5/5 Dimitri AMPS 87 +5 47 +7 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChEMom

Member Since 2014
yesterday's condo

Good morning.

After the 47, I put down a bowl of fresh LC food. He just looked at it, looked at me, then laid down next to the bowl. Like that
will do any good. I told him "fine, if you don't eat now, your sugar will drop into the 30's and then you'll get HC food with gravy."
I don't think that was a very effective threat. :lol:
 
Re: 5/5 Dimitri AMPS 87 +5 47

Look who earned a reducie today! Right before we went OTJ, Jersey refused all food when she hit 42. Her master plan was to hold out for a Twinkie (which she got)! :lol:
 
Re: 5/5 Dimitri AMPS 87 +5 47

Here's where I get confused: when I read the Roomp/Rand protocol, "Table 3, Phase 4: Reducing the dose," it says that his sugar must be between 40-50 at least
3 times on separate days. But then when I read Marje's post on "Reductions" she says the under the Modified Protocol, reductions are earned when a Newly
diabetic cat (dx under one year) drops below 50 ONCE.

So which of those am I supposed to follow?
 
Hi. I'm new since November to diabetes and January to testing myself but I do know the answer to your question. Cats earn an automatic reduction if they drop under 50 even once when new to diabetes. I've had to reduce Max when he hit 49 and didn't drop any more. It's a safety thing since lantus is a depo drug and takes time for a reduction to effect the BG. It can take a few cycles at least for the reduction to show what it will do. This is to prevent them from going hypo. So congrats on the reduction and I hope the new dose brings the right numbers.
 
Hey Janet,

I see Elise beat me to the punch in replying! She's right. Since Dimitri is new to diabetes, you'll take the reduction after just this one number under 50. If Dimitri was a long-term (over 1 year) diabetic kitty, you would take the reduction after three numbers between 40-50. If the kitty fell under 40 at any time, you would take the immediate reduction.

Your new dose will be .10 units tonight. This is the last dose you try before you start your OTJ trial. Yay! :-D

Shelly
 
holding out for twinkies, eh? :lol:

there are pictures on the New to the Group sticky of the 0.1u dose. you might want to practice with some colored water/tea so you can see how to measure it. it's gonna be tricky! and yes, i'd reduce to that dose tonight - both Shelly & Elise explained it well.
 
I was gone to my knitting group this evening, and am always rushing in the door because it usually lasts til 7:00 p.m. (which is Big D's shot time),
so I did not get to read the answer to my question until AFTER I did his 0.25 u dose. So I will reduce in the morning.

And thanks for the help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top