? 5/5 Simon AMPS 170; +1: 157; +2.5:112; +4: see post

Katrina & Simon

Member Since 2025
Recent post

His +4 numbers are conflicting. 53(relion) 23(true metrix) retest: 64(r) 30(t). Which one is correct? Is this actually an emergency or is he ok to monitor? I fed more of his LC food and he ate it well, he's acting totally normal. Don't want to miss an emergency but I also don't want to feed HC and mess up his numbers if not necessary. I'm going to give a spoonful of HC gravy while I figure out what to do next.

Can someone please take a look at his SS and help me figure out what to do?

After we figure this out, I would also appreciate a dose review. I can change the heading after I figure out how to handle this. Just when I think I have things sorted, this type of thing happens. If we believe the lower numbers, he's earned a reduction. But which one do we trust? I am rechecking in 20 minutes. I know I'll drive myself crazy using two different meters but this is an insane variance.
 
Recent post

His +4 numbers are conflicting. 53(relion) 23(true metrix) retest: 64(r) 30(t). Which one is correct? Is this actually an emergency or is he ok to monitor? I fed more of his LC food and he ate it well, he's acting totally normal. Don't want to miss an emergency but I also don't want to feed HC and mess up his numbers if not necessary. I'm going to give a spoonful of HC gravy while I figure out what to do next.

Can someone please take a look at his SS and help me figure out what to do?

After we figure this out, I would also appreciate a dose review. I can change the heading after I figure out how to handle this. Just when I think I have things sorted, this type of thing happens. If we believe the lower numbers, he's earned a reduction. But which one do we trust? I am rechecking in 20 minutes. I know I'll drive myself crazy using two different meters but this is an insane variance.
I fed another tablespoon HC with the chunks and gravy because he hasn't really come up. I think it's better if he's a little high from HC food than to risk him continuing to drop. I will retest in 30.
 
Hi Katrina, well that's a wide spread of BG with the meters. Do you usually only use the Relion? That meter is listed on your SS.

It's a great question about which to believe. I would think you may want to use the same meter you usually do for consistency. So maybe trust the Relion.
And if you're worried, it's always better to keep him safe until he pulls up a bit with the carbs.

As for dose advice, I would see if you get some answers from someone qualified to give that advice. If we use the relion numbers, he's safe and in nice green numbers.
But you need to be home and able to assist him with carbs if needed.
 
Hi Katrina, well that's a wide spread of BG with the meters. Do you usually only use the Relion? That meter is listed on your SS.

It's a great question about which to believe. I would think you may want to use the same meter you usually do for consistency. So maybe trust the Relion.
And if you're worried, it's always better to keep him safe until he pulls up a bit with the carbs.

As for dose advice, I would see if you get some answers from someone qualified to give that advice. If we use the relion numbers, he's safe and in nice green numbers.
But you need to be home and able to assist him with carbs if needed.
Thank you. That's kind of what I told myself instead of spiraling. I'm going to stick with relion going forward and try to pretend I didn't see the true metrix numbers...
 
Whenever I got an oddly low number, like that 23, I would retest immediately. Some meters give falsely low numbers if you don't get enough blood. I too would follow what the Relion has told you. So, could you change the spreadsheet data cell to be the darker green. The below 50 was only the TrueMetrix.

We always suggest you should use one type of meter and stick to it. Usually differences aren't quite so dramatic, but those differences can be confusing in terms of knowing what to do. There is a LOT of Relion experience here.

I would stay with this dose until you go under 50 on the Relion.

Could you remove the 911, it is not a medical emergency and your question has been answered.
 
Whenever I got an oddly low number, like that 23, I would retest immediately. Some meters give falsely low numbers if you don't get enough blood. I too would follow what the Relion has told you. So, could you change the spreadsheet data cell to be the darker green. The below 50 was only the TrueMetrix.

We always suggest you should use one type of meter and stick to it. Usually differences aren't quite so dramatic, but those differences can be confusing in terms of knowing what to do. There is a LOT of Relion experience here.

I would stay with this dose until you go under 50 on the Relion.

Could you remove the 911, it is not a medical emergency and your question has been answered.
Yes, I did retest and they were still wildly different. I have updated the color, and will use the relion going forward. I have updated the heading. So stay with this dose until I see #s below 50 on relion, even through today would be cycle 12?
 
He got to the 50's today, that doesn't leave you much room for an increase. Let's see if he gets back to greens when the bounce is over. If he doesn't not see green again, then we can see if he needs an increase.
 
He got to the 50's today, that doesn't leave you much room for an increase. Let's see if he gets back to greens when the bounce is over. If he doesn't not see green again, then we can see if he needs an increase.
Ok I can do that, that's what I was thinking but I was doubting myself. Thank you
 
Oh wow that could be it, thank you for that! I know there was a recall for the E5 error code in the manual but that's the opposite problem from this and I didn't get any error codes.
Hello Katrina! I also experienced large gap btw my regular relion testing machine. I compared with one from my previous vet office and number were more similar with the relion so I have been using R ever since.
 
Back
Top