I'm also around, LindaJennifer.

If you look at Gracies SS, you'll see how I track food. Yours doesn't need to be as detailed but you at least see it.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +8 61; +8.5 67; +9 55; +10 66; +11 80

Good...he's coming back up and I do not know why I put Linda instead of Jennifer! I think because I was also watching Lucky ohmygod_smile Sorry.....
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +8 61; +8.5 67; +9 55; +10 66; +11 80

No worries. :-D I'm glad he's rising a bit. I'm not sure I want to add my first low shot in with today. :) (Though knowing my luck...:roll:)
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +8 61; +8.5 67; +9 55; +10 66; +11 80

Just remember that if he comes up but then drops a bit at PMPS, that's just a second lantus dip and usually safe to shoot because the insulin should start wearing off before the next shot kicks in at +2-+3.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +8 61; +8.5 67; +9 55; +10 66; +11 80

PMPS is 85.

This is good to shoot, correct? I'm going with the 1.5u tonight.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain AMPS 144; +8 61; +8.5 67; +9 55; +10 66; +11 80

Yes, go ahead and shoot. Pls be sure to get a +1 and +2.

How comfortable are you with low numbers? I was going to go to bed shortly but can set an alarm to wake up at your +1.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain PMPS 85

I think I'm starting to get used to the 50s & 60s. I just feed a tsp or two of LC and test in 30mins kind of thing.

Below that it's scary.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain PMPS 85

Thank you, Wendy.

I just hope he lets me go to the store tomorrow. I'm out of freeze dried treats (except the crumbs on the bottom), almost out of LC cat food, and at this rate I'll have to get more strips again. This is where living 15mins out of town starts to suck.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain PMPS 85

I can tell by his SS that you've become a pro at lower numbers :-D

Hope it's a nice flat night. Ni Ni.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain PMPS 85; +1 154

+1 is 154.

Huh. All those low numbers and poof, a 154. Guess we'll see what's happening when the insulin kicks in around +2.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain PMPS 85; +1 154

I'm curious to see if Cain's liver decided those low numbers today were too much. He could decide to bounce tonight. That +2 will be a good indicator.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain PMPS 85; +1 154; +2 203

+2 is 203

Yeah must be bouncing. I guess I should have held off the 1.5u till tomorrow. He was just so low at shot time that I figured 1.5u would be good then.
 
Re: 5/6 Cain PMPS 85; +1 154; +2 203; +5.6 181

+5.6 181

Yeah, I don't think it's going to be low for the +6. Back to get some more sleep!
 
Re: 5/6 Cain PMPS 85; +1 154; +2 203; +5.6 181

I think what you shot last night was a good decision. I think the best time to shoot through the bounce is if he soars. He wouldn't have had to go up into yellow but if his PS had been mid to high blue, I might have considered shooting through the bounce. But not with an 85.

Hope you got some rest!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top