5/6 Bagheera AMPS 325 +7 231 PMPS 297 +4 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
Well, I don't like these numbers too much, but they are not too bad. And I am getting better when it's time for my human to test me. We are on five units now and it looks like the numbers are tolerable, though not great.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Prior conversation
 
The 123 on 5/5 is a nice sign. Remember, he can still "bounce" from that 123. Even though it's not hypo territory, it might still be lower than his liver is used to and it takes some time to stabilize. One reason why starting over in the dosing scale with a lower dose is that even though you've worked your way back up to almost where you were at before, his body has now been getting accustomed to the slow increases of insulin vs. constant rebounding.

I don't know if you've ever seen the movie "The Princess Bride," but in it, one of the main characters survives swallowing a deadly poison because he systematically worked up a tolerance toward it by taking minute amounts of it over an extended period of time. That's how I kind of look at how some cats seem to need to be stabilized at lower doses first with higher numbers before they can be stabilized at higher doses with even lower numbers, if that makes sense?
 
Also, you might want to change the post icon to a question mark so more people will get their eyes in this for you. :smile:

Speaking of which, they're probably going to tell you that you need some more +7 to +11 tests. ;-) :lol:
 
Yes, my human knows he needs some more of those, and some of them later at night would be good, too. But he is asleep during those hours, and so am I. He doesn't want to torture me TOO much, you know. I tolerate the ear sticks, but if he wakes me up when I"m sleeping, I will not be happy with him and he knows what that means. I am a very sweet cat, but when I get angry, it is not good. He bears many scars from this.

KPassa said:
Also, you might want to change the post icon to a question mark so more people will get their eyes in this for you. :smile:

Speaking of which, they're probably going to tell you that you need some more +7 to +11 tests. ;-) :lol:
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
...if he wakes me up when I"m sleeping, I will not be happy with him and he knows what that means. I am a very sweet cat, but when I get angry, it is not good. He bears many scars from this.

See if you can get away with testing him while he's sleeping. At first, Michelangelo would have none of that and would immediately wake up and be "annoyed" :twisted: with me disturbing his sleep. But, once he got used to testing, he no longer pays me too much (if any) attention when I test him while he's sleeping.

For testing super late at night, you can see how often I do that (rarely). A lot of people will set alarms to wake them up or will use a bathroom break as an opportunity to test, but I have sleeping issues and that just wakes me up permanently and I can't go back to sleep. Instead, I take advantage of my insomnia and always get a Before Bed test, which helps fill in some of those later time slots. Some people also wake up a couple of hours early to test the late PM cycle numbers. Since I've never been a morning person, this is completely out of the question for me, but it might work for you. Finally, on your weekends, just try to get more of those tests during the AM cycle instead. :-D
 
He got me when he got home for lunch today. He will have readings later for everyone.

But today he is feeling guilty. Jacey was constantly talking, and he told her to be quiet. Then he played the monster game with her, and stepped on her paw. He feels bad, even though we all know he didn't mean it. And she was mad at him and I do not blame her one bit.

So I will probably get my PMPS reading and then he will call it a night.

KPassa said:
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
...if he wakes me up when I"m sleeping, I will not be happy with him and he knows what that means. I am a very sweet cat, but when I get angry, it is not good. He bears many scars from this.

See if you can get away with testing him while he's sleeping. At first, Michelangelo would have none of that and would immediately wake up and be "annoyed" :twisted: with me disturbing his sleep. But, once he got used to testing, he no longer pays me too much (if any) attention when I test him while he's sleeping.

For testing super late at night, you can see how often I do that (rarely). A lot of people will set alarms to wake them up or will use a bathroom break as an opportunity to test, but I have sleeping issues and that just wakes me up permanently and I can't go back to sleep. Instead, I take advantage of my insomnia and always get a Before Bed test, which helps fill in some of those later time slots. Some people also wake up a couple of hours early to test the late PM cycle numbers. Since I've never been a morning person, this is completely out of the question for me, but it might work for you. Finally, on your weekends, just try to get more of those tests during the AM cycle instead. :-D
 
Dude, I have kittens and they're constantly getting underfoot and stepped on and not just by me! (Might be one of the reasons Mikey is so scared of my 6'6" roommate. :lol: ) Jacey will get over it. At the very least, she's learned that you're a klutz and will stay out of your way (at least that's what I hope will eventually happen with my two). haha_smiley

Before you call it a night, try grabbing just one more test. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top