5/5 Ella pmps 392 +1=401+2=391 (1 more question dosing)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (dosecrease?)

Good Morning Tamara.

I quickly read your yesterday's condo. It looks like it was suggested to wait at least 4 cycles on this new dose before deciding to adjust. Normally, we wait 6 cycles for a dose to settle in, maybe we'll make an exception, but lets see where she is tonight after the 4th cycle today.
Does that sound okay to you?
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (dosecrease?)

Sounds good:) I won't do anything until I hear otherwise.

Have a nice day Dyana:)
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (dosecrease?)

If things don't change today, I would increase tonight. What we have learned is that her lows before probably were the result of an overfull depot (thanks to coming down the dosing scale so quickly). I do think she is probably a small dose cat, but just not quite this small. I agree that it's best to increase while you are home, and by increasing tonight you will give her three full cycles to see if there is any action on the new dose before you go back to work.

About the dose, I'm not sure how much difference there is between your zero line dose and what we would normally call 0.1u. Since you're home this weekend I wouldn't be opposed to trying 0.25 units. Whatever makes you comfortable. :smile:
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (dosecrease?)

+2=374

Yay for the dosecrease...we'd like to see better numbers:) I'll have to check but I believe there were 10-11 drops in the syringe from the .5 line and .1 was 3 drops which means .25 is about 5. If this is the case should I give her .1u or .25?

Thanks so much!
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (dosecrease?)

i think you could make the call on what seems like a slightly larger dose to you. what you're seeing is the fat 0 isn't enough, so you want a little bit more.
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (dosecrease?)

Hi Julie:)

Fat zero was a decent sized drop? A slightly larger dose would be .1 but I will measure the drops out on my hand later to see the difference.
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (dosecrease?)

Hello everyone:)

I know I've asked this question before but I'm wondering what is the best method for measuring out micro doses? I can count drops from the .5 unit marking but there is no way to know that the lines will be the same on every syringe. Also, the drops that I twist out have a possibility of being different sizes. Does anyone have any suggestions for being consistent?

Thanks:)
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (measuring micro doses)

I guess you could measure to the 0.50 line and then count out the drops (trying to make them the same size) and then use the very same syringe to do her dose. Meaning, if you get 10 drops from the 0.50 in a syringe, then once the insulin is out on your hand or napkin, then pull to the 0.50 line again using the same syringe, and push out 5 drops for a 0.25 or 8 drops for a 0.10. Just my thoughts.

I know I waste a lot of insulin trying to get bubbles out. You would only be wasting 0.50 unit with each dose.
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (measuring micro doses)

Hi Dyana,

Thanks for your post:)

I've been using the exact method you shared but there still seems like their could be a margin of error (sizes of drops, differing syringe markings). Perhpas there isn't a full proof method?!
I'm still unsure as to whether I should shoot her .1 or .25. If I shoot her .25 and it's too much and we need to decrease then will we have the same problem with a shed overload?
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (measuring micro doses)

Holy cow...you get up mighty early!!!!!!!!!!!

best of luck with the increase!!!!!!
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (measuring micro doses)

6:00am was actually a sleep in this morning. I'm usually up at 5:00 to get a +11 ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (measuring micro doses)

The reason you had trouble with the shed before is that you went from 1.25 to 0.1 in a period of a few days. You had to, you didn't have any choice, but often going down in dose that quickly results in the cat ending up under dose, and they lose momentum. Then we just have to work back up again.

If I had to guess, I would say that you probably have room to go to 0.25 from here. It's your call, though.
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 (measuring micro doses)

Thanks for your response Libby:) I feel good about .25. It will be easier for me to measure as well:)
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 +8=401 (measuring micro doses)

Good luck on the dosecrease, Tamara. Looking forward to seeing Ella back in :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 +8=401 (measuring micro doses)

I was thinking this morning when I went btb, that 0.25 would be a good choice to increase to. Good luck with the new dose.
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 +8=401 (measuring micro doses)

Hi Tamara,
Counting drops is really difficult. I agree: .25 is much easier to measure. Don't worry too much about whether it is really .25, just do your best to be consistent in drawing what you think is .25.
Good luck with this dose.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 +8=401 (measuring micro doses)

Thanks for the well wishes everyone:) I want to see Ella back in the greens soon too!
Hopefully her liver will co-operate again:)
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 +8=401 (measuring micro doses)

Hi Tamara and Ella!

Good luck with the new dose, Orange and I are cheering for you!!!
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 +8=401 (measuring micro doses)

pmps 392

It took me half an hour, many units of insulin and four syringes to get a dose that I was satisfied with and to top it all off after I shot her, she threw up some food! Luckily she lapped up the second meal I prepared for her.
So to continue with my question regarding dosing... the syringe I finally went with had 14 mini drops from the .5 line so I gave her 7. This might seem like a silly question but the next time I do the dose do I make sure she gets 7 mini drops or do I just half the amount of the drops in the next syringe?
I'm thinking it's the first one but wanted to clarify:)

I'm in and out at a fundraiser up the street. I will be home in an hour for a +2:)
 
Re: 5/5 Ella amps 380 +8=401 (measuring micro doses)

+2=391

doesn't look like there will be action tonight. How long does it generally take to see results from a new dose?
 
i think i would trust your judgment in how you duplicate the same dose again. how's that for side-stepping the question?! :lol: but seriously, i think however you figure out how to give the same dose again is the best we can hope for!

i have to run take care of punkin and don't have ella's ss open - but why don't you look at some of her dose increases on the spreadsheet and see when she saw action after an increase. that should give you some idea.
 
Hi Julie,

Looking at her SS, when I raised her to 1.25 it had an effect right away. Well I guess we'll see what happens:)
Since I'm home tomorrow I don't think I will wake up to do a +11 as I'd like a little sleep in:)

Thanks and have a great night!
 
you're welcome - sleep well! see you in the morning!

hehe punkin is right up there in yucko-numbers with her - he hit 360 tonight. argh.
 
Hi Tamara-
Sorry about the high numbers, but I have confidence it will all get sorted out so Ella will see more STABLE numbers in a safe range!

Here is something I wrote to pip a while back about small changes in doses (which may apply to micro doses as well):
I went between a f1.5, (what I called) a fatter 1.5, sk1.75 and 1.75.
I found our various doses by counting drops from the 1.75 to 1.5.
I also had a syringe made up of each dose and compared them each time I drew up the insulin (before shooting).

Some people do use magnifying glasses. You could ask others for recommendations.

Having a syringe made up of each different dose and keeping it on the counter to compare at shot time was really helpful to me.

I hope you are enjoying your weekend a bit.
 
Thank you Julie and Carolyn:) I will definitely try those methods to see what works best for me. It's helpful to see visuals:)
 
tpr said:
How long does it generally take to see results from a new dose?

ECID. Depends on whether a cat is a slow responder or not. That's why we usually hold doses 3-5 days or 6-10 cycles. Also depends on whether kitty gets New Dose Wonkiness where you might see numbers go up
the first 24 hours. And it can change. Gracie used to get NDW....not so much now. We'll just have to see with Ella what she wants to do. In the meantime, enjoy your rest :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top