5/6 Brutus pmps 152 +2 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

steve and brutus

Member Since 2010
Protocol for tight regulation says that if a dose reduction fails, to go up to last good dose.Does that mean if bg's go up directly after does reduction, as they did with Brutus, raise the dose back, (see SS) or should I waited 6 cycles to determine if reduction was not successful ?
 
Re: 5/6 Brutus pmps 152 tight reg question

A dose reduction is held for 6 cycles. If the reduction didn't hold at the end of 6 cycles, you return to the last best dose.

I'm not sure I understand some of the dose changes you made. You shaved Brutus' dose from a fat 1.0 to 1.0 after the 40 during the PM cycle of 5/4. Then you increased the dose back to a fat 1.0 for the PM shot on 5/4. You then increased again tonight. I think you are shifting the dose before it stablizes and you really don't know whether the dose is working or not.
 
Re: 5/6 Brutus pmps 152 tight reg question

What Sienne has stated is correct. You cannot tell how you baby will react to the dose immediately in some cats that is why you should wait the 6 cycles.
 
Re: 5/6 Brutus pmps 152 tight reg question

Thanks Sienne.I was concerned the bg rise was so dramatic so soon after dose reduction that it did not work.So apparently I misunderstood the protocol-so a dose reduction could settle to lower numbers even after an initial bg rise that is not bounce? Emotion entered into the picture after we had him so low. The really low was concerning-as is the really high, Gosh think how he feels.so I hope I haven't screwed this up too badly.we'll see what happens tonight.
 
+2 82 looks like a low night and probbaly hc coming out.So Sienne, at this point any suggestions how I should proceed?With the low numbers coming tonight we are probbably to large a dose.
 
Steve --

I think you should bring the dose back to at least a fat 1.0. I'm seeing if I can get another set of eyes on your SS since it may be that you need to reduce back to 1.0.

It's looking like it could be a late night for you guys given where Brutus is at +2. You might want to give him a bite or two of LC to see if you can bet him surfing.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Steve --

I think you should bring the dose back to at least a fat 1.0. I'm seeing if I can get another set of eyes on your SS since it may be that you need to reduce back to 1.0.

hi steve. you had the right idea in going back to the last good dose. i have to disagree with the others. we do not hold dose reductions for 6 cycles. instead, as stated in the protocol:

"If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose."

however, today's cycle offered some clues that were missed. notice the 313 mid-cycle followed by numbers dropping to 152 @ pmps? that was the high we often see before a break. numbers dropped quite a bit by pmps indicating the bounce broke. depending on how things go tonight, you might have to go back to the fat 1unit. if the cycle is manageable, you may elect to stick with the skinny 1.25 unit.


answer to your question: you should be able to get an hc rise in about 15 - 20 minutes.
 
Jill , thanks.looks Like we stopped the drop at 54.I should be able to keep him here for the next couple hours, I hope.I think i will go back to the 1.0 fat and see what happens.
 
sounds good, but see how things go tonight.
my internet connection is cutting in and out... mostly out. not sure how long i'll be around, but i'll take a look at brutus's ss in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top