5/5 Alice AMPS 314 PMPS 381 - injection site pain/angry cat

AliceMeowliss (GA)

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-to-leave-house-5-5-63-6-5-69-pmps-hi.228894/

For a few days now in my personal notes I’m seeing where I have had to get help to hold Alice for her shots or trick her or wrestle over it, be in fear of getting scratched or bitten.

I think it hurts her now when I give her insulin, even just trying to tent, but I don’t know what to do because I have been rotating sides since I started, it’s not like only the same spot over and over.

I also have some nagging worry that there is some extra right side sensitivity or discomfort, and that is the side where she had her mammary tumor. She never had an ultrasound. We don’t have one in-house at her regular vet. I can’t afford any more veterinary stuff done.

I increased her dose tonight too. Testing hasn’t been overly heavy the last few days but I haven’t seen her get low enough to make me want to use a lot of test strips and make her and her one good ear mad. But she shouldn’t have to spend so much time over renal threshold. She seems less comfortable lately.

I decided to add some Cosequin to see if that improves any body discomfort over time. I truly feel like she could be more comfortable than she is in one way or another.

xoxo hope all are well.
 
I’m sorry Alice is uncomfortable.. have you gently run your hand over the side you think is sensitive?
It looks like her SS is not up to date.
 
Perhaps try shooting in the scruff. If you tent the scruff (try pulling up on the fur if it isn't too short), she might not be so alarmed (mother cats carry their kittens by the scruff).

Try to be calm at shot time. Talk softly to her and hold her gently and she may settle down and not fight you. Good luck :bighug:
 
I tend to avoid use of the scruff as I have always read it could lead to more scarring and become an issue when in need of subq fluids. I know she doesn’t need subq fluids regularly now but I anticipate her needing anything and everything the longer she lives.

I did get SS updated again I think. I have been struggling a bit. This AM she didn’t get her shot, her attitude and my fatigue were not mixing well.

I will move to the scruff for a couple of days. Then what?

I have definitely tried to do body checks around the area on her right side. I haven’t felt anything that I know to be strange but I don’t get a lot of close feels for very long. She’s so irritable and combative lately.

I just wish I could help her feel better than this. I have changed her to the ziwi, she doesn’t lick the fur off her belly now, I have added pumpkin and cubes of broth/marrow, she is continuing to have regular bowel movements again, I have added Cosequin (separating it to less than a capsule a day to make it last longer), after that what is left in my arsenal? She had a B12 shot during one of her potassium & constipation recovery visits, maybe a couple weeks ago.

I miss seeing her comfortable.
 
Back
Top