5/5 Ripley PMPS 104, +3 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday.

Yesterday recap:
AMPS: 105
+3: 89
+4: 68
+6: 76
PMPS: 97
+3: 84
+6: 82

Good morning afternoon, LL ~O) ~O) ~O)
Ripley is doing just grand today.

She's been under 100 since yesterday's amps.
I may have given a partial this morning ~ smelled lantus after her shot.
But I'm still proud of her numbers nonetheless.
I'm considering raising to 1.25 (currently at f1.0), but with the work week starting back up, I may hold off.
But, next weekend will be a festive one, (Mother's Day and I'm turning the big four-oh!), so if I decide to increase, it may be after the festivities. My DH and I want to take a daytrip to the coast on Sat (our orig. plans of going someplace exotic and tropical for my 40th have been indefinitely postponed), so we are hoping Ripples allows us to be away for longer than 5 hrs...which is why I may keep her on her current dose.

Wow, I don't think I've ever posted such a late condo! I've been doing yardwork all morning ~ taking advantage of our cooler weather. Now I'm icing my tennis elbow and treating myself to a 'good-job' cold one. (I know, tennis elbow? Couldn't it have waited until I was out of my 30s? I don't even play tennis.)

Thank you for the visits yesterday, Kat and Michelle! :-D :-D

OT: I've been reading the "Can We Talk' thread ~ so interesting, and all positive. It prompted me to go back to my first several posts when Ripley was first diagnosed. It all came back quickly ~ the fear, anguish and lost-ness I felt; but I could tell I was trying to hide it in my posts. Every now and then a member would remind me to breathe, acknowledge that this was scary and overwhelming, but very doable. I just want to express appreciation to ALL OF YOU during those first few days, and all of the subsequent days that followed (and continue on). True life-savers. You saved my kitty's life (!!!!) ~ and therefore, mine too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley AMPS 98, +4 95, appreciation

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

You are so wonderful.....Your sweet posts always make me teary eyed...esp this one and the one on our condo today. Did I say :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

I saw on FB that you have a special birthday coming up! I hope you and DH will get to the coast and have a spectacular day....you deserve it.

Sweet Ripley is doing great!!!!!
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley AMPS 98, +4 95, appreciation

I'm glad Ripley is doing so well. I hope she will let you get out for a while to celebrate your birthday next weekend.

I agree, I don't know what I would have done without LL. Furball probably wouldn't be here and if she was, she wouldn't be as healthy as she is now. This place is great and the people are so wonderful and helpful.
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley AMPS 98, +4 95, appreciation

Just curious.....are you thinking of increasing to tweak the nadir down a bit? I think you will have to monitor a bit more to do that...her nadirs are looking good to me. Remember she doesn't know the difference between a nadir of 50 or 90 ;-) :-D
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley AMPS 98, +4 95, appreciation

Hi Josie....first and foremost, happy birthday this weekend. If it was me, I would hold off on the increase so I wouldn't be frazzled while out of town.....just my opinion of what I would do in your shoes.....and I know what you mean about reading firsts posts. Mine are downright embarrassing and pitiful.... And FDMB is the reason why Gobbles is doing so well and I am not in a padded room :lol: Have a great week :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley AMPS 98, +4 95, appreciation

Hi, Carla :-D I'm so glad you found FDMB for you and Furball :smile: :smile: :smile:

Hi, Marje :-D I was thinking of tweaking (This Type-A (moi) is always thinking of tweaking ;-) ) But maybe, if she can keep these awesome numbers going, then I can try shaving rather than adding? By next weekend she will be at her 18th dose at f1.0 (unless she earns a reduction by going below 50 before then). I'm not unhappy with her numbers ~ actually, I'm jumping for joy each day! ~ just looking for room for improvement. I'll keep her where she's at until she lets me know otherwise (rather than trying to predict the future or trying to control something I shouldn't yet). Guess one of my lessons should be to be ok with the present, especially when the present is looking good. PS: Many Hugs right back at ya!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Hi, Kat :-D Thanks for checking in! I think I will hold off on changing her dose ~ I'm frazzled enough as it is when I'm at my job during the week, which is only 10 mins. away... I remember when you were a new newbie ~ I didn't think your posts were embarrassing/pitiful at all! We've all been in the newbie boat: panicked, discouraged, etc. Thank goodness you guys are here. I know what you mean about the padded room ~ I thought for sure I was going to be put in one (My DH thought so, too! :lol: )
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley AMPS 98, +4 95, appreciation

I just noticed that our kits were diagnosed around the same time :mrgreen: and they're both on the same dose!
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley AMPS 98, +4 95, appreciation

I think as long as she's looking like this, I'd leave her dose. You can hold a dose for a long time unless they are in normal numbers for an entire week....then reduce.

Just keep an eye on them and if they start to creep up, then you can fatten a bit. If they stay here, I'd leave the dose. If she goes below 50 or is in normal numbers for a full week, then take her down. :-D

You are SO like me with dosing ;-) :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley AMPS 98, +4 95, appreciation

Good advice, as always, from Marje! That's what I would do, too.

When Stu and I first arrived on FDMB I had been shooting PZI-Vet blind for 4 years, a new vet had switched him to Lantus, but didn't know how the dosing differed from PZI and raised his dose by 2-units every week. Stu crashed on 8 units bid and I almost lost him. That's how I found FDMB! We all have our own horror stories!!

Happy BIG 4-0, Josie. That's a GREAT age! Enjoy your trip!

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley AMPS 98, +4 95, appreciation

Ah yes...I remember our early days as if it were yesterday. Trix was diagnosed with FD, and my GA Mario, was diagnosed with HyperT the same day. Add the other four furbombs to the mix, and oh, what a time that was. Thank goodness for FDMB!

Ripley is looking SO awesome!!
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley PMPS 104

Hi, Kat :-D What an amazing coincidence! That means we're both 6-monthers in LL! :-D

Hi, Marje :-D Thank you for your input. Poor Ripley ~ if I didn't have people like you to keep me in check, she'd be needing HC every other day :lol: .

Hi, Ella :-D Wow on the 4 years. I'm so glad you and Stu found FDMB! And thanks for the pre-bday wishes ~ I'm actually really excited about my 40s and what they may have in mind for me :-D

Hi, Amy :-D You had quite a plateful that day (and after!) ~ both dx'd on the same day ~ I'd be an emotional wreck!

Wow, I'm so touched by these amazing stories about finding FDMB. And my vet skeptically told me 'you can't believe everything you read on the internet.' Well, no, you can't, but you can definitely believe a group of people who not only have our kitties' health in their best interest, but also each others'. And each others' emotional health. And often even mental health. The advice, encouragement, well-wishes, the 'I'm here for you,' the 'I'll stay up with you,' ... it goes on and on. The vines, the snowflakes, the hugs ... and especially the LAUGHS!!!! (I can't tell you how many times I've laughed out loud reading condos, and sometimes there are laughs and tears at the same time.) T.G.F.D.M.B (Thank goodness for FDMB!)
 
Re: 5/5 Ripley PMPS 104

Hey Josie, I can totally relate on the newbie anxiety. I was so overwhelmed, but in a good way. I read everything I could get my hands on and really appreciated all the advice and wisdom I received here. Best support group ever. My old vet had me shooting 3u, feeding dry science diet lite and told me no home-testing. ohmygod_smile Thank goodness for FDMB!

Sending vines for your elbow, and kudos to you and Ripley for the great cycles! Best of luck with whatever you decide to do with the dose :)
 
Hi, Courtney :-D Yes, Best. Support. Group. Ever. Thanks for the vines and the kudos and the luck! (Ripley thanks you, too!)

Ni ni, LL! Sweet dreams to kitties and beans!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top