5/5 Silver AMPS 151 +4-266 +6=223 +8=245 +10=203 PMPS 185 +6=126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juliet

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-he-ate-momma-bean-happy.195037/#post-2183520

Oh its nice to have a normal start to the day with nothing scary going on. Curve day today although I may not catch a +2 as am going B2B. And Silver just ate the entire can of FF in one sitting so I guess his appy is back.

Cleaned up diarrhea this am that I know is Sasha's - likely due to the mix up in her diet lately. Both of them got Fortiflora in their food today. Okay good night again for a couple hrs I hope.

My handsome strong boy got through TWO episodes of DKA.

E2A18C44-51F7-4503-B715-C27A968F77B3.jpeg
 
Last edited:
It's so great to hear how much better Silver is doing. I hope Sasha's diarrhea clears up soon. Sending prayers. Enjoy your btb.
 
Yay (except for Sasha’s poos that I hope clear up soon). Silver is handsome and what ‘tude (including attitude and fortitude). More yays and vines :bighug::bighug:
 
Now that +4 is a little higher than I like - but I am guessing that is because he ate his full can of FF in one sitting as per usual, hence the horrible food spike. Hoping he comes back down again towards PMPS. I will definitely need dosing advise after the curve given his dose has been messed around with a bit during the DKA. We need to settle down on a dose again until next weekend's curve. I'd prefer to see green preshots, low blue during the day and coming down to a low green preshot again unless he ever decides to do a normal curve instead of an inverted one. Now that he has had his dental, I am not going to lose hope that he may go OTJ one day.
 
Last edited:
I've been looking at other ss and I just don't understand why almost everyone's kitties go down after preshot and Silver goes UP. Even the +4 is a good 100 points higher than preshot.
 
Something to keep in the back of your mind: there might still have been some influence last night and this AM from the larger depot that the vet's higher doses created. I understand why you reduced back to your normal range and hopefully the dental and his recovery will impact his need for insulin. I mention this only because it might factor into your interpretation of his numbers today.
 
Something to keep in the back of your mind: there might still have been some influence last night and this AM from the larger depot that the vet's higher doses created. I understand why you reduced back to your normal range and hopefully the dental and his recovery will impact his need for insulin. I mention this only because it might factor into your interpretation of his numbers today.
Well I don't interpret on only one day. Never have. It depends on the circumstances I'm facing. Had I been faced with the low green preshot on the morning of a working day - I would likely have skipped the shot. I have to balance the ketones possibly returning (hence not wanting to skip shots) with the need to know he is safe when I am gone.
 
Hmmm flat curve?
If he shows you a lower number at PMPS it would tell you that he a late nadir cat. I suspected it a long while ago and I still do. Looks like he nadir at +12 and that would make sense of why he starts to rise at +4. His +4's what you would expect from a cat that has a mid nadir, going back up again. Bubba used to nadir at the pre shots too. Look at Bubba's SS January 2016. You'll see that his pre shots are his lowest numbers in the cycle and then he starts to rise and then goes back down again for the next pre shot number.

The one nice thing about it is that it makes shooting lower number less scary because he is only going to rise through the cycle. And with your work schedule, that is real handy.

The 83 you got last night was most likely from the larger depot of 7.5 units. By the end of tomorrow's AM cycle, the depot for the 5 unit dose should be stable and give you an idea if that dose is cutting it.
 
If he shows you a lower number at PMPS it would tell you that he a late nadir cat. I suspected it a long while ago and I still do. Looks like he nadir at +12 and that would make sense of why he starts to rise at +4. His +4's what you would expect from a cat that has a mid nadir, going back up again. Bubba used to nadir at the pre shots too. Look at Bubba's SS January 2016. You'll see that his pre shots are his lowest numbers in the cycle and then he starts to rise and then goes back down again for the next pre shot number.

The one nice thing about it is that it makes shooting lower number less scary because he is only going to rise through the cycle. And with your work schedule, that is real handy.

The 83 you got last night was most likely from the larger depot of 7.5 units. By the end of tomorrow's AM cycle, the depot for the 5 unit dose should be stable and give you an idea if that dose is cutting it.
Oh I already know he is a late nadir car. His preshot is his lowest. I've said that for ages. I'm wondering what I should do about dosing. He's been messed around a bit. Should I increase up again? Stay at 5u? I don't want ketones retuning. I think it might not be enough to stay at 5u.
 
You have to wait until the larger depot drains, which is about 4 cycles and let the new dose get stable, about 4 cycles.
Yeah I don't think I should have dropped back down so far tho and waiting 8 cycles is too risky to me after DKA. The larger depot was giving the good numbers. Might split the difference and take him back up to 6u.
 
I've been looking at other ss and I just don't understand why almost everyone's kitties go down after preshot and Silver goes UP. Even the +4 is a good 100 points higher than preshot.
Have a look at Bubbas SS 2015/ 2016, he typically nadired late, He was often high at +4, Bobbie was able to test loads, so it illustrates it very nicely, though Bubbas patterns have since changed.
 
Nice low +6...off to zzzzz land....just been to an amazing concert by some old friends - I was a groupie years ago and followed this couple around when they toured in Scotland as I loved their music. Ended up following them to Canada where I became their booking agent and bookkeeper. Twenty years later and we are great friends. They now live on the West coast so seeing them is a rare treat. Shania Twain sang back up vocals on HER first album so she has a small claim to fame!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top