5/5 Sweetie AMPS=222 +2=269 +3.5=239 +7=326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo

This is one his better AMPS readings :-D ! I did increase his dose today anyway (to 1.5) but I'll keep it here until the weekend to give everything a chance to settle: the new auto feeder, and dose, and I'm trying out some LC 9Lives flavors ocean whitefish and chicken dinner.

Our summer weather preview is over for now - overcast skies and a chance of rain here today. Guess it's a day to clean up inside the house.

My best to everyone in LL and their kitties.

[Edited: forgot to mention that I found 1 uneaten mini-meal from last night in the auto feed this morning. That might have contributed to the lower AMPS.]
 
Re: 5/5 Sweetie AMPS=222 +2=269

This +2 reading is influenced by the mini-meal at +1.5. Still working out the best feeding schedule for Sweetie.
 
Re: 5/5 Sweetie AMPS=222 +2=269

Hi Cathy, hope the +2 is just a mini food spike and Sweetie will settle in to some nice blues for the rest of the day. Paws crossed for success with the new dose.

It took Kismet awhile to get used to the autofeeder and would not notice his meals and I would have to walk him over to it. Now it's like clockwork. He knows exactly what time they go off, and will come to me about 5-10 minutes beforehand for his test and then waits patiently by the autofeeder for it to pop open. It's amazing how quickly they learn! Sweetie will eventually get the hang of it. You just may need to show it to him for the first few days.
 
Re: 5/5 Sweetie AMPS=222 +2=269 +3.5=239

Thanks Courtney; I haven't figured out the best feeding schedule yet but I might want to space them 2 hours apart to give him time to "find" the meal when I'm gone. I know that if he is on my bed, he jumps up as soon as he hears the sound of the feeder turning and eats. But he might have been in my daughter's room or downstairs last evening, and I had only 1 hour between 2 of the meals so it would be easy to miss.
 
Re: 5/5 Sweetie AMPS=222 +2=269 +3.5=239

I played around with feeding times for a bit to figure out what would work best with Kismet. He gets 6 mini meals a day: PS, +2, and +4. After a few weeks, I figured this schedule worked best to manipulate his curve and (mostly) always keeps him in safe numbers. ECID, though, but you'll eventually figure out what is best for Sweetie :) Make sure you keep track of when he gets fed and how his BGs correlate. For the first week of breaking up Kismet's meals, I would try different times until I got it just right. One of the best things about the mini-meals is that I never really have to worry about him dropping too low now; if I am out during the day or sleeping at night, this is a great relief! Good luck!

Oh, and another tip just in case someone else hasn't already mentioned it: don't feed after nadir since that is when the insulin wears off. Some people will give a snack at +9, so if Sweetie gets a late snack, that's totally fine.
 
Maybe this is a case of New Dose Wonkiness: his lowest BG this cycle was AMPS :shock: . I don't think it was a fur shot either. Maybe I should have waited a day to increase his dose; :YMSIGH:

It is a comfort Courtney that his chances of a hypo while I'm at work will be reduced with these mini-meals, even if I can't predict just what the mini meals will be doing to his BGs tomorrow. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top