5/5 Dumdum AMPS~347 +6~291 PMPS~538 +6~355

Status
Not open for further replies.

akilo

Member Since 2013
AMPS 347
+3 368
+6 291
+9 372

PMPS 538
+3 344
+6 355

yesterday condo

Oh..I am defeated by such high number...
I decided to reduce dose yesterday is because his BG PMPS nadir was 44 at 5/2. He happened twice hypo before at only about 47 and 34.We went to the vet at 5/4 and 5/5, and after finished all tests, the vet suggest us that to keep his nadir a little higher, so we reduce dose yesterday.
But I forget to consider another thing is his calories increase. Our vet tell us we have to increase his calories from 110 to 175 per meal. I didn't increase so much at same time. Now he has 150 per meal.
The question is, can I go back to 0.75u dose at tomorrow's AMPS?
In fact I am a little frightened by the black color. It never happen before.... :cry:
 
Re: 5/5 Dumdum AMPS~347 +6~291 PMPS~538 dose advice plz~

Just a reminder that a drop below 50 warrants a dose reduction. What I tend to think about is that when a kitty is on a small dose of insulin (under 1.0u for example), a full 0.25u reduction is a big reduction compared to if a cat is getting 2.0u of insulin. So, when you reduced Dumdum's dose from 0.75u to 0.5u, you reduced his dose by 33%. It may be that you need to think about shaving the dose -- reducing by a drop or two and not by the full 0.25u.

With the above information in mind, what your SS looks like to me is that the 0.75u was too much insulin. The 0.5u isn't enough insulin. So, providing there's no dramatic change in Dumdum's numbers this cycle, I'd consider raising Dumdum's dose to somewhere between 0.75u and 0.5u -- either a "fat" 0.5u or a "skinny" 0.75u.

Also, that PMPS number may be what we call a "high before a break." Sometimes, numbers go way up before they come back down to a much better range.
 
Re: 5/5 Dumdum AMPS~347 +6~291 PMPS~538 dose advice plz~

Thank you Sienne. Your explanation always is so clear and detailed.
I'll increase dose to skinny 0.75 tomorrow. :razz:
 
Just stopping in to say good luck with the new dose! Hopefully Dumdum will stop bouncing soon and surf those pretty greens!!!
 
Good luck with the dose increase, Akilo. I hope it tweaks his numbers just enough to get him into some nice normal numbers.

Have a great day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top