5/5 Jenks AMPS 101 +2 190 +6 353 PMPS 322 +6 243

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
Unexpected pre-shot number.

Insufficient data to tell you if he's a riser or a faller.

Someone is here to monitor him all day.

Currently planning to hold the shot, hold the food, and test him again in about 20min.
 
Re: HELP! Jenks AMPS 101! Not sure how or if to shoot.

IF you have someone who can check his sugar throughout the day (and you have your Hypoglycemia kit all ready to use), I think I'd shoot,
after you see what his next number is. If you're not comfortable, then certainly don't shoot, and just work on getting more data so
you'll be more "data ready" the next time.
 
Re: HELP! Jenks AMPS 101! Not sure how or if to shoot.

117 after 30min, so he's rising.

So I guess we'll shoot and feed and then get a test in the +2 or so to see how he's progressing.
 
Re: HELP! Jenks AMPS 101! Not sure how or if to shoot.

It doesn't look like very many people are online right now. Good job stalling this morning! Because we don't know if Jenks is a faller or a riser, you might want to get a +1 rather than wait until a +2. If we find that Jenks is falling early, we can try to steer the numbers with food.
 
Re: HELP! Jenks AMPS 101! Not sure how or if to shoot.

I have to log off as I am at work, but I would suggest starting this cycle with tests at both +1 and +2.
 
Re: 5/5 Jenks AMPS 101 +2 190 +6 353

Not much to report except for his typical response to a really good number, which is to bounce into terrible ones.

I'm not sure how his morning low, or the fact that his shot was delayed by 30min this morning, affects the dose and timing of his evening shot. So if anyone has any advice, it would be appreciated.
 
Re: 5/5 Jenks AMPS 101 +2 190 +6 353

you can easily go back by 30 minutes a day with most cats. so if jenks is still high at pmps, you can probably move the 30 minutes back to his regular time.

if he's not over 300, i'd shoot 12 hrs from this morning's shot.

without knowing how low he went last night, i'd probably hold the dose the same tonight. we don't usually reduce just because there was a possibility the cat went below 50, we'd like to see the test that showed it.
 
Re: 5/5 Jenks AMPS 101 +2 190 +6 353 PMPS 322

322 PMPS, so I gave him his regular dose at the standard non-delayed time.
 
+6 243, so he's headed down again. He just ate, so I expect the food bump will stabilize him for awhile.

I feel terrible burdening other human with the necessity of another test, but I'll see if they can get a +10 or +11 in before AMPS, so we have a better idea of what he's doing. I wish Jenks could schedule his lows on my watch instead.

I have a feeling we're in for another roller coaster today.
 
Good plan re. getting a test later in the cycle.

You might want to take a look at the TR protocol sticky. I'm not sure I'd be holding a dose quite so long if you're not seeing nadirs that are below 200.
 
It seemed like we were waiting for him to clear a bounce, which I think was the rationale behind holding it steady. And then all of a sudden this 101 AMPS comes out of nowhere. Admittedly, I don't know what that number means for dosing purposes.

I guess part of the problem is that I also don't definitely know what and where his nadirs are. His AMPS of 101 could be it, or it could be slightly lower immediately preceding it.
 
Are you able to do a couple of curves (like test every 3 hours for a cycle) on the weekend maybe? That would help you to see where he currently has a nadir.

I like seeing a +10 or +11 test as that helps when compared to the PS test to determine where the kitty might be heading.
 
Here is my response to the other post you had that I guess was deleted, asking about what to do at AMPS when Jenks is lower than normal and you need advice.

We can't really tell if the 3.50 is too high of a dose for him because there are three night time cycles with no data recently.
The dosing is mostly adjusted by what the nadir is, and cat's often go lower at night time.

Can you go over with the other human the information in this post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147 ?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top