5/5 Jane AMPS 351 -- oy vey, am i ever puzzled!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2010
Gave .5 last night, same this morning. Depending on daytime numbers today and our PMPS, thinking of edging it just past .5.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

Morning Kris... wanted to just say that in our first condo of each day, we link the previous condo so here is yours from yesterday:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13603
ETA: Monday's condo too: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13585 :razz:

Welcome to you and Jane! I am wondering if you might do well to stick with one does for a few days before jumping back up but I am hoping an experienced person will be along shortly to give you some ideas..... I did want to say "Thanks a LOT" for the picture of Jane in her beautiful tiara! My Raja is going to be furious when she sees THAT! She has been begging me for a proper crown or tiara for herself and I kept telling her that even though she IS Royalty, tiaras are not really made for kitties...so THANKS a LOT Kris!! LOL

Hope someone will come along and help you out with the dosing! Nice to have you here!
I just found this from yesterday:
dian and wheezer said:
here we go again. looks as though she may be a .5 dose kitty do not think I would give more than that for AMPS and depending on number, maybe even .25. think cindy is right, once HT regulated, she may be off insulin. remember I said she could be a little sensitive after the hypo??
you're becoming an old pro at this!!. guess the new meter is working quite well. nothing like a break in period. you go girl

You are right....start low, go slow....
We were on Vetsulin last August for 6 long awful weeks...UGH!! Glad you are on the Lantus with her now. Sory you had to return, but you are in the right place. Hopefully, you won't have to stay here too long... ;-) Wishing you well! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

Dear Raja,
Your mama is correct - they do not make tiaras for kitties.

They DO make Photoshop for beans, though. I taught my mama how to use it.

Love,

Janie
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

Princess Janie:
I am using the puter and she doesn't know it....I am sorry you have to be back here but you are in a good place in LL.

Photoshop eh? Well, I could have a big crown and a proper throne too then, right? I just don't get the proper respect for
my position in life ya know? I was so envious of your tiara....and you are so pretty and look so regal in it. I guess a real one
would be a bit uncomfortable though.

Thank you for sharing this secret with me. I thought the foolish woman was telling me a fib when she said that kitties don't wear tiaras! (she is the court jester and I never know when she is being silly!) I will watch your condo at the Falls while you are in this place ~~take in your mail and stuff for you....you will be back home there soon I am sure! This is just a blip...no worries....keep in touch!
Princess Raja
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

Especially with your starting dose, you want to hold the dose for 5 - 7 days in order to build Jane's shed. See the sticky that explains this in detail. Basically, until you have the depot or shed established, not all of the insulin is available for use. As a result, numbers may be a little higher and will start to level once the dose settles and the shed is built. You will constantly hear us urging patience. Lantus takes a great deal of patience. Unlike the other kinds of insulin, Lantus and Lev are long acting and won't "hit" numbers the way the shorter acting types of insulin do.
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

Five years is a long time to harken to... but I do remember it taking a long time at a low dose to get her regulated. I will sit with the .5 for a week or so and see where that gets us. Thank you for the memory jog!!

and a note from Jane -

Sweet Raja,
Thank you!
My mama is pretty confused by this real estate venture we seemed to have stumbled into. SHe has never owned a condo before and when I was in Lantus land years ago, it was pretty much just threads. I hope Mama understands soon.
Meows,
Janiebird
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

Dear Jane:
Condominium with lots of condos...so many kitties! Lots of condos and each condo can have visitors....you are welcome to come by to my brother Shadow's any time. It is a silly place some days. :lol: He is not as fast on this insulin thing as I was. When kitties go OTJ, they get a condo at the Falls. You will be back in yours there very soon. But for now, you will get used to it here quickly.

Many people will come by to say hello in your daily thread/condo and you can add some cheer to everyone else's if you have the time.
Your Mama did a good job on linking your SS to your signature and you are all set here now. There will be OTJ parties coming up and all the kitties go to dance and have a good time...celebrating ...so watch for them, k? If you have any questions, just ask them in your daily condo. If it is urgent, put it in the heading of your first post...something to catch everyone's eyes...ie "Dose??????" or "?? about dosing" We use the 911 only for emergencies....

So
nice to meet you ...
your friend
Raja
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

Dear Raja,

While I was on my honeymoon, I did some monstrous trabeling. I have lots of pictures and notes on mine Web site:
www.janesadventures.co.nr

Love, Janie
PS - Thank you for splaining the condos. Makes some meow sense now.
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

Jane!
I am SO impressed with your travels and all the famous people you have met!
You are really something else again! What a gal!
My life is BORing compared to yours! :razz:
WOW!
love from
Raja
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

Hmmmm... shot .5u at 8 a.m. - DH just tested her at +5 and she's 24 but not showing ANY hypo signs at all (our 23-yr-old human is type 1 diabetic and dh is well educated).

He fed her some high-carb wet and is going to keep her in his lap till she starts coming up again-- nadir should be in next hour and he is on top of it.

Thoughts, anyone?
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

oh this is too much. think you need to drop dose to .25 and she just may be an SID kitty. hard telling with miss janie what is going on but I find it lol. you sound so calm with that 24. an old pro now,EH?
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

Jane is looking great!

A 24 definitely calls for a dose reduction, so you did the right thing. I probably would have suggested 0.25, so 0.30 sounds good to me. I would test her again before bed tonight, because sometimes there is extra momentum behind the first shot of a dose reduction. She might be bouncing tonight, but if she isn't bouncing then she could go down again.

You guys might not be back in LL for very long at all. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/5 Jane AMPS 351

oh, and any time you have a dose question, or low numbers like the 20's, you should reply to your post like you did, to bounce yourself to the top. But also change the Subject line of your FIRST post of the day, so it will be obvious to anyone scanning the board that you need someone to stop in.
 
PMPS 216, now she's 347 at +2

she went too low on .5, so i pulled back to .3 (near as as I can see, anyway) and now get this wonky reading. explanation? ideas?
 
she's just bouncing off of the 20's today. It will clear out on its own. It looks like her last bounce cleared in only one cycle, so my guess is that she'll be back in nice numbers tomorrow. It means that you can take a break from testing tonight and get some sleep. :smile:
 
A bounce, or rebound, is a protective function of the liver. When Jane's numbers dropped that low, her liver "panicked." When this happens, stored glucose and counter-regulatory hormones are released. They counteract the low BG and bring numbers up in a hurry. It's Jane's body's way of keeping her safe. The bounce can clear in a short time or as long as 72 hours. If you look at Gabby's SS, she had a 31 the evening of 5/3 and her AMPS was red (ack!!!).
 
it's basically like rebound, but not chronic. The liver saw those low numbers and went "OMG, hypo, I'm gonna die!" (even though Jane was not hypoing and everything was under control, but livers like to overreact sometimes!). So the liver released some extra sugars and counterregulatory hormones to help her along. Now we just have to wait for those counterregulatory hormones to clear out. It can take up to 72 hours for them to clear, but it looks like Jane is capable of moving those hormones out quicker. She might run high for a cycle or two, but then she should get back into her regular range.
 
this is me worshipping libby and lucy and Sienne and Gabby, all at the same time.

one more test at +3, which has her at a bizarre 350. does that seem right? geez, i wonder if i gave her a fur shot.....
 
Hi Kris and Janie: Wow you guys sure have been having a time of it lately haven't you. Trust Janie always the little Diva that we all love so much. It sounds to me like you are bouncing back from that 24 this afternoon. Hopefully it will clear soon for you. It;s so good to see you again but I hope you'll soon be back at the Falls where you belong. Give your sweet baby girl a kiss for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top