Stacy & Asia
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-5-asia-amps-275-3-246-9-116.195148/
Increased to 1.25 this morning, I hope it does something.
Increased to 1.25 this morning, I hope it does something.

Slow down Asia!! Hope she doesn't bounce to the moon
View attachment 35955
Good luck with the R should you give it a whirl![]()
I have put a ban on space missions! Moon cheese is high in phosphorous and pink is the new black! You are right, Asia gave a perfect example of why you wouldn't have wanted to use R this morning with the increase. Some kitties like to really work the juice the first cycle. I think you'd be fine giving R a try late in the cycle. Are you thinking something like 0.1U?I am anticipating a huge spike today later in the cycle, perfect opportunity to try R. I seem to recall not using R on a dose increase cycle, but I have to ask if that’s anywhere in the cycle, or just the beginning? I could understand not increasing and shooting R at a preshot since you don’t know what the L is going to do on the increase, but I know already. Would it still apply here for say +10 or whenever she shoots up? If so, what is the reasoning?
You are right, Asia gave a perfect example of why you wouldn't have wanted to use R this morning with the increase. Some kitties like to really work the juice the first cycle. I think you'd be fine giving R a try late in the cycle. Are you thinking something like 0.1U?
Surfs up Asia, get away from the sharks!
Yes, the 0.1 is a good starting place. Test every hour for 5 hours after you shoot R. You need to gather onset and nadir timing data. Shoot R in the scruff. Make sure you have a good system in place to clearly differentiate the L and R insulins. Easier if you aren't shooting at the same time.
Slower absorption rate. You could move closer to the shoulders.What’s the reasoning for shooting in the scruff?

Oh Asia I don't think your Mama Bean likes this drama!![]()
Good thought Wendy!Maybe the R threat will keep her flat.![]()
Oh Asia! What a show off!
I can't add anything to what you and Wendy have discussed about the use of R. You'll want to figure out onset, nadir and duration of R just as you've done with Lantus then Levemir. They say R can last 6 - 8 hours in some cats, but I've only seen it last as long as 6 hours in Joan's Madison. R seems to be over and out in 4 hours with most cats... 5 max.
Good luck!
Your reasoning is sound. Try it.R+2 92
Looks like it will be a lower preshot and a falling number (what it actually looks like is hope). I think I should drop her L to .6 or .7 instead of 1 unit. My logic is that is the last L dose that gave her nadirs I liked without going too low and working with the R it just might do well, the problem is always that she never has the preshot to make any use of a proper L dose. Thoughts? @Wendy&Neko @Jill & Alex (GA)
That works, too. You're on an information gathering mission.R+2.5 78
I might stall her L shot to see when R wears off
Probably.If the R dose is more of a sliding scale, I’m thinking a drop would have sufficed here?
Oh Asia! What a show off!
I can't add anything to what you and Wendy have discussed about the use of R. You'll want to figure out onset, nadir and duration of R just as you've done with Lantus then Levemir. They say R can last 6 - 8 hours in some cats, but I've only seen it last as long as 6 hours in Joan's Madison. R seems to be over and out in 4 hours with most cats... 5 max.
Good luck!

Interesting theory. Not sure if it'll hold up in all instances, but overall your theory makes a lot of sense.So my theory is this, based on how Asia’s past experiences have gone and what I know of humans and their insulin needs, I have no idea if this applies to other people’s cats or not. When they say something has a duration of insulin action (DIA) of say 6 hours, perhaps it only lowers (nadirs) at hour 3 and then you think it’s not working any longer because the numbers begin to rise, but some insulin is still in there, it’s just not powerful enough to fight the force of the rise by itself. I think it may not work any longer (to lower numbers) if left alone, but if more insulin is given before that time wears off (within the 6 hour DIA, but anytime after the 3 hour nadir when numbers are rising) it reinvigorates the previous insulin and they both work to continue to lower BG with some gusto. When Asia has had duration or overlap, it’s almost like the next shot sometimes works at hyper speed, even if I shot a rising number. Onset is the same, but the lowering effect is much greater.
When she doesn’t get enough duration, the number continues to rise past the next shot time and is usually high enough by onset (+2) that the lowering effect of the shot is greatly reduced and it could take hours to come back down. All of this is impacted of course by a great many things, exercise, postprandial response, other hormones, etc. Which explains why the results are somewhat inconsistent. But it would very much explain how R could affect the following cycle even though it’s “worn off” by then.
Humans get in trouble this way when they stack their bolus insulins too close together by having lunch and then say a snack 3 hours later and taking more bolus for that, even if a lot less than they would do for a meal. When it appears the last has worn off, if you give more it’s double trouble (this is also in addition to their basal insulin which marginally lowers their numbers from food although it isn’t designed for that, which is essentially 3 insulin doses teaming up).
Ok, a little scary because it's new, but really... the R is doing exactly what it's supposed to be doing. The tricky part is incorporating it's use to fit Asia's patterns/responses.R+3.5 72![]()
Ok, a little scary because it's new, but really... the R is doing exactly what it's supposed to be doing. The tricky part is incorporating it's use to fit Asia's patterns/responses.
You're in control. If you have to you can even skip tonight's shot. This is all good info to know... maybe you'll find it necessary to set a certain number for using R. Something higher than 155... even if Asia is on the rise.
Yep.but as an overall, it dropped her a 115 points which is spot on, right?
LOL! I thought you were freaking out!
Glad you're not. This was an awesome experiment!
Yep.![]()
Not freaking out, but didn’t realize these emojis had different interpretations. Oy! For me, good surprise:
bad surprise: 
I'm old.Not freaking out, but didn’t realize these emojis had different interpretations. Oy! For me, good surprise:
bad surprise:
freaking out:
![]()
I like your interpretations! I'm old too, maybe almost as old as Jill!Not freaking out, but didn’t realize these emojis had different interpretations. Oy! For me, good surprise:
bad surprise:
freaking out:
![]()