5/5 Guinness AMPS 363|+2.5 326|PMPS 340|+5.5 338

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363- Solstar Pen Bubble ?

Sorry you are having such a frustrating morning. I am sure you have been given the classic techniques for eliminating bubbles:
  • *slide the plunger several times to spread lubricant
    *push the plunger all the way to expel any air and hold it there until you insert into cartridge
    *draw insulin slowly
    *flick barrel to knock bubbles to top (be sure to expel extra air at top before flicking or you will make more bubbles)
    *if bubbles are stubborn, twist barrel while drawing in a little air to break the surface tension
    *after bubbles are up twist plunger and draw a little air in to consolidate bubbles

What type of syringes are you using? BD are notorious for bubbles that are hard to get rid of. I hope this isn't too repetitive and helps at least a little.
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363- Solstar Pen Bubble ?

I sure hope your day improves before too much longer!! :roll: I hear ya on the computer problems; I had that a couple days ago and wanted to throw it through the window :-x

Ann, I've never seen those instructions for preventing bubbles in syringes...good info :-D
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363- Solstar Pen Bubble ?

Thanks Ann for the info, for the most part, I do most of that already.. I'm using the ReliOn syringes and have never had trouble with the bubbles while using the vial of insulin, but this is my first time using the Solstar Pens and I had a ton of bubbles this morning. I was wondering if there was something different or some other trick I was suppose to be doing when using the pens.
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363|+2.5 326-Solstar Pen Bubble ?

Hey Linda: I do what Ann does but I ditched the Relions and then the BDs when I switched to Solostar Pens. I, like Ann, use Monojects. I know Sienne really likes the GNPs. I get an occasional bubble but not like I did with the others. And I started with a vial and Relions and also had no problems. Good luck! And come down Guinness!
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363|+2.5 326-Solstar Pen Bubble ?

Do you order them (Monojects or GNPs) online from somewhere in particular? Do they come in the 1/2 unit marking variety?
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363|+2.5 326-Solstar Pen Bubble ?

Hey, Linda! I've found that the first few days on a new pen give me really bad bubbles in the Relion syringes, but then it gets better and the bubble trick almost always works. I'm one of the weird ones... the monojects gave me nothing but bubble headaches, so I went back to the Relions. Good luck!
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363|+2.5 326-Solstar Pen Bubble ?

Hello Linda, I've only used the Reli-on with little to no problems as of yet. The last pen i used did develop some bubbles, I don't know what the cause, i'm sure it was me :shock: . The one i just opened last week seems to be just fine. I also do the bubble trick thingy and go from there.. Doesn't sound to me like your doing anything different than most of us.
Good luck if you decide to go with a different brand.
And Guinness, once again Pink is not your color.. Tommy would like you to come visit today ok?
Have a great day!
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363|+2.5 326-Solstar Pen Bubble ?

If you store the pen in a vertical orientation, does this tend to collect the bubbles at the top end? It might allow you to draw out some of the excess air. I have drawn out part of a largish bubble on occasion.

I typically store mine horizontally, then draw out the insulin holding it with the diaphragm facing down so that any bubbles big enough will float up and away from the insulin needle.
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363|+2.5 326-Solstar Pen Bubble ?

hm, bj, that's interesting. i'm on my 3rd pen and haven't encountered bubbles yet - but will keep that in mind. i store mine horizontally and then have it completely upside down (rubberstopper facing downward) so it's completely vertical when i withdraw the insulin.

i'm using the monojects also.
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363|+2.5 326-Solstar Pen Bubble ?

I don't have bubbles in the Solstar Pen, just many bubbles in the syringe after withdrawing insulin. I've just had so many more then when using the vial, I was wondering if there was something different about the pen...pressure inside the pen, etc. that would be causing more bubbles in my syringe.
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363|+2.5 326-Solstar Pen Bubble ?

i didn't notice any difference when i switched from the vial to the pen . . . i've heard people say here and there that they'll have a particular box of needles that seem more bubble prone than previous boxes. i guess i'd tend to blame the needles more than the pen. you could pick up some other needles and see if it is better with the same pen - that'd give you an answer.
 
Re: 5/5 Guinness AMPS 363|+2.5 326|PMPS 340 Dose Increase

Increased his dose to 3.75u this evening. Where is he going and when will he stop. Hoping that perfect dose is right around the corner!

Thank you all for your reply about the pens. Still had trouble with bubbles this evening, but not as many as this morning. I just need to go slow and pull more than I need so I can push the bubbles up. It definitely is affecting my measuring amounts though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top