5/5 Lovey AT PMPS 202 +4.5 64 +5.3 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
I am happy that Lovey is eating better. I noticed some regular poo, not diarrhea in the litter box. The things that excite me...

Anyway, today I think I may have by accident hit her muscle when I gave her the insulin. She meowed and usually doesn't seem to notice the shot. Will getting the muscle make the shot not work as well?
 
Re: 5/5 Lovey AMPS 140 +3 139 PMPS 202 AT ?

Yay for regular poo. I'm not sure how that kind of shot affects the insulin absorption.
 
Re: 5/5 Lovey AMPS 140 +3 139 PMPS 202 AT ?

Thanks Carla for your reply. Pet happy Furball for me.
 
Re: 5/5 Lovey AMPS 140 +3 139 PMPS 202 AT ?

I'm glad the poo is returning to normal. Did you end up giving Lovey anything for it or did it correct on its own?
 
Re: 5/5 Lovey AMPS 140 +3 139 PMPS 202 AT ?

I remember reading that a muscle shot causes the insulin to work more slowly. Maybe someone else will have more info/experience with that? I think we gave Jersey a muscle shot once; she definitely meowed and squirmed when we gave the injection. I didn't write in the SS at the time. Looking back, I wish I would have.

The things that excite me...

I understand completely what you mean! Thank goodness there is a whole site full of people like us who are excited by good poo! ohmygod_smile :lol:

Have a great day!
Shelly
 
Re: 5/5 AT PMPS 202 +4.5 64 HC

Well, I guess the absorption with this shot was pretty good. I know 68 is the new cut off, but this 64 is pretty low. I gave 1.5 tsp HC to get her up.
 
Re: 5/5 Lovey AT PMPS 202 +4.5 64

Hi Catherine,
I don't think there is much difference in absorption when you hit muscle. It just hurts! I hope she forgives you!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/5 Lovey AT PMPS 202 +4.5 64

Hi Ella,

I think you're right. I didn't really want to earn a reduction right now, but this is clearly one.
 
Thanks Julie. I guess 64 is a reduction then. I didn't want a reduction right now, but maybe Lovey is ready.. Lovey was diagnosed 11 months ago and probably had diabetes awhile before. Do you think I can shave the dose or is it not recommended with a 64? Maybe not since I work during the week.
 
If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.

you can shave the dose if you think she doesn't hold reductions well. but i'm looking at her spreadsheet and i see a lot of dose hopping in the past week. like 8 dose changes in 7 days. :shock:

you're going to have the best results if you pick a dose and stick with it for at least 3 days unless she goes less than 68AT. Remember that every dose change needs some time for the depot/shed to catch up with the adjustment - and a dose reduction can affect as many as 6 subsequent cycles. with all the dose changes, i'm not even sure what dose to choose for you to stick with - i think i'd go with the 1.5 or 1.75 and try to hold it steady. if you're home in the evenings, shooting those lower numbers at pmps might help her flatten out.
 
Lovey is a bit of an odd cat. ;-) When she has a low amp (under 160ish) , if you shoot the regular dose, she will earn a reduction. She doesn't have a food spike and she has an early onset so I usually need to reduce a bit for a low amp (unless she is in bounce mode. ) I can definitely try to shoot the full dose in the evening again, but when I was she was going below. I will try again though when I am home. Even with a reduction, I usually have to add some LC or MC extra feedings sometimes with a low AMPS.

When I tried 1.75 a few weeks ago, it wasn't enough?
 
i'm not criticizing you at all - i know you have lots of experience and a good grasp of how she responds. i'm just saying that if you can find a dose that you can hold steady you'll have better results.

have you tried giving her higher carbs to prevent her from earning a reduction? some cats do well with that.
 
No Julie, I value another opinion. I am having some trouble evening her out and finding a good dose. I will take any help I can get. I was experimenting with 8% food for low amps.
 
Remember Catherine, our kitties don't read the rules...and even if they did, they like to keep changing them!

I agree with Julie...I think you should go to 1.75 tomorrow and hold it no matter what the pre-shot number is.(within reason of course...you wouldn't want to shoot a 68) Just because last week A+B=C doesn't mean that this week, A+B is going to = C again...It could very well equal XYZ

Make her earn those reductions, but don't try to anticipate them...they can surprise you!

China has never held a reduction in the year we've been at this...all the sudden she's not only holding one, she may be earning another! I would have bet the farm it would never happen...so of course she changed the rules :lol:

Good luck with whatever you decide to do!
 
maybe with those lower preshots you could use that 8%, or even a little higher carb, and divide the food up in the first 3 hours after her shot. not necessarily giving more volume of food, just spreading it out over the first 3 hrs. might be an option to try.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top